We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2011

As others have said, this is no-frills motel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathrooms are functional. The bed and chairs are comfortable enough. The decor is dated. The WiFi works. The scenery, as with all of Pleasant Bay, is excellent. For the price and location, it's more than adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

My partner and I ended up in Pleasant Bay on a blustery evening in the midst of our our trip to Cape Breton. We had hoped to take in a whale sighting tour late in the day, but the seas had gotten rough and cold--and the tour guides cancelled the remaining tours of the day. They suggested we spend the night in the village and try again in the morning, and their recommendation was the Moutain View Motel.

We found the restaurant deserted and not many cars in the parking lot of the motel and weren't surprised there were vacancies. We checked out a room and found it would be fine for the evening.

We weren't wrong. It wasn't on par with a Courtyard, but it was a clean room, and the bed was comfortable. The room even had a loveseat where we were able to access the WiFi and download and post pictures from our day of sight-seeing.

We also caught an awesome sunset on the beach near the marina in "town".

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdRockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

While on vacation last summer my friends and I stopped in at the Mountain View Motel for the night. After a long day driving around the Cabot Trail we were starving, we decided to eat at the restaurant on site, and it was simply delicious. We got the lobster dinner because when your in Cape Breton what else should you be eating? The waitress was very friendly and helpful. She not only answered our questions about the area but also suggested that we go on the local whale tour. Not long after we returned to our rooms which were simple but very tidy. When we woke up in the morning not only was there a great view of the mountains but we got to see a real live moose! If asked I would suggest this Motel and Restaurant to anyone, it was simply amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodeoTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Clean, comfortable and warm motel with no frills. Restaurant food is very hot and tasty after hiking and sightseeing on the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaSeaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

we came late in the evening admist rain ,chilly weather and headed straight for their homemade tomato soupn sautee mushrooms. I cant even begin to say how delicious it was and mind you, we werent hungry after eating all the junk on the way. The room was very simple, an old fashioned basin but it was spotless. The view outside the room was awesome.. Right from their food, to room, to service, I must say that Mountain view motel did leave a very pleasant smile across our faces

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontocouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We just love staying at the Mountain View. There is absolutely nothing fancy about it. No fancy comforters, no free blowdryers, nothing but the absolute basics. But after a day of hiking in the highlands, nothing beats a cold beer outside your room while enjoying the view. And there is something really nice about watching the hummingbirds hover and feed at the window while you enjoy your breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ich war im Zimmer, welche am weitesten von der Strasse weglag
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StefanWoodtli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.4 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
203 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
22.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain View Motel & Cottages

Address: 23659 Cabot Trail Rd, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2PO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range: $88 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain View Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your The Mountain View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing