We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

This B&B is a must if you are travelling through the Cabot Trail area. I stayed here with 2 of my friends in May and we had a wonderful time. Not only was our room amazing (private bathroom, dvd, books, access to internet etc.), the service was out of this world. Incredible breakfast spreads, deserts and even the option of having a nice homecooked dinner!! The owner went completely out of her way to make sure we had a great time! She even personally took us on a wild moose chase since we really wanted to see one during our stay!!! I definitely plan on staying there again on my next trip to the Cabot Trail!! Thanks again for a great time! Kisses to Romeo and Shakespeare! (the Host's dogs!)

  • Liked — the friendly service and the rooms
  • Disliked — no cell phone service in the area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    46
    9
    14
    14
See reviews for
41
130
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Where to begin?
This is the ideal place to make your stop along the beautiful Cabot Trail drive. My girlfriend and I started on the Gulf of St. Lawrence side and were welcomed so kindly by Anna at the house. It is the easiest B&B to find as it's a quick left off of the Cabot Trail itself.
We were shown our fabulous Grand Anse room and were immediately settled in upon our arrival. Anna gave us some options for dinner in town and asked us when we would like ot have dessert back at Highland Breeze. The Strawberry Rhubarb pie is some of the best I've had in my life - the crust was amazing.
Breakfast was discussed before we turned in at night and we woke up to fresh coffee, juice, tea, eggs (any way we liked), bacon (extra crispy at our request), sausages, fresh home made cinnamon rolls, corn bread, hash browned potatoes and a choice of many, many jams. The breakfast seriously was enough until dinner that night - it was amazing.
And - we saw a moose about 5km down the road when we got back on the trail.
If you're planning on driving the Cabot Trail do make a stop in half way to this lovely B&B - you will thank yourself - trust me.
Thanks Anna and Al.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BradLockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We were immediately welcomed by our host Anna.
Our room was luxurious with a private bath and new jetted tub.
The view of Pleasant Bay is beautiful and serene.
We were not fortunate to have a visit by a moose, however, they do appear on Anna's property quite regularly.

We've stayed in over 25 B&Bs in Canada and Europe and this is the only one where a fabulous homemade dessert was served in the evening! It provided us with a great opportunity to chat with other guests and our host. In fact, we are leaving for Paris shortly to stay with a couple whom we met at Highland Breeze!!

  • Liked — the host
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank forever_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

The Highland Breeze was an amazing stop for us on our honeymoon tour through Cape Breton! Anna is incredibly personable, kind and professional. Breakfasts were huge and delicious! Also, this is the only B&B I have ever come across that also gives you dessert! Yep! She also made us some incredible dessert in the evening!
The room decor is immaculate! There are numerous fantastic amenities in the room we stayed in, including a two person jacuzzi, which was unbelievable!
The location is great! It is just a walk away from the harbor where we took a thrilling whale watching tour with Captain Mark for a super resonable price.
We wish we had planned more time here!

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere and cleanliness
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strawberry_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Highland Breeze B&B is a wonderful place to stay for hiking or exploring the Cabot Trail. Anna is a fabulous cook and she prepares fantastic homecooked breakfasts for her guests. You feel like a member of the family. The B&B is just off the Cabot Trail in quiet Pleasant Bay. There are two bedrooms, one with ensuite bath and the other with a shared bath. You can find more information on her B&B web page. We were very happy staying at the Highland Breeze and were glad we chose a B&B instead of a motel. Nearby are some nice restaurants (we loved Rusty Anchor) and whale watching boat trips during the summer. Moose occasionally walk through the Highland Breeze’s yard and you can see them if you are lucky. Lots more are along the Cabot Trail at dusk (we counted 10 in two days). We spent two nights at the Highland Breeze in mid-May and it was truly hard to leave! Thanks so much, Anna!

  • Liked — Friendliness of owner, her fabulous cooking, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.1 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
23.2 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
24.7 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Address: 42 Harbour Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Breeze has made it easier to get into the house and we have added a 24 ft pool and a 6 person outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing