We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge
Main bedroom The side terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The lounge
Main bedroom
The side terrace
The dining area of the kitchen
Front View
The rear terrace
The lounge 2
Bedroom 2
The snug(living room)
Looking out from the snug over the hills
Our back garden
Falcon range
Front elevation
Lounge newly refurbished
The Hall(splash of of tartan)
The parking area(plenty space for your porsche)
view from the deck over rear garden
the lochside 2miles away
rear garden view down the valley
View from the front garden
our front garden
The lochside 2 miles away.
canoe on the loch
end of another lovely day
Log Burner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strachur, Cairndow, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
anet32007
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely holiday at this very well equipped and comfortable cottage.
Rooms were spacious and furnishings lovely. Log burner was fab on a few cold evenings.
Our dog had a great time running and playing in the large enclosed gardens with decking areas front and rear.
Only one thing to note would be the narrow and steep stairs to the twin room are probably better suited to children or young fit adults although we did get used to them and managed absolutely fine.
Local pubs serve very good food. The Inver (within walking distance) has a more limited but lovely menu and staff are very welcoming but we would recommend a short drive to The Creggins. Fab food with loads to chose from.
All in all had a fab holiday and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens and decking area
Liked least: Midges - remember your
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viva374
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely Holiday Cottage, Beautiful Location”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Strathlachlan Lodge is a lovely holiday cottage, set in a beautiful part of Scotland, amazing scenery! We really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very clean. The view from the patio door out over the garden, to the hills beyond, is amazing. A lovely log fire in the lounge (although we didn't actually use it). A fantastic shower in the shower room. Lovely large cooker with all mod cons in the kitchen. Pet friendly, important to us. You definitely need a car in this location but there are lots of lovely walks and gardens to visit. We would definitely stay in Strathlaclan Lodge again. Mark, the owner, was very pleasant to speak to. Liked the key safe style of picking up the keys as it is nice to arrive as and when you like without having to arrive at a specific time to 'meet and greet'. Would not hesitate to recommend Strathlachlan Lodge. Would recommend basic shopping is brought with you to the cottage as there aren't many grocery shops in the near vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison L
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restful retreat”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautifully decorated lodge with everything you need for a get away from it all week away.
Plenty of local forest walks, castles and bays to explore in area and one of the best eateries (The Inner Restaurant) just 2 min drive or walk away.
With 25 years of visiting the highlands in self catering accommodation would highly recommend staying here as we could find nothing negative with the place. (Wi Fi is slow as to be expected in rural areas but with two teenagers who usually have smartphones glued to their hands this, we thought was a positive)
Best quality towels etc. quality furnishings and decoration, ample kitchenalia outdoor space and lovely outlook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlh549
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a magical week in Strathlachan Lodge. The house was very nicely furnished and comfortable. Plenty of space for me, my children and my parents. No-one ever felt under anyone's feet. The 360 degree views were stunning. Totally what we dared hope for, when imagining rural Scotland. Amazing wildlife around the house - buzzards, deer, red squirrels. And when we did a walk in the area we saw a golden eagle.

Mark was a pleasure to deal with, and there was lots of useful advice in his visitor's guide and in the guest book, regarding local things to do. I hope we can visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the house/location was everything I hoped for and more!
Liked least: Wifi was patchy, but's it's a problem in that area and beyond Mark's control
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The lodge is in such a beautiful location, furnished and equipped to a very high standard, it provided a perfect base for my family. The only minor niggle was the intermittent wifi connection but it's not so bad relying less on t'internet every now and again. We loved the log fire, tranquil outside space and the daily visit from the cheeky wee red squirrels. To distract from the washing up, it was a nice touch having the bird feeder outside the kitchen window. We would love to return one day. Thank you for a fab stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log fire
Liked least: no complaints
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateSween...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, luxurious, dog friendly lodge in superb setting”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having 2 dogs does limit self catering options, and we are usually relegated to basic properties and caravans, so it was incredibly refreshing to step into this beautifully renovated cottage, set in a stunning location. Expensively and thoughtfully decorated, with fantastic furnishings and drapes, coupled with lots of extra touches, such as tablecloths, candles and a wonderful tree swing in the garden. The owners have clearly gone that extra mile to make this cottage and stay extra special.
The gardens were fully enclosed, so great for the dogs, and very large, which meant tag rugby games before dinner! We also managed to see pheasant, deer and even a red squirrel there! The steps down to the lower back garden area might prove tricky for very young (under 3) or perhaps less mobile guests, but there are 2 decking areas (front and back) directly and easily accessed from the house, as super substitutes! And of course there is also the front garden area too. The views from both gardens and decking areas were absolutely stunning and as we stayed in July, providing we had applied liberal amounts of "Skin So Soft", sitting on the back decking in the late evening was simply wonderful.
The property is large, with plenty of comfortable furniture (particularly the beds). Top quality bedding and towels, and all in plentiful supply. No scratchy sheets here! Attention to detail has clearly been high on the owners agenda. The attic bedroom is accessed via a spiral staircase, which may be challenging to some guests. My children are 10 and 15, so no problem and loved viewing the stars and full moon from their lofty vantage point!
My husband tells me the range cooker was fantastic and based on the wonderful meals we enjoyed, I have to agree! The kitchen was well equipped - but we did struggle to locate a pair of scissors and a larger stock/casserole pot would have been of benefit to us when friends visited (bringing the group to 7). But no shortage of glasses, which always came in handy for those evening deck sittings! Or other kitchenware.
The walk down to the loch was undertaken a number of times, and we enjoyed drinks at Inver Cottage. It is a perfect place to explore Argyll's secret coast, and there is so much in the local vicinity to see and experience and we managed to see and experience as much as possible in our 2 week holiday.
We've had an amazing 2 week stay at this wonderful lodge, and will most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So luxurious
Liked least: The midges!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMurphy7...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxation”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I can't recommend this lodge highly enough. I wanted a week of total peace and quiet (as much as possible with two young children in tow!) and that is exactly what we got, in luxurious comfort provided by the accommodation. The views from front and back are stunning, but we were comforted by the presence of neighbouring properties, so we didn't feel too isolated.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, we enjoyed walks, bike rides (on the bikes provided free by the owner) and fantastic food at the nearby restaurants, notably Inver Cottage where the food was on a par with Michelin stared restaurants we have dined in.

The kids loved it, we loved and Mark was a pleasure to deal with. We would be glad to make a return visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing