We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and very welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strachur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balliemeanoch Breaks B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Strachur B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy and very welcoming”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This b&b is somewhere quite special. A cosy cottage feel but spacious rooms finished to a high specification with all the mod cons and lovely views from the window. You can have rooms that adjoin through the bathroom if you want which makes it great for families. There was also a lovely lounge with a toasty fire. The hosts themselves were exceptionally welcoming and helpful, above and beyond what would be expected of them. Breakfast was delicious, including perfectly poached freshly laid eggs. Overall value for money was excellent.

Negatives: very few, a bit of a drive up a farm road but not really a problem, the dog barked a bit but not overnight and he was kept out of all the guest areas.

Thank you to Angela and Charlie for making us feel so welcome, I hope to be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for a night with partner whilst walking the Cowal Way. Turned up after a 16 mile walk, drenched but felt happier after a lovely strong, scorshing shower and using the big fluffy towels - two must have requirments after a long walk. Had asked beforehand if we could have dinner and we were presented with a menu with a couple of different options. The meal was amazing, all made from scratch including the home made bread. My partner declares it the best apple crumble of their life! We got a chance to meet Marley the dog, and sat and chatted to Charlie in front of the roasting hot fire for a while and loved hearing about how they renovated the place. It was a great Sat night in! fter a great nights sleep in a really comfy bed (another requirement after a long walk!) we got up and had a delicious breakfast. Porridge, full English. oranje juice, toast and home made jams. We ate so much we didn't need any lunch, which was lucky - as we got caught in a blizzard whilst walking the next day and didn't have time to stop for any. Really enjoyed the stay. Angela and Charlie were lovely and we felt as though we had come to stay with friends for the night. I would recommend coming here if you are ever in Cowal. Good value for money as well. For 2 people, B & B and 3 course dinner. the cost was £107 in total.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent a fab few days at Balliemeanoch B&B over new year. Rooms are very clean, modern and decorated to a very high standard; but it's the little touches that make the difference like having a filter coffee pot in your room.
The breakfasts were great - there was wide choice on the menu including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, kippers, full scottish, cereals. I went for the full scottish which was lovely and more than enough to keep me going through the day.
The views from Balliemeanoch B&B are to die for! Look out of any window and you see fields, trees and mountains - a view we could never tire of.
Angela and Charlie who run the B&B are welcoming hosts who couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was memorable.
If you're coming to stay in this part of Scotland, put this place on your list!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlWyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not your usual country bed and breakfast as Balliemeanoch has the best of both worlds. It is a newly renovated cottage that still has all the charm and lure of an old cottage but with all the mod cons and tasteful furnishings that just add to the comfort factor.. The owners couldn't be more receptive and helpful and the breakfast was AMAZING - eggs are collected daily from the hen coup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJohnstone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely cottage Bed and Breakfast just outside Strachur and just off the Cowal Way. We had a really warm welcome, a very spacious and particularly well appointed room and a lovely breakfast. This is a newly renovated cottage and new as a Bed and Breakfast. Everything is to a very high standard.

There is comfort and quality furnishings in the bedroom, large shower room and welcoming sitting room (with a log burner). You will do well to find better.

Situated off the main road, the B and B is about half a mile from the village (including the Clachan pub - a welcoming locals pub that does not do food) and a mile from the Creggans Inn (very good food).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmlabourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strachur
1.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Waterside Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Thistle House Guest House
22.3 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balliemeanoch Breaks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balliemeanoch Breaks B&B

Property: Balliemeanoch Breaks B&B
Address: Balliemeanoch Farmhouse and Steading | Strachur, Strachur PA27 8DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Strachur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strachur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious bed and breakfast with spacious and comfortable rooms set in a peaceful rural location in the heart of the Argyll Forest. Close to the shores of Loch Fyne and Lock Eck, this former farmhouse is ideally situated for exploring the Cowal peninsula, Argyll’s west coast and further afield into the Scottish Highlands – and equally suitable for an active break or a quiet country retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balliemeanoch Breaks B&B Strachur, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing