We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars for kitsch!”
Review of New Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Scalpay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Haven
Reviewed June 30, 2012

About one in maybe ten or so of my TA reviews is bad — this is one of them.

We arrived to a frosty welcome ("I've been waiting for you!") late in the evening after a referral from the local VisitScotland (tourism) office.

We found the modern bungalow decorations kitsch, the mattress very soft, the breakfast ordinary. We stayed in five hotels and B&Bs in the Western Isles in June. New Haven was by a long way the poorest. VisitScotland gave this B&B four stars. What for?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for New Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

a beautiful b&b at the end of a very narrow hilly road. the rooms were immaculate and the views wonderful. we would have no hesitation returning here if visiting harris in the future breakfast was everything you could wish for including items not always on offer such as porridge and salmon with scrambled egg.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms-both superb
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This B&B was one of the best we stayed in during our tour of the Outer Hebrides. It has a lovely position overlooking the loch. We had a beautiful bedroom, with a really comfortable bed, and everything we needed. The bathroom was spacious, with a bath and separate shower, and seemed very luxurious. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, and Mairi was most friendly and attentive. It really could not have been better!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

this b?&b is immaculate. mairi who looks after u is lovely, her breakfast is lovely & plenty of it good selection. its only 5 mins from tarbert. 1hr from stornoway, isle of scalpy is breath taking as is isle of harris we toured it all its got to be the loveliest places around. well worth a visit and dont 4get to book newhaven b&b u will be very impressed. bedrooms large. bathrooms come well equipped. could go on & on bout mairi,s b&b. hotel harris & harris inn lovely grub & hebrides hotel lovely tried all lovely food very impressed. one more thing bring binoculars & camera

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Following a 30 mile cycle ride in the rain, we managed to book the New Haven in the tourist information centre in Tarbert and we couldnt have chosen anywhere better! We were made to feel really welcome despite being soaked to the skin! The room was clean, warm and comfy and breakfast was delicious! Mairi was so kind, she even tumble dried all our wet clothes for us! A real find, and one we'll return to!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We chose New Haven for its proximity to Tarbert, as we were to leave on a 7AM ferry and needed to be close. The house, decor, and location exceeded our expectations by far. Our room and bathroom were very large and well-appointed, and I loved having the huge tub and a separate shower. What won us over was the warmth and friendly efficiency of Mairi (and her great breakfasts) and her family. Our husbands talked together about landscaping, and their son took a lot of time to help me with a computer problem. We would definitely stay here again as a base for seeing Lewis/Harris.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank JFR450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven

Address: 15 Ardinashaig, HS4 3XZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Scalpay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Scalpay
Hotel Class:4 star — New Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing