We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb location. Lovely chalet let down by poor...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Branscombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ballish
1 review
“Superb location. Lovely chalet let down by poor cleanliness upon arrival.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

An amazing holiday in an incredible location. Our only quibble was the cleanliness of the chalet upon arrival. Other than that, it was a brilliant adventure for the whole family. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that the chalet was not as clean as it should have been on your arrival. We are only a few minutes away from the beach and would happily have come straight down and rectified things if you had contacted us. Hopefully this won't have spoilt your enjoyment of this magical location and the fabulous weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Mr and Mrs”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Such a wonderful place, perfect chalet with all you need and enough space to lounge in whilst looking out at the stunning sea view. The walks and the sunsets are fantastic and you experience complete bliss here. Can't rate it highly enough. Love Wagtail!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your fantastic review - we think it's pretty special too! Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithmedh...
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
“A different world”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2014

Wagtail is a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Tucked away under the cliffs adjacent to the beach, you find yourself in a different world. The younger children loved searching for unusual pebbles before breakfast, we all enjoyed the walks in all directions during the day, and there are two pubs less than an hour's stagger away for those who want an evening of Devonshire culture. The roads to get there are very narrow and winding, and the waves just keep on rolling in, all night long, which really adds to the atmosphere and cosines of the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: If we'd wanted wifi, we might have found it to be a little slow - the location is remote
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Wagtail Chalet on Branscombe beach and we hope you will come back and stay again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisepas...
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning place to relax and explore-we love it here!”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wagtail is our favourite place to go on holiday in England! We have been many times and love it more each time we come. My 16 year old loved it as much as the 4 year old did (apart from the sketchy wifi-but I see this as a good thing!), and my girlfriends who came for just a night regretted not staying longer.
We love the views and the fact you wake up to the sound of the sea-this was magical for my 4 year old. It is cosy and has everything you might need. Its always been lovely and clean and really welcoming and we loved the special touch this time of a tea tray complete with choc biscuits laid out ready for us! Thank you for a much needed break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback - Branscombe Beach is a stunning place to stay and the perfect 'get away from it all' location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just R
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little Chalet just feet from the beach.”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Gorgeous wooden chalet, just feet from the beach..Woke up to waves each morning and looked up at the Milky Way each nite, just amazing..Lots of lovely seaside towns nearby to wander around in, Beer and Seaton were great..Chalet was fully equipped with all that we needed, but no shops close by, so bring milk and munchies in case you get caught out..Local pub Masons Arms, great food but they stop serving at 9pm, so get in early..All in all, a great little gem, right on the beach, what more could you ask for?..We loved it and would def recommend to friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the sea every day
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review which will be very helpful for future guests. So glad you enjoyed our little corner of East Devon. Watching the Milky Way at night and waking up to the sound of the sea - sounds like heaven!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing