We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Masons Arms, Branscombe”
Review of Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masons Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in the Masons Arms for two nights recently. Parking at the Inn was easy and we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a large four poster bed. Usually we don't like being away from the main building but this time we loved it as we were in a terrace of very attractive cottages with our own little terrace where we could sit and enjoy the lovely gardens and views of the surrounding hills. Branscombe is a very peaceful and pretty village and the walk to the beach only took about 15 minutes. We ate in the restaurant both nights where we were served good food by friendly staff. Very good breakfasts too. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace, more expensive but really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 653 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in cottage room 4, which was delightful; both it and the very comfortable bathroom overlooking the garden. Everyone in the hotel was cheerful and friendly and helpful, lovely to sit outside the cottages and enjoy morning sun and evening sun (with a glass of champagne to hand....). Breakfast was excellent, strong coffee and perfectly poached eggs; and dinner absolutely fine, again, charming and efficient service, even when clearly very busy.

I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent two nights here and our room was not that big but was quite comfortable. Out son's room in the main hotel was much larger but was over the bar so noisier while it was open. Our room was very quiet as it is in a newer building. There is ample parking and staff are friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant each night and the meals were very good though not that cheap. The village itself is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived on a boiling hot day with a cranky and hungry 1 year old and 3 year old. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The specials menu and lunch menu had lots of choice and were reasonably priced. I had a crab ploughmans which was stunningly presented and was divine! Couldn't rate highly enough and will be back. Only downside was no baby changing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The bar has a good atmosphere, well furnished with a log fire (on a dank July afternoon) and the staff are welcoming. But at £10.95 for a crab sandwich (50% over the average local price) we expected something a bit special. It had a ritual small salad and cole slaw beside it, but the crab was in slightly short supply. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alastair r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed two nights at The Masons Arms. Beautiful location in very well-kept village. We had a Classic Room which was over the bar and looked out onto the front of the hotel. The room was pretty and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable King size bed and nice bed-linen. Soap, shampoo, body lotion etc in large bottles in the up-to-date bathroom and a tray with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and bottled water in the room. Thank goodness we had reserved a table in the bar as the restaurant and bar tables were full each night. Menu was good with ample choice of dishes and the food was hot and delicious. Staff were polite and helpful at dinner and breakfast and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and happy. Pretty 10 minute walk through fields to a pebble beach with a number of well-marked walks in various directions. A gorgeous place to stay; well-run, well-staffed and well-maintained, can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We thought our room over the bar might get some noise but no problem and we slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me-by-the-sea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited the Mason's Arms last Friday as we had met up with a friend who was staying in Sidmouth and it was half way between us. We were at Monkton Wylde caravan site and fortuneately on the Thursday had a 'trial run' so we knew where we were going and also so we could book a table for friday. What a surprise we had when we had negotiated the windy, hilly road into Branscombe. We sat outside on thursday and had a drink and were both surprised how peaceful the village was. On Friday we had a beautiful meal -the three of us could only manage starter and main course but we asked for a 'floater' coffee - the waitress seemed a bit puzzled by our request and asked if it was like an 'Irish' coffee witout the Irish which made us smile. All the staff who served us were very pleasant. This little village is somewhere we have wanted to go for a while as being followers of Show of Hands were intrigued by their song 'Napoli' and wanted to see where it all happened ! It is now on our list to return to next time we are in the area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoventryKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branscombe
5.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
3.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
199 reviews
5.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
955 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Address: Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Price Range: $118 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain's most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, The Masons Arms. This charming thatched Inn dates back to 1350 - a cider house turned country pub - and the men who cut the stone for Exeter Cathedral drank here, hence the name. With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset's Jurassic Coast. The authentic interiors ooze character with timber frames, low beamed ceilings, pine cladding, whitewashed walls and a huge roaring log fire. Our award winning Restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings. The Masons Arms kitchen brigade are dedicated to sourcing the very best of local Dartmoor produce. The cooking is classy yet simple, perfect for a special meal or relaxing Country lunch. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world. The 21 bedrooms at the Masons Arms Branscombe, are cosy, stylish and inviting, blending comfort with character. The Masons Arms has been awarded a FOUR STAR rating under the Inn category by Quality in Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Branscombe
Masons Arms Sidmouth
Masons Arms Hotel Sidmouth
Masons Arms Branscombe, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing