We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cliffside cottage for relaxing in Cape...”
other travelers have booked this property
Book your stay at Cliff Waters today!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book your stay at Cliff Waters today!
Privacy at it's best! Overlooking the beach offering ocean and river swimming.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Book your stay at Cliff Waters today!
Privacy at it's best!
Overlooking the beach offering ocean and river swimming.
The cottage is relaxed and comfortable.
The sunsets along the seacoast are exquisite.
Cliff Waters is central to the best scenery on the island.
Whale and ocean cruises depart several times daily.
Every turn along the road to Cliff Waters is beautiful.
For a memorable vacation stay at Cliff Waters Cottage
An abundance of wildlife resides nearby.
The view from the deck
Inside the cottage at dusk
The cottage is nestled on the cliffs away from all other houses
Even little people fall in love with the view
Early spring
Pleasant Bay Beach
Take part in Canada Day celebrations
Pleasant Bay Harbour where you may enjoy whale tours daily
Enjoy the colourful boats at Pleasant Bay Harbour
Swim at Red River Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DanH4148
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect cliffside cottage for relaxing in Cape Breton”
Reviewed August 1, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This cottage is absolutely perfect for two people looking to relax and unwind, surrounded by acres and acres of privacy and natural beauty. I always find it hard to find the right cottage in Ontario for only two people. Well, that search is over now. It is well worth the money to fly out to Cape Breton and stay at the Cliff Waters cottage.

The cottage is perfectly-sized, and with a deck you can sit out on all day. Incredible views are all around, surrounded by cliffs and rolling mountains. We loved watching and listening to the seabirds diving for fish, and even got to glimpse a few seals and bald eagles.

The cottage is in a good spot to access the entire Cabot Trail, and Niki & Jer have some great recommendations on what to do in the area. The Red River Beach is a beautiful place when the weather gets hot, and it's easily walkable from the cottage. It was really neat being able to swim in the salty ocean, and then rinse off with a dip in the freshwater river. Such beautiful scenery, and rarely was there anyone else there!

We already miss Cape Breton, the cute little cottage, and the ocean breeze cooling us off as we relaxed on the deck. There is a strong possibility that this will become our new annual cottage retreat.

Highly recommended for anyone looking for rest, relaxation, and a lot of natural beauty off the beaten track.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
Hi guys,

It was really great to meet you both, and we are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your time at Cliffwaters!
We are thrilled at the prospect of your return and would love to have you back on an annual basis! We do have a discount for returning guests, should you decide you would like to stay with us again.
We hope your summer is filled with fun, relaxation and joy!
Kind regards,
Jer,Niki and kids
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara J
1 review
“Sunsets and relaxation”
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This cozy cabin was a perfect home base with lots to do in close proximity, including a spectacular beach just down the road and great hiking, and the most beautiful sunsets we’ve ever seen. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
Lara,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed you stay and it was a pleasure to meet you all!
We hope the rest of your summer is filled with fun and great weather and thanks again for choosing to spend part of your family vacation at Cliffwaters!
Kind regards,
Jer, Niki and Kids
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorati...
1 review
“Little Paradise Gateway”
Reviewed July 20, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My wife and stayed at Cliff Waters Cottage for three days. The cottage is perfect for a quiet getaway. Beautiful location overlooking the ocean with fantastic sunsets!

The cottage had everything we needed and the owners Niki and Jer were great to deal with, before, during and after our stay.

We would highly recommend Cliff Waters Cottage to anyone looking to escape for a few days or a few weeks!

Rodger & Lynn Bain

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
Rodger and Lynn,

So great to hear that you enjoyed you stay and thank you for your kind words-we do our best to make sure everyone who stays with us has everything the need and to make each stay a great experience!
We hope you have a wonderful summer and thanks again for choosing to stay at Cliffwaters!
Kind regards,
Jer and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadianc...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best part of the trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

One of the very few places that I've been too that met exactly what I was looking for. If you're looking for a clean, quiet cottage to stay at while exploring northern Cape Breton, this should be your first and only choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2018
Wow Chris, thanks so much for your kind words and we are so thrilled that you found the cottage to be all that you were looking for!
Kind regards,
Jeremy and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cliff Warers”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Best part of our trip to Cape Breton
Stayed 3 nights, the veiw from the cabin is so beautiful. A nice place to relax after walking the trails in the area. Jer and Niki welcome you and make sure you have that you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. We had fresh veggies and eggs from their farm. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
Denise,

Great to have you folks stay with us and thanks again for choosing to spend time at Cliffwaters! Sorry for the late reply, and we hope you are well!
Kind regards,
Jer, Niki and Kids
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
965natali...
Kingman, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cliff Waters Vacation”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A wonderful, relaxing, but energizing stay at Cliff Waters' cottage in Pleasant Bay. As advertised secluded and amazing vistas every day as you wake up with the sound of the waves... Niki and Jeremy were the perfect hosts, and the Cottage was cosy and well equipped for our week there. We did the highlights of Pleasant Bay as recommended by Niki and were not disappointed one bit! Overall a top destination for nature and hiking lovers! We highly recommend Cliff Waters, loved the peacefulness! Thanks Niki and Jeremy for making our stay a very special one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for the great review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to spend with us over dinner, and for coming to our concert on the farm. We wish you both and your family the best in all of your endeavours. Take care, and keep in touch,
Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiBren...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views in Cape Breton”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This place has an unbelievable view! We loved sitting on the deck and enjoying a coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. The kids absolutely loved the loft (the stairs are a bit steep so if your children are quite young, you would need to watch them closely). There is so much to do within a very short distance from CliffWaters - great hiking trails, a sandy beach within a five minute walk with a river running right into the ocean, whale watching in Pleasant Bay...and the owners are incredibly nice. This is a fabulous place to stay in Cape Breton.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you Heidi for the kind review. It was great to meet your family and to know that everyone had a good time. Great point about the stairs - the ladder/stair to loft is steep. If you're ever back with smaller children, the couch on the main floor pulls out into a double bed. We hope that you all have a wonderful summer back in Toronto. Take care and have fun,
Jer and Niki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing