We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good parking only”
Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed there for one night. in Sept.2012 on our road trip.
They have good parking..
warning, it's very small, the rooms are tight.. but it's clean and the beds are comfortable.
bathroom small, and clean.. no curtain in bathroom.. anyone could easly peek in..
so we didn't use the shower. clear glass door on shower, in good view of window..
no homemade breakfast here...just a muffin and banana.. you have to make your own coffee or tea.. which isn't a problem..
rooms need lots of work, can see floor buckling in bedrooms.. also killed a few beetles bugs..
the owners are friendly.. and once he checks you in, you never see him again.. lol...
it's low cost, so I guess you can say, you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cariboo.b.c.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Owner at The Poplar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear caribou bc,
I was really surprised when I read this review. My husband and I take pride in our home, we bought this house 8 years ago, a fixer upper and have been working on it ever since, from new roof, to floors. The B&B is in the front of the house, we live in the back section, so one of us is always there. We are always checking in on our guests to see if they need anything and offer any local knowledge on hiking trails and the area. The rooms have a queen bed and ensuite bath. The bathroom window, which you were concerned about is a small window (10 inch square) and is ten feet off the ground, it doesn't need a curtain because it has frosted glass, no one can see through. As for breakfast, brian and I always remind our guests that it is continental, self serve, which consists of cereal, oatmeal, muffins, bananas, bagels, bread, yogurt, tea, coffee and juices, this is also posted on our website. Our b&b is set up for guests to feel like they are staying in a home away from home, but also that they have there privacy. I am so sorry that you felt that your stay with us wasn't what you expected and posted an inaccurate description of our home and B&B, if you would have spoken with us about your concerns, Brian and myself would have done everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one.
Elizabeth and Brian Timmons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

My mom and I stayed there for one night on our trip around the Cabot Trail and LOVED it. Brian and Elizabeth were amazing, from booking the room through to the minute we left. Quite possibly the nicest people I've ever met! The room was great, clean as can be, beautifully decorated and a really great kitchen and lounge space. Great continental breakfast you could help yourself to as well. We LOVED it there and wish we were staying longer. Super great value for what you get, and we can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent one night here on our trip around The Cabot Trail. Brian & Elizabeth were a pleasure to stay with. Every single detail was looked after. The room was lovely, queen size bed, flat screen satellite tv, air conditioning and ensuite bath. The decor was very tastefully done. The breakfast was set up to help yourself, continental style with tea, coffee, homemade muffins, cereal, fresh fruit etc., no problem to find something for everyone. It was nice to have access to the guest kitchenette to make a cup of tea in the evening. Especially after we got caught in a downpour on a nighttime walk to the nearby beach. Well worth the money and more, a stay here is a real bargain! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Poplar View room, but The Mountain Sunrise room was equally as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaT361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I spent a night there after whale watching that afternoon. It's close proximity (one minute by car) made it easy to unwind. It was a comfortable space and a good night's rest. Brian recommended the Rusty Anchor restaurant which turned out to be a good meal (the 10% discount was also nice). We also received a discount from Captain Mark's Whale and Seal Cruise by staying there, also a nice surprise. Breakfast was serve yourself and a good start to the day. Brian pointed us in the direction of the Celidah trail which led us to the Glenora Distillery, a nice stop-off that day. The value for money was excellent, making it a great place to stay in Pleasant Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We chose this b&b for a stop-over on our trip round the Cabot Trail. It's in a very good location right next to the coast on the Trail and close to some eating places. The patrons were very affable with excellent knowledge of the area.

The room was smallish and an unusual shape but very clean and well-furnished. Breakfast was self-service but there were plenty of alternatives and it was a leisurely option. The patron recommended the Rusty Anchor for dining. It's a short hop in the car but we chose to walk which took about 20-25mins but we felt very virtuous as a result. The food was excellent especially with a 10% discount courtesy of the Poplar. We slept well as the location is quiet.

All in all, we had an enjoyable stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra_Grindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 7 nights at the Poplar B&B in mid-June. We loved our stay there; the space was small but very comfortable, clean, and pretty. The owners were always friendly and took some time every day to check in with us. We were out hiking all day, and the Poplar was a great place to come back to for a relaxing evening watching a DVD, sleeping early, or sitting and talking. We slept great every night. Breakfast was plenty, and homemade muffins were a great touch. The guest kitchen was also great to have access to when we wanted to eat in for dinner, or have a glass of local wine in the evening. Pleasant Bay is tiny, friendly, and oh so relaxing. Overall amazing quality considering it is pretty much half the cost of most other rooms in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Located on the main road, this B&B is a perfect place to stay for the budget and location. Quiet and clean. The front of the house available for guests consists of 2 rooms with private washrooms, and a shared kitchen. Breakfast is self serve (whatever is in the fridge & cupboards). The basics were available bagels, cereal, coffee/tea, fruits, juice etc.
The owner was really nice and helpful with some tips about the area and his two cents about the weather (and he was right about those storm clouds being nothing!).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strangers_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Hostel
Cabot Trail Hostel
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.7 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#6 of 7 in Pleasant Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located on the world famous Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS, surrounded by the scenic Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing