We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the 12 of us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabot Trail Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabot Trail Hostel
Richelieu, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good for the 12 of us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were 2 families together, totalling 12 people, and we could take advantage of the whole 3 rooms of the main building. So we'd almost enjoy the privacy of the 2 kitchens, the whole dining room, etc. We booked for 1 night but we finally stayed 2 nights since it was so affordable and fitting our needs.
On the way there we had a chance to see a moose and even a black bear (hanging in a tree, on the right side of the road) and during our stay we've seen another 6 mooses, including one that we had a chance to see very long, kind of hiking along with him, while we were up the skyline trail, half way between the hostel and Cheticamp.
The small harbour, hosting Captain's Mark boat (and others) is in a walking distance, which was the primary purpose of our trip and the main reason for us to choose this accomodation.
And by the way, the hostess Pam was really nice, dedicated, available and willing to help : thumbs up and thank you again !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spreum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabottrailhostel, Manager at Cabot Trail Hostel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
It was great having you stay with us, I really enjoyed meeting you all. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and wonder if you saw any more Moose on your way back through the Cape Breton Highlands after leaving Pleasant Bay.
Best Wishes and hope to see you again sometime.
Thank You,
Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

After staying at the Cabot Trail Hostel on a number of occasions I wasn't lying when I said I thought about selling all my assets and moving to this hostel permanently. This place just makes you feel at home. The location is great as it is right in the middle of the Cabot Trail and offers some amazing opportunities in the area of Pleasant Bay. First off you have the world class whale watching, great hikes such as Pollett's Cove and Roberts Mountain, and the sunsets at the nearby beach are breathtaking.

The hostel has very comfortable accommodations, 2 kitchen areas and a comfy living area to enjoy some movies or play some guitar with the other guests. The owner of the hostel Pam is a true delight and Dawn who works at the hostel is just incredible and always helping to make your stay that much more enjoyable. The combination of all these things makes this hostel a true gem and winner in my opinion.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabottrailhostel, Manager at Cabot Trail Hostel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
That is what happened to me!!!!!!
I left B.C and stayed in C.B.
Everytime i leave the Island i yearn to get back.
I am sure that we will be seeing you lots this year.
Thank You for choosing the Cabot Trail Hostel.
Safe Travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

A big thank you to Dawn, she made our stay a fun and relaxed. The hostel itself is very clean and well organized, everything you could need really. Keep up the great work Dawn!

PS - The gruelling hike into Pollett's Cove was well worth it!

Mike

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

One of those places that you will remember and don't want to leave. A welcoming and friendly atmosphere where everyone felt at home and enjoyed each other's company. perfect location in the middle of the Cabot Trail to view all thta it has to offer. Comfortable accomodations with friendly staff. My next trip to the island will include the Cabot Trail Hostel!

Room Tip: 4 room dorm the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed in two bunk beds (4 beds were in the room, but the other two were not occupied). We stayed two nights. I would recommend the hostel to anyone without the need for a lot of privacy since you share the bathrooms and the common room of course. But it is a hostel after all.

The two hosts are both friendly and helpful with tips for eating, hiking and so on.

We spent two really nice days up there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holohedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had such a wonderful stay there that I didn't want to leave. Dawn was very friendly, she really took the time to tell me about all the things to do around the area. She made sure I felt right at home at the hostel. It was a fantastic experience. Will definitely be back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouter_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at the hostel as part of the Salty Bear Tour. The hostel has a perfect location. It's close to the Calbot Trail and to the beach. The rooms are clean, the kitchen has everything you need and after a busy day of activities it's a nice relaxing place to unwind. The staff is friendly and helpful. A beautiful place to stay when you are on Cape Breton Island!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoutedeClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
14.3 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
20.4 mi away
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
#1 of 1 in Bay St. Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Trail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Hostel

Property: Cabot Trail Hostel
Address: 23349 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Friendly, Budget accommodation on the Cabot Trail, surrounded by the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The Cabot Trail Hostel is within walking distance of beaches, restaurants, whale tour boats, gift shops and the Whale Interpretive center and is an ideal place to stay while exploring the Cape Breton Highlands and surrounding area. We have both co-ed dorm rooms and private rooms. The hostel is well equipped with two kitchens, a bbq, three bathrooms as well as common areas and two newly built decks. A pleasant peaceful place to stay in Cape Breton. Hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabot Trail Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Trail Hostel Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing