We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Great Food and a ton of Gluten Free Options!”

Rusty Anchor Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Cape Bretons best kept secret"!!! A family friendly restaurant on the World Famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy a wonderful Home cooked meal overlooking the whale filled waters of the Gulf of St Lawrence.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Great Food and a ton of Gluten Free Options!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic view of the coast. Great east coast food for cheap. The wait staff are extremely down-to-earth and helpful. They provided my boyfriend with a ton of gluten free - they even have gluten-free bread available! Great place to stop in for lunch as you drive along the Cabot trail

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanBald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    298
    93
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view and food was good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Used the telescopes to spot whales, which was definitely a highlight. Easy spot to stop and enjoy a brew after a hike on the Cabot trail.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ahsoka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We sat outside and the view was wonderful. Good food and very friendly wait staff. Good location on the way to the Cabot Teail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
455 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Thought I had died and gone to The Rusty Anchor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

There a limited places to stop for lunch on the Cabot Trail but to our good fortune we stopped at the Rusty Anchor. Without a doubt the best Chowder, freshest clams and tastiest lobster roll on our trip to the Maritimes. The staff were so nice, steering me away from the oysters because they weren't fresh that day. Wireless internet and a great view. Make it a must stop on your Cabot Trail Trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yup - a travelors delight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tucked in the mountains on the Cabot Trail this restaurant just has that feel if you know what I mean. It's cozy, rustic and the view is heavenly. The service was outstanding the food was good and my husband and I loved it. I had the fish cakes and they were exactly as I had hoped. The menu has lots to choose from.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Anchor Restaurant also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Rusty Anchor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing