We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MidTrail Motel & Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room was large and very clean. . The bed was very comfy. We had a great view but was too windy and cool to sit outside. We had dinner in the dining room which was not bad but the service was very slow and they weren't very busy. I thought they had gone to catch our fish!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This property has an amazing rocky beach! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food in the little restaurant was also very good. There are not any phones in the rooms but they do have a phone for public use and they also have long distance phone cards you can purchase.
This property has lots of green grass area to walk around and you can also go through the field over to the wharf where the whale watching is done. Very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is dated but the rooms are spacious and fairly clean. The shower was a hit after dealing with a low pressure shower earlier in the trip.
We were upgraded to an ocean view family room for the same price as for the mountain view room.
The motel has a restaurant area but we didn’t try it as we only stayed for a night and day.
For a one night it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MundoLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at five different hotel accommodations while in Nova Scotia and this was my least favorite. The motel is very dated. I think I could feel springs coming through the mattress. The shower didn't even work properly. It was not a comfortable stay. Breakfast is not included so there isn't much choice in pleasant bay. Again for what you I thought it was overpriced

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful evening at the MidTrail. We live on Cape Breton and decided to head out for an anniversary get-a-way night. We live in Baddeck so we headed to Pleasant Bay since it was half way around the Cabot Trail. With the Doers and Dreamers guide in hand, I liked the photos of the MidTrail. I had driven by many a time, but we had never stayed in Pleasant Bay. So we called along the way and booked a queen bed room on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. Newly renovated bath room. Nice quaint balcony that looked over the harbour and mountains was an added bonus. The bed was comfy as well. We enjoyed relaxing in the adirondack chairs that are perched on a small knoll overlooking the ocean and watched the setting sun. Although we ate dinner down the road at the Rusty Anchor (wonderful meal) we did eat breakfast the MidTrail. It was standard fare with generous portions at great prices. A fresh fruit offering would have been more to my taste, so I opted for a bagel, however my husband enjoyed a large plate of french toast which he said was delicious. We recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good experience with this motel. It was quiet, convenient and very spacious for young family. We had everything we needed. Nice views in the motel closest to the road. A fire pit also available for bonfires. Restaurant available for breakfast in morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This motel was a pleasant surprise, very clean and charming. The location was perfect since it was half way through the Cabot Trail. It was located just up the hill from all the whale watching tours and a close walk to an amazing seafood restaurant, the Rusty Anchor.
The staff at the MidTrail was friendly and the view from the motel is breathtaking. Don't expect to be making phone calls from your cell phone because no one in my group was able to get a signal, but there is wifi. Will definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: ocean view room is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nardia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
31.1 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#6 of 7 in Pleasant Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MidTrail Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MidTrail Motel & Inn

Address: 23475 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: $68 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in between the mountains of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park and overlooking the sea, Pleasant Bay & the Midtrail showcase some of the best scenery that the Cabot Trail has to offer. All rooms are fully renovated and the restaurant serves a great selection of tasty dishes including Lobster, Mussels, Snow Crab & Scallops as well as a variety of other choices to accommodate most preferences. World class whale watching is just a short walk away and the hill behind the restaurant or the private beach below serve as amazing places to take in the incredible sunsets as they dip into the sea each night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MidTrail Motel & Inn Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing