We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Deck”

Rusty Anchor Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Cape Bretons best kept secret"!!! A family friendly restaurant on the World Famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy a wonderful Home cooked meal overlooking the whale filled waters of the Gulf of St Lawrence.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Deck”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Had lunch out on the deck while staying in Pleasant Bay. I agree with some previous posts that the service was kind of slow. However, the view makes up for it. They had both indoor seating and seating outside on a deck overlooking the shore. Beautiful spot (and I didn't think it was too "touristy" as some previous posters did). Food was pretty good too. Had the fish and chips. Delicious! I also should point out that because cell phone reception in the area is lacking, it was so helpful that this restaurant had a pay phone (that took credit cards)!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rb913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    298
    93
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Crystal was our server and she was GREAT! fun atmosphere and yummy fish and chips. not much else to choose from for dinner in Pleasant Bay but we had a good night and finished our meal with a slice of tasty lemon meringue pie. good selection of t-shirts and awesome sunset photo opps.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Itr merited a second visit on our weeks stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

My travel buddy and I were leery because of many billboard advertisements and its close proximity to the Cabot Trail. Our fist visit was FRESH oysters and a Lobster Roll--with plenty of lobster meat. Service was excellent. We returned two days later fish the chef/owner had caught earlier in the day. Outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ARDressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Driving thru after hiking the Skyline trail - hot and hungry. There is plenty of in and outdoor seating. The beer was very cold, served in a frosted mug. My husband & I both chose the English fish & chips. It was Sole, which we'd never had. It was the best we've ever had, unusually light & tasty for fried fish, and the chips/fries were delicious as well. We will be back this trip

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lobster rolls and amazing view!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We came here for lunch after hiking the Skyline Trail on a gorgeous day. We sat on the huge outdoor deck overlooking the ocean. It's right on the Cabot Trail. Service was excellent. The lobster rolls had big chunks of lobster drizzled with butter (no mayo). Delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Anchor Restaurant also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Rusty Anchor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing