We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Location”
Review of Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Masons Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you want to chill out just stay at the Masons Arms for a few nights. This lovely public house is in one of the most peaceful locations that I have ever visited on my travels. The village where it is situated is small, and just a walk away is the most marvellous beach with its own restaurant. If beaches are not to your taste, take a walk in the surrounding countryside where wildlife is abundant and paths are maintained to take pushchairs if you have children.
The hotel itself has a separate location within the grounds with a row of quaint cottages set with outside seating amongst amazing flower beds. The cottages are up a set of steps so that you have commanding views from your room of the surrounding countryside, or you can stay in the main hotel itself.
The food is amazing, some of the best meals that I have had on my travels have come from the Masons Arms.
My advice is just try it, I am sure you go back there, I do!

Room Tip: Book early and choose one of the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 686 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the masons arms on the 28th July and loved it !
The location of branscombe is very pretty with great walks for humans and our four legged friends
As a pet friendly hotel, all the staff were very accommodating to our dog, and we were made to feel very welcome.
The food was of an excellent standard and the beer selection was great.
The accommodation was of a high standard and the rooms had all the facilities that you would need
We will definitely return !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Penni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent a day and a night at the Mason' s Arms and really enjoyed it. Had lunch in the sun on the front patio. Good fresh food. I had a ham ploughman's, which came with a very tasty, crusty artisan bread and a good relish. Dinner was equally enjoyable, as was the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs I had for breakfast. Because of a cancellation we were upgraded to a very comfortable, reasonably sized double room. The decor looked new, and the room was clean. The location is very picturesque, and we were lucky to be there on a bright sunny day. The place was busy, but the service was good and the staff were all very friendly and professional. All in all I'm happy to recommend the Mason' s Arms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent one night at the masons arms, and would definitely return again. The room was large, comfortable and clean, and the pub clean and traditional. We had a meal in the restaurant which was wonderful. Nothing bad to say about the masons arms, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyDay4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was staying in Branscombe and tried the masons Arms evening and lunchtime and enjoyed both.

The food was good and the staff excellent but felt the menu a little limited.

Would recommend the local beer, of which I had a number. I believe it was called 'Summa That' and brewed in the village.

To me lunchtime seemed more relaxed and friendly but maybe that was me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian_L_12975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wow what an experience!.
Absolutely faultless and the attention to detail was exemplary from the phone offer to cook a vegetarian meal of my choice (and even coming to me to see if it was as I liked it) to the provision of two spoons for our dessert when they overheard that we were sharing one course.
The Otter beer is not one of my favourites But it was truly excellent, shame they had run out of the local micro brewery beer (Branscombe's) but there was a beer festival just up the road so understandable, we will return to sample that.
When we phoned up the morning of our visit to book a room they were unfortunately fullly booked they recommended The Great Seaside B+B, 500 yds away, a National Trust property run by Amanda whose husband runs the local bakery, and again we were blown away by our time there. excellent.
It was one of the best eating experiences we have ever had and we just thought it was just a village pub! how wrong we were.
Just do not understand where reviewer Henry H is coming from

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank warwick9452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff that work in the masons are very helpful especially chelsea and charlotte who gave us advice on the local area and various attractions much appreciated . The masons is a lot more lively than the bull stone hotel were we previously stayed ,we have seen improvements every time we have stayed at the masons so the new mangers must be doing a good job we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branscombe
1.6 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
373 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
395 reviews
3.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
479 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
449 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Address: Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Price Range: $91 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain's most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, The Masons Arms. This charming thatched Inn dates back to 1350 - a cider house turned country pub - and the men who cut the stone for Exeter Cathedral drank here, hence the name. With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset's Jurassic Coast. The authentic interiors ooze character with timber frames, low beamed ceilings, pine cladding, whitewashed walls and a huge roaring log fire. Our award winning Restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings. The Masons Arms kitchen brigade are dedicated to sourcing the very best of local Dartmoor produce. The cooking is classy yet simple, perfect for a special meal or relaxing Country lunch. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world. The 21 bedrooms at the Masons Arms Branscombe, are cosy, stylish and inviting, blending comfort with character. The Masons Arms has been awarded a FOUR STAR rating under the Inn category by Quality in Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Branscombe
Masons Arms Sidmouth
Masons Arms Hotel Sidmouth
Masons Arms Branscombe, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing