We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Trip with Warm Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecoturismo Kuyima S.P.R. de R.L.
Ranked #3 of 4 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip with Warm Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We went as a family. Our children were able to pet baby whales out in the lagoon several times. The hosts were very warm and entertaining. We stayed in the little cabanas. They were spartan but clean. We absolutely loved this trip and would highly recommend this tour group!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calicraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

This trip was everthing we hoped it would be. The facilities are spartan but spotlessly clean. The staff is friendly and very attentive. We stayed in the tents - cots, new sleeping bags, and clean sheet liners - and ate meals in the lodge. The meals were basic but delicious.

When not out whale watching we walked on the beach. The fact that there are active osprey nests with 100 feet and a complete whale skeleton tells you how eco friendly the staff and guests are.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G_and_L_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

The cabanas were clean, neat and comfortable. The views along the beach were fantastic. The staff was world class. They were friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and accessible. The staff kept us busy all day long, every day. We headed out to see the whales, dolphins and seals. We kayaked in the mangroves, headed out to the salt flats (an incredible side trip) and had two very informative hikes in the area. And the food! You could not get a better meal - breakfast lunch or supper. They really took good care of us. We traveled from San Diego with a small group of 18 people, we went in a car caravan down to the camp. The last few miles on the dirt road was actually fun - probably not so much if you have back problems, but for us - it was great. One of the couples brought a bunch of "Costco" snacks which we all happily enjoyed before dinner - next time around, we will bring goodies as well. This is an absolute repeat vacation for us.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank socallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

The people and the whales are the heart of this experience. Carlos and his wife (she is the chief cook for the 2 camps) are kind, funny, engaging and they set the tone for the whole experience: "If you are not happy you are wasting ...your life!" Carlos stated on our first meeting and this is the philosophy practiced at Kuyima. Everyone there takes that up and works hard to provide the best experience possible. Traveling with a Mexican owned and operated company is important to us. Kuyima has, as one other person noted, a great deal of flexibility- one of the other guests was an expert in Oyster fishing and we took an afternoon excursion to two local oyster farms. From the office in San Ignacio town to the daily boat trips, every necessity was provided for. All food and drink was included unless you are a big drinker (more than 2 beers per meal). The cabins are warm and comfy- not that there is much time to spend in them.

The guides are young and enthusiastic, the boatmen are fishermen who really know their stuff. Some hints: It can be windy and cool, take layers. If you like to snack, bring snacks. If you need back support to make the 20 min. (it can be rough) boat trip more comfy- bring one of those trail chairs. (see photo). Be sure to have water shoes or flip flops.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Spent 3 wonderful days at the Kuyima whale camp on the shore of San Ignacio Lagoon. The whales were wonderful. Guides were knowledgable and fluent in English. Food was very good. Never had time to open a book to read. Always something interesting going on. Carlos (Sextoes), who runs the camp, is a unique and interesting individual and brings a lot of humor and warmth to the camp. Facilities were primative but quite adequate and comfortable. On the high end for remote Baja. Saw a lot of whales up close and personal and got to touch several as they came to the boats. I'll be going back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unguidedmissal
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

I highly recommend Kuyima Travel Services in Baja California Sur.

Last winter we traveled to San Ignacio to view the ancient cave art in the canyons and to watch whales. My husband and I were travelling with my 12 year old niece during her winter vacation so our time was limited. Kuyima arranged a custom trip for us into the canyons. At first, I thought the cost was high but after the trip, I was amazed at the value of our investment. Our guide, Raul, was one to the founders of the company. He came to Baja from Sinaloa many years before and was, for a time, plant engineer for the local fish cannery. Then the era of sushi intervened and the loss of demand for processed fish led to the closing of the plant. In the mean time, the lagoon had been declared a whale preserve and the local fishermen were out to work.

Raul taught himself English and started the Kuyima Travel Services, hiring the fisherman to take tourist out for whale watching trips. He also contracted with the local ranchers to guide tourists into the canyons to view the art.

Previously, the locals had informally guided individuals and this led to some destruction of the cave art by souvenir hunters. Kuyima, with Raul’s direction, provides an interface to bridge the cultural differences between tourists and local guides, while educating the locals in the importance of preserving the art so that it remains a tourist attraction.

Raul Contracts with local cooks to provide delicious fresh food for the tour and is quite a magician with a cook stove himself.

When our local guide was late to meet us, Raul even had some informative books with pictures and turned our van into an impromptu classroom. He paced the tour well according to our desires and abilities and we were able to see even more than we expected. I had high expectations but Kuyima exceeded them.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Besides the 2 hr long washboard drive on a dirt rd from the town to the lagoon, it was totally worth it! Carlos, the camp manager is a wonderful , funny , talented man who runs a good camp. His wife Paula, is the head cook, (wonderful girl)and she along with Irma and Marichu(spelling?) prepare tasty meals. Our boat driver Gabriel , and our guide Maggie were awesome at getting us opportunities 3 out of the 4 times we went out to touch, pet and even kiss the awesome majestic whales, adults and newborn babies ( 12 weeks old) The cabanas were clean and adequate, as were the outhouses. This is not a luxury trip ,it is ecoturism, and Carlos will be happy to educate you about protecting the whales and their environment. All the people who work there live close by. Bring sunscreen, a windbreaker, you'll need them. I was happy to get to know the people there, they are a part of my most awesome experience of my life!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goosemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#52 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 3 in Puerto San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoturismo Kuyima S.P.R. de R.L.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoturismo Kuyima S.P.R. de R.L.

Property: Ecoturismo Kuyima S.P.R. de R.L.
Address: Jose Maria Morelos #2 oriente | esq. Miguel Hidalgo, Zona Centro, San Ignacio BCS 23930, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ecoturismo Kuyima Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing