We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly hotel”
Review of The Creggans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Creggans Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strachur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Enjoyed a very comfortable night at Creggans. Very warm and helpful welcome on arrival for family and dog. Rooms were lovely with spectacular views. Bar staff very friendly. Food was to a high standard but very expensive.
Overall great night and would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 444 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Enjoyed a three night break. Weather took a turn for the better on our second day to reveal the landscape in all its Autumn glory. Definitely Creggans greatest asset is the view across and down Loch Fyne. Good base from which several round trips can be enjoyed. Also a good alternative stopover for those heading further north into the Highlands and Isles.(take the Dunoon ferry instead of the Erskine Bridge).
Room very comfortable, good shower with plenty of hot water. Lounge areas very homely.
Food was of a high standard. Cooked breakfast served to order and was served speedily. Some people may be disappointed by the 'continental' selection.
Proximity to road could be a disadvantage but it did not trouble us and we live in the country.
In summary we had a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: Loch view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEHE2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for one night during October 2012.

The inside of the hotel is deceptively large and there seemed to be plenty of rooms. We seemed to be one of only a few other guests, however (perhaps because we were staying midweek).

Feeling like we had the place to ourselves, especially in such beautiful surroundings, certainly made the trip enjoyable. We relaxed in the residents lounge, sipping gins and playing Scrabble. All very relaxing.

The area is very nice and great for walking. Whilst we weren't doing anything extreme, from looking at the guest handbook, if we had been and had wanted to store waterproofs or dry things off somewhere, the staff would've been only too happy to oblige.

We ate in the restaurant and are glad we did. Whilst the atmosphere was lacking somewhere (due to it being quiet), we really enjoyed our food. Fresh, locally caught fish and produce which was very well prepared.

Following our very filling meal, the staff were only too happy to oblige in bringing drinks up to the residents' lounge for us.

The room was clean, well-presented and relaxing. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

Our breakfast in the morning was well-cooked and efficiently served.

We stayed with a discount code, which is perhaps another reason we were so pleased with our stay. If we'd paid the full whack I might have been a bit more sceptical/cynical.

But overall, comfortable stay in good surroundings. Good food with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch. You might get a bit of traffic noise occasionally (it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richp670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We got a 5pm deal for B&B in a loch view room. We were happy with the price and even more so when we seen the view from the nicely appointed room. The hotel was in a good location and the room was perfectly adequate with toileteries provided in the bathroom. It was quite a small room but we didn't really go to stay in the room and it was spotlessly clean with a comfy bed. We had dinner and drinks in the bar which we enjoyed and had a pleasant evening. We found the owners and staff to be very friendly and helpful and would return to the hotel as a good base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having spent a week touring Scotland we had a good feel for what was good value for money and of a good standard. Reading the other reviews we were excited about this place. Sadly we were very disappointed. We were offered a superior room for a standard price (over the telephone we were told £70 which fitted in with what we had been paying all week, only to find on the morning of check out it was £70 per person! Everywhere else without exception had charged per room. The hotel is tired and in need of a facelift, certainly on first impressions you think it is fine but on closer inspection you quickly realise it is not. It starts with reception which is untidy which does not bode well to start with. Our room had a window which would not close and when you have lorries roaring past at all hours means you don't get a good nights sleep. The bathroom: black mould in the shower, torn lino on the bathroom floor, dirty sink. Found a black hair in the bed (we are fair), stained blanket, dirty kettle and cup. If it had not been so late we would have checked out but decided to cut our losses and hope for at least a decent meal. Tough steak and lamb.
The owner is friendly enough and the breakfast was nice. The setting of the hotel is wonderful but we certainly would not go back, such a shame as it was the last night of our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Views do not get much better than this: looking out over Loch Fyne at sunset from the comfortable 1st floor residents' lounge or waking up to the same vista from a loch-facing room - fabulous.
This is a lovely hotel, well kept, comfortable and clean. We had a nice very large room overlooking the water with huge bed, table and seating area.
Although the location is remote (middle of nowhere comes to mind) the road makes its presence felt. We're not talking M25 here, but it does carry a fair amount of traffic - including heavy lorries - and this continues all through the night and is a tad noisy - aided and abetted by various creaks from the heating system!
The hotel has two eateries, the MacPhunn bar serving 'pub grub', and the main restaurant described as 'fine dining'. We chose the latter (our visit was a celebration) and were disappointed. Whilst not bad, 'fine dining' it isn't. We found the menu lacking in variety day to day. In 3 nights, the meat course changed from lamb to venison and back again and the guinea fowl was the same all 3 nights. There was a fish option. Not being a great fan of either lamb or venison, and having eaten the guinea fowl on day one, I strayed to the MacPhunn menu for day 2 and had an acceptable although very un-special steak and chips.
Our big disappointment came on our last evening when we both opted for the fish course. The portions were so small that both of us left the table hungry - a new experience for me. My scallop starter consisted of two small pieces of scallop looking very folorn in a sauce (which was very nice) on a huge plate. This was not all down to the chef - I had declined the lump of black pudding which accompanied my husband's equally tiny portion of scallop. The fish component of the main course was no more generous - a small (frankly starter-sized) fillet of fish perched on top of a disproportionately large quantity of lumpy mashed potato with a few mangetouts. We were not impressed.
I do not want to leave a negative impression of the Creggans. It is only the experience at dinner which needs a bit of a kick up the backside. We found the accommodation and breakfast very good, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank su51090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Enjoyable tourist experiences seem in short supply in the Scottish highlands, so it was a pleasure to find The Creggan’s Inn on Loch Fyne. It provides excellent food, warm friendly service and comfortable accommodation – and an outstanding view no matter what the weather. We ate in the bistro after a few drinks around the bar room fire. It was one of those rare but profound travel experiences to wake up, look out of the window and see sunrise on the loch.

Rooms are of different size and vary in location, as this is an old building with extensions. Book a room with a view of the loch.

Room Tip: Rooms are of different size and vary in location, as this is an old building with extensions. Book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strachur
3.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,527 reviews
12.1 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
395 reviews
22.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
668 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
22.9 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Creggans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Creggans Inn

Address: Strachur House Loch Fyne | Argyll, Strachur PA27 8BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Strachur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strachur
Price Range: $130 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Creggans Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creggans Inn is an award-winning, family-run hotel and offers the perfect retreat for the discerning guest. Each of our 14 bedrooms has been individually decorated and has its own disinct character, ideal for relaxing and unwinding in. Many of our rooms feature breathtaking views over Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Creggans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggans Hotel Strachur
The Creggans Inn Strachur, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing