We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Elizabeth and Brian have put in so much care and thought into this most comfortable and charming B & B. It is our go-to place on Pleasant Bay! You will find that the property is well-maintained, clean, well-stocked and perfectly located minutes away from the Highlands, the wharf (go there around 6:30-7am and if you're lucky you will see grey seals playing a few feet from the shore!), the whale tour companies, the Whale Interpretive Centre and a short drive from the unbelievable Gampo Abbey. The B & B is right opposite Roberts Mountain so when you look out the window or step out in the morning the view is simply marvelous!

Continental breakfast is complementary :) Lots to choose from.

I'm writing this review after my second trip to Pleasant Bay just last week and I have no doubt in my mind that I will be returning.

Thank you, Elizabeth, Brian. See you again.

Room Tip: There are two rooms side by side and they are great. There is no issue with noise in either of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyforquaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our friends from France. It was just perfect for us. Extremely clean, nice selection of things for breakfast and the owner was very helpful and curteous. It is located in the perfect place to enjoy the Cabot Trail. We are going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 701Jerry1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my first B & B, and it's been such a great experience.

The place is super clean, as soon as you walk in, it's got that homey clean laundry smell. The host is super nice and warm. And after a long day's drive, it's a great place to crash.

Great wifi connection, en-suite bathroom & shower. Also the host is super nice and generous. So glad we picked this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasChowstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night at the Poplar B&B! We enjoyed our stay: The rooms are clean, and despite being right on the Cabot Trail, there is no traffic at night. The ensuite bathrooms were convenient, and the self-serve breakfast a good start to the day. Pleasant Bay has a nice waterfront and various hiking trails nearby.

Room Tip: I think the back room (right room, view of the poplar) is a bit more quiet during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VanVicky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this B&B one night on our honey moon and it was an excellent experience. Elizabeth and Bryan were very welcoming and friendly. The place was very charming and had a great view. The rooms were very well maintained and very clean. The continental breakfast was fantastic , not to mention her homemade muffins were to die for. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and we will definitely be returning. Thank you Elizabeth and Bryan for making our stay one we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our 2-day trip around the trail, and we couldn't have wished for a better experience. The rooms are immaculate, the bathrooms looked newly renovated, and the lovely sitting area made us feel right at home. The B&B has good wi-fi, and we very much enjoyed the self-serve breakfast (with delicious fresh-baked muffins!). Elizabeth and Brian were very warm and welcoming, and we especially appreciated the recommendation to watch the sunset on Pleasant Bay Beach -- because it turned out to be one of the most spectacular sunsets I've ever seen. We will definitely return to this B&B on our next trip to Cape Breton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Elizabeth and Bryan are the hosts of this comfortable and welcoming B&B. Rooms are clean, cosy and their breakfast offering is an excellent start to a long day. Both hosts are very knowledgable on the area and made great recommendations on restaurants (Rusty Anchor which offered a 10% discount for Poplar B&B visitors), whale watching (Captain Mark's) and hiking trails (Skyline is a must). They also offered driving tips, what to watch out for and helped make the very first experience on the Cabot Trail quite memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
14.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
79 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Property: The Poplar B&B
Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located on the world famous Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS, surrounded by the scenic Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing