We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3 days of Enjoyment”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Springburn Cottage

Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage exterior
Beautifully restored cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Cottage exterior
Beautifully restored cottage
Kitchen
Lounge room
Lounge room
Lounge room
Kitchen
Upstairs Double bedroom one
Upstairs Double bedroom one
Upstairs Double bedroom two
Upstairs Double bedroom two
Lovely furnishings and ornaments throughout
Downstairs bathroom
Games and toy room for children
Games and toy room
Beautiful treasures
Springburn Cottage
Garden area with outdoor furniture
Lovely gardens
Beautiful garden setting
Beautiful treasures
Nearby loch views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Strachur, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Dunckleys
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 days of Enjoyment”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked this lovely place on a last minute break, but so very glad we did. It is hard to find as the postcode area is very wide so aim for Strachur.
Great location, very quiet, fantastic walks and scenery we even saw a seal in the loch! Perfect for touring around the area only wish we had more time.
The cottage is great but could do with a little TLC now as could the plants around the cottage as the windows are getting overgrown.
It's amazing to find such a cottage that is so cozy and quiet. No 1st world issues of WiFi or cable TV to worry about, just relax and enjoy it. The local shop has WiFi if you really need to be connected.
Val was a great host, wine, chocolate and fresh fruit and flowers were left for us when we arrived. Lovely lady and really helpful.
We'll be back again no doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, privacy
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrilyn...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty little cottage for the quintessential Scottish countryside experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Springburn Cottage is a beautiful little bluestone cottage on the banks of Loch Fyne and close to Argyll Forest. The host Val is a delightful helpful lady who made sure we were comfortable. We were welcomed with wine, chocolates and fresh flowers. The cottage is furnished in Laura Ashley style (albeit a little tired) and has everything you could wish for. Probably not suitable for those with mobility issues as there is only a bath tub and it is a steep climb to the bedrooms. We found we were ideally close to Inverary, the Mull of Kintyre, and other sites in Argyll. A lovely so stay that was peaceful, and restorative.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJPnl
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nothing more to wish for!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Springburn Cottage. Our host Mrs. Neville was so nice and friendly and she gave us so much information about things to do in the surrounding area. The cottage was perfect, everything we needed was there. Unfortunately the wheather made it impossible to enjoy the great garden (and the ropeswing), we would have liked to sit, eat and play outside. Perhaps another time, we hope to stay again in Springburn Cottage in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage. The owner was close by when we needed her, but we did have a lot of privacy as well.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Spread the word. Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACKIES
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perferct place to drop out and completely relax!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a fantastic Easter Break we had at Springburn Cottage. The setting is beautiful with a lovely pebbled beach across the road from the cottage. The weather was fantastic so it made it all the more enjoyable. The cottage itself is lovely and Val the owner has thought of everything to make you feel right at home. The flowers, wine & chocolate was a lovely touch. The toy room is perfect for children as is the garden. The tree swing deserves a special mention, our son loved it. A place that I would definitely recommend to friends & family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is so good to hear your family enjoyed your stay at Springburn Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Chrissie
Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, great location”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A taste of the highlands within a stones throw of Glasgow. Great roads and tracks for driving, cycling or walking. We drove miles on single track coastal routes without passing a car for miles, just fields full of farm animals and beautiful scenary. There's a lovely hour long drive down to a secluded sandy beach (Kilbride Bay). We wanted to cycle with young children and there were plenty of options, take a trip to Dunoon tourist information and they will give you all the info. Inverary and Dunoon are only 20 miles from the cottage, the George in Inverary served up a great meal with fresh local shellfish, Inver Cottage in Strachur came highly recommended but was unfortunately closed during our stay. The closest place to the cottage is The Creggans Inn but we thought the food was average at best, although the local ale wasn't bad. Springburn Cottage itself is charming, cosy, clean, and furnished throughout with quality goods. It's well stocked with everything you need from a functional point of view, as well as cupboards full of games, maps, toys for kids, books and videos. If you're looking for a base with a real country feel then you can't go wrong with Springburn, I wouldn't hesitate going back. And I must mention the Cottage Owner who was extremely helpful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and travelling tips. We are happy to hear you enjoyed exploring our beautiful region. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon.
Kind regards
Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chutneyma...
Hawkshead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable, Quiet and Peaceful”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just back from a short break at Springburn Cottage, it is a lovely little cottage on the edge of Loch Fyne, handy for several great places to eat out, cosy and warm and really pretty. Steep stairs so not suitable for everyone, but everything you need, really well equipped and lovely attention to detail with wine, flowers, fruit and chocolates welcoming us on arrival. Would love to return and stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slight smell of damp, but it was a very wet weekend.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tranquil base with a cosy cottage feel”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This rental is everything you would expect from a country cottage. Set in stunning location overlooking Loch Fyne it is the perfect place for a weekend or short break. There is a small picnic area across the road from the house where we sat and admired the view over the loch to the hills while the kids played on the shore.

It's peaceful and feels remote but is only a scenic 20 minute drive Dunoon as well as being well set up for touring. We had a great lunch at the Colintraive hotel. The cottage would be a great base for a walking or cycling holiday as it has everything you need for a comfortable evening after a day in the unpredictable Scottish weather. (Even electric blankets!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the kids liked the playroom too.
Liked least: I can't imagine this cottage disappointing anyone.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing