We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good at all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MidTrail Motel & Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The service was really awful - so much for East Coast hospitality. The rooms were noisy, but clean and comfortable. One of the staff was OK, and the other was downright rude. I would definitely not stay here again. And for what you get, it's over-priced. The breakfast was OK, but the dinner was not good. Everything, and I mean everything is fried.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canuck001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for MidTrail Motel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have stayed the Midtrail on two occasions - August 2009 & again in August 2010. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience both times. The staff was friendly & welcoming. We enjoyed delicious seafood dinners with generous portions at reasonable prices. The wait staff was friendly & we observed them accommodating another guests with specific dietary needs without complaint. The room was spotlessly clean & recently renovated.

The Inn is within walking distance of the harbor with a beautiful view either of the sea of the mountains, depending on your preference. We haven't taken the time to go on one of the Whale Cruises, but there are several options, all reasonably priced.

I would recommend the Midtrail Inn to anyone visiting Cape Breton and the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmacleand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Lovely location and you have choice of mountain view room or ocean view for a slightly higher price. Beautiful well kept grounds and friendly staff. Restaurant has simplistic menu and homecooked meals. Rooms been recently updated and very clean. NO CELL SERVICE in area but then again who cares when you have a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wailinsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I travelled with my sister and her husband and we stayed in two motel rooms. The rooms were updated, nice and clean also had a balcony to go out on. Nice scenery, walk on the beach and down to the whale boats where you could go and watch the whales. Unfortunely we did not get there in time for one of the whale watching times. We travelled the Cabot Trail which was very picturesque to see. Resonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazlin6560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The first thing that crossed our minds when we walked into the room was, "Wow, this looks a heck of a lot different than on the website". The second thing was, "Oh my goodness, we actually have to sleep here?"
The rooms were quite dreary with dirty blankets, a sunk down prickly couch and old carpet with God knows what stained into it. The bed's mattresses must be very very old - they had springs sticking out every where and you rolled right into the middle because they were in a valley or "v" shape.
To make matters worse, their walls are paper thin and I could hear two people have sex in the room next to us.
Determined to make the best of a horrible situation, we went to have dinner in their restaurant. I ordered fish and chips, and my dad ordered the halibut dinner. Our fish and chips were alright, however, we found it was mostly soggy batter with very little fish. My dad's fish was inedible. His halibut was completely dry and I don't know how they get people to pay for it.
When he told the waitress she was very rude and we felt that she didn't handle the situation appropriately.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location, which is right on Pleasant Bay steps from the water.
I would like to rip that place down and re build it so that it is worthy of the location.
Please - Don't stay here unless you like dirty rooms, bad service and awful food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La vue du deuxième étage était ce que l'établissement offre de mieux.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2015Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Hafen, im Flachbau.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allwit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.4 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
82 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#8 of 8 in Cheticamp
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MidTrail Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MidTrail Motel & Inn

Address: 23475 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: $69 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in between the mountains of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park and overlooking the sea, Pleasant Bay & the Midtrail showcase some of the best scenery that the Cabot Trail has to offer. All rooms are fully renovated and the restaurant serves a great selection of tasty dishes including Lobster, Mussels, Snow Crab & Scallops as well as a variety of other choices to accommodate most preferences. World class whale watching is just a short walk away and the hill behind the restaurant or the private beach below serve as amazing places to take in the incredible sunsets as they dip into the sea each night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MidTrail Motel & Inn Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing