We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect home away from home.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Salt

Welcome to Pleasant Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Pleasant Bay
All Good Things are Down the Red River Road The Old Salt Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Welcome to Pleasant Bay
All Good Things are Down the Red River Road
The Old Salt Cottage
The Old Salt Cottage
Lots of Room in the Living Room
Meals are Easy in the Large Country Kitchen
4 Cozy Bedrooms for Your Family
2 of 4 Cozy Bedrooms for Your Family - This is a Queen Bed
Full Downstairs Bathroom, (Plus Another Half Bath Upstairs Next to the Bedrooms)
Relax on the Covered Front Porch
The View of Robert's Mountain from the Covered Front Porch
The View of Pleasant Bay from Robert's Mountain
Enjoy a Whale Tour
Pilot Whales are Plentiful in Pleasant Bay
Hike the Many Nearby Trails
Shop at Reid's Folk Art Studio
Restock Essentials at the Timmons Store (Get an Ice Cream Too!)
Tour Gampo Abbey  Buddhist Monastery
Sunsets are Spectacular in Pleasant Bay
Beach Comb Red River Beach
Swim at Pleasant Bay Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Scott O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect home away from home.”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From my first conversation on the phone with owner Niki, I knew that we were dealing with genuine people, which is typical of Cape Breton. I actually called about her other property, Cliff Waters, but it was not available so she kindly let me know about other nearby places before she told me about The Old Salt.

We're glad we chose the Old Salt because honestly we couldn't have asked for a better place to make our home while we explored the surrounding area for our 15th wedding anniversary. This is a charming farmhouse that is beautifully appointed with 4 cozy bedrooms and 1.5 baths. While you could easily prepare large and small meals in a big kitchen, we instead paid a visit to the local eating establishment, The Rusty Anchor. We were lucky to find fresh local seafood, friendly staff and local music provided by Niki's husband, Jeremy who can play guitar and sing with a voice that fills a room.

For those who can't stay disconnected for too long, there is wifi. So while you should put your phone down, if you can't, you can get online no problem. However, there are tonnes of great books in beautiful old cabinet in the living room and a place to play games in the sun porch. There is a large deck to sit on while you enjoy your coffee and fire pit in the back yard.

We hiked to Pollett's Cove and the trail head is 10 minutes away. This is a gorgeous albeit arduous 9.5km hike to a sweet cove surrounded by meadows and even comes with a nice long beach.

The best part however was meeting Niki and Jeremy and learning about the great life they have carved out for themselves in beautiful Pleasant Bay. We look forward to returning.

Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming, farmhouse in a beautiful community
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
It was a real pleasure meeting you both, Scott and Pam, and we look forward to your return visit-please look us up!
Kind regards,
Jeremy and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Pleasant Bay”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I write this review with reluctance because I want The Old Salt all to myself. The place is simply perfect, and even better than what you see in the pictures. True, warm, rustic charm is what you'll find at the Old Salt.

I stayed with my wife and 4 kids for the week, from Aug 27th to Sept 3rd. The place easily accommodated my large family.

Located on Red River Road, right off the Cabot trail, in Pleasant Bay, the cottage is nestled in one of the most beautiful places I've ever been!

We arrived at dusk, and as soon as I pulled up, I knew I was going to love the place. It has a nice large country porch (where, during the week, I took in the mountain views. One morning I watched the morning mist sweep across the hillsides. Simply beautiful.

Once we entered, everything from the look, to even the smell of the place was so welcoming. Warm, charming, with lots of room. Fresh cut flowers on the kitchen table. Fresh biscuit bread, with butter, and jam, and a bag of coffee beans on the kitchen counter. Such a nice offering for a weary traveler after a long road trip. It was the wonderful small details that quickly made us feel that we were in good hands.

It was evident someone put a lot of hard work and tender loving care into the place. It's tastefully decorated with the perfect balance of warm, rustic country charm, while offering all the conveniences of home.

Our new home for the week was close to everything we wanted to see, including the beautiful Cabot trail, the Cape Breton Highlands, and of course, the main whale watching charters at the Pleasant Bay harbour (literally 2 minutes away from the cottage).

We were truly sad to leave, but we're looking forward to our next trip to Pleasant Bay, and without a doubt, we’ll be staying at The Old Salt again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Thanks Joe. It was our pleasure to host you and your wonderful family. We look forward to seeing you all again in future. Take care, Jer and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twilight...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

You can't go wrong in staying here - this is likely the best house rental in Cape Breton. Niki and Jeremy had everything ready to go for us, the place was even nicer than advertised, and it was the perfect spot for your family or group of friends. Lots of sleeping space and a charming old house nestled in the hills of Pleasant Bay. This place is a true gem and we'll be staying there again, for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we were glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Kind regards,
Jeremy and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debeat
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Old Salt was a great place to stay for hiking on the Cabot Trail.
It's close to many good trails, and the scenery when you're there is very peaceful and calm.
Nikki was very welcoming, the house is old but very well kept with nice wooden floors and comfortable beds. Hope to return in a few years to hike again. It was really great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming bread and jam. cleanliness. No TV.
Liked least: WiFi was not working, but it help us relax even more. It was actually a blessing.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2015
We are glad you had a great time while you were here Pierre. The hiking trails that are near are awesome. We are sorry that you had troubles with the internet - we are not aware of why it was not working for you during your stay. We do encourage all guests to contact us if there are any problems, as we like to make certain that your experience is a great one. Regardless, we are glad to hear that not having it helped you relax!

We are currently logged on to the wi-fi at the cottage to respond to this review - so future guests, know that it is working without problems.

We hope to see you again in future Pierre. Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Salt. We are happy you feel your experience was worthy of five stars. Kind regards, Jer and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella R
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Clean, affordable, everything we needed!”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our trip was awesome. We stayed for one week in August. The Cape Breton Highlands was so close and we got out and explored the trails and beaches nearly every day. We went on a whale tour and saw a million whales and the beautiful coastline. We had most of our meals at the house - the kitchen was GREAT! - Jer and NIki thought of providing everything. The covered deck was a nice place for the kids to hang out and we all enjoyed the evenings around the campfire. Jer and Niki helped us find out the best places to visit and what to do - their input was excellent! Thanks so much Jer and Niki for a clean and comfortable stay. We'll send our friends, and we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thanks Ella,
We're very glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was great meeting you all and I enjoyed your enthusiasm for the place and the highlands. Take care and I hope our paths meet again.
Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Lan T
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
My Lan et Famille,

So sorry we are so late in responding to this! Your stay at the farmhouse was such a wonderful and enriching experience for us, and we were so glad to have met you all and had the opportunity to spend some time getting to know each other-truly an awesome experience.
We hope you are all having a wonderful summer and please give our best to Maurice and the kids!
Kind regards,
Jer, Niki and Kids
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing