We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Cabot Trail Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabot Trail Hostel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of the Salty Bear tour of Cape Breton. It was clean and the staff were friendly. Would definately recommond for singles, couples and families.

Room Tip: The private rooms weren't that more expensive than the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bewill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is quite possibly the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and kind and the environment is very homey!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

It was a great place to stay for a few nights. You can go whale watching, walk the skyline (very nice hike), Kayaking, chill out and recover from traveling. Any Quyestions dawn is your lady, she complimented the environment of what cabot trail hostel was going for. No question was too insane to ask and Dawn always would be ready to go that extra mile just so you can have an amazing time there. In saying that there are a few things you should know is that its very remote so buy groceries before you get there if your staying more than one night. And a car is soooo helpful to have as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was travelling across Canada on my own and stayed in plenty of hostels, this was one of the best! The moment I arrived I asked to stay another day because the energy was so great. Quiet and comfortable. Pam and Dawn were such sweet ladies, telling me where to visit and what hikes to do. I would come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v3_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the hostel during our Salty Bear trip. The ladies who run the hostel, Dawn and Pam, are lovely!!! The hostel is very clean and homey. We enjoyed our stay very much! Plus they offer a crab dinner for a very good price. I can defenitly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewulf_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My road tripping friend and I loved this hostel! There was a lot of common space for lounging, large bathrooms (including really really nice showers), good sized bedrooms and 2 kitchens! We played Scrabble in the big kitchen, caught up on emails using the free wifi and even watched Friends on tv! We were completely comfortable there and I would love to go back on another trip! Through our Maritime Road trip, this was by far the best accommodations!

Thanks!
Steph (the girl who paints her finger nails in hostels) and Kelly (the Scrabble Queen)

Dawn: Thanks for the tip about the Skyline Trail! Kelly and I made the hike and it was the best view I have ever seen in my life! This hike was one I will never forget! We even saw a female moose! Thanks for the suggestion!

Room Tip: The bedroom off of the back kitchen was really quiet at night and had a lovely breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I was biking the Cabot Trail and was forced to stop earlier than I planned in Pleasant Bay BC of the wind and rain (and only lasting about 3 hours in it!). I was more than impressed with the warm welcome I received, the clean and quaint hostel and the excellent service provided by Dawn and Pam, my Pleasant Bay angels. It a lovely setting to get to know other travelers, take a warm shower, rest from the road or get good tips on the interesting points of Pleasant Bay and the Cabot Trail. I would recommend this hostel to anyone, and urge people to make a special stop to see how pleasant it is to stay in Pleasant Bay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LClarkebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Bay
22.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.6 mi away
Highland Breeze Accommodations
0.5 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
175 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
0.1 mi away
Gulf Breeze
Gulf Breeze
#8 of 8 in Cheticamp
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Trail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Hostel

Property: Cabot Trail Hostel
Address: 23349 Cabot Trail, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Friendly, Budget accommodation on the Cabot Trail, surrounded by the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The Cabot Trail Hostel is within walking distance of beaches, restaurants, whale tour boats, gift shops and the Whale Interpretive center and is an ideal place to stay while exploring the Cape Breton Highlands and surrounding area. We have both co-ed dorm rooms and private rooms. The hostel is well equipped with two kitchens, a bbq, three bathrooms as well as common areas and two newly built decks. A pleasant peaceful place to stay in Cape Breton. Hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabot Trail Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Trail Hostel Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing