We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itr merited a second visit on our weeks stay”

Rusty Anchor Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Cape Bretons best kept secret"!!! A family friendly restaurant on the World Famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy a wonderful Home cooked meal overlooking the whale filled waters of the Gulf of St Lawrence.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Itr merited a second visit on our weeks stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

My travel buddy and I were leery because of many billboard advertisements and its close proximity to the Cabot Trail. Our fist visit was FRESH oysters and a Lobster Roll--with plenty of lobster meat. Service was excellent. We returned two days later fish the chef/owner had caught earlier in the day. Outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ARDressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    300
    95
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Driving thru after hiking the Skyline trail - hot and hungry. There is plenty of in and outdoor seating. The beer was very cold, served in a frosted mug. My husband & I both chose the English fish & chips. It was Sole, which we'd never had. It was the best we've ever had, unusually light & tasty for fried fish, and the chips/fries were delicious as well. We will be back this trip

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lobster rolls and amazing view!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We came here for lunch after hiking the Skyline Trail on a gorgeous day. We sat on the huge outdoor deck overlooking the ocean. It's right on the Cabot Trail. Service was excellent. The lobster rolls had big chunks of lobster drizzled with butter (no mayo). Delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We planned to stop in for dinner here on our honeymoon and ended up spending three days of our honeymoon in Pleasant Bay thanks to the owners who also rent a cottage nearby. The staff is wonderful! The food, which we ate for lunch and dinner three days straight was absolutely delicious! We cannot wait to get back as we feel as it is our home away from home!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good but...”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Decent seafood, spotty service. Had two lunches here. Has a bit too much of a tourist trap vibe which usually lowers my expectations. On my first visit, I had excellent mussels and very good snow crab but the service was slow although restaurant wasn't crowded. On my second visit we had great service (restaurant was more crowded) and I had a pretty good lobster roll, fairly meaty. So pretty good overall - wish there were a few other options in the area to try though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fifty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Anchor Restaurant also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Rusty Anchor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing