We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming pub”
Review of Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masons Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked in for 3 nights as we were wanting to do walking on South west coast path. When booking we noted check in time was from 15.00 so we e-mailed to ask if we could arrive early , leave our car in car park, do our walk to Seaton and back and then check-in. E-mail from pub came back quickly to advise that we could certainly do that. large car park at the pub so plenty of space for everyone. Young lady on Check-in was delightful, professional and very welcoming. showed us to our room and offered to help with luggage. we had booked a small room but it was fine for our needs, clean, good hospitality tray, lovely toiletries in bathroom, big towels, mini bath/shower fine for us. Bed maybe a tad firm for our liking but a minor detail. we had booked a table for our meal and enjoyed the most delicious roast pork dinner and subsequent dinners were also very good. Breakfast was delicious, lovely sausages and good bubble and squeak. good selection of cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit, croissants, cold meats and cheese as well as cooked options including a good vegetarian cooked breakfast. All staff polite, attentive and professional. lovely bar with real ales some very local, roaring log fire, no noisy juke box or pool table but a typical olde worlde village pub where people meet, eat, drink and play cards. a very friendly, peaceful ambience in the bar and in the village as a whole. Cottage rooms can be £180 a night but our smaller double en-suite found on line was only £60 reduced from £80 a night so we bagged a bargain in a most charming pub.

Room Tip: try online boking to find last minute late room prices. some rooms are over the bar and kitchen but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buntyTestValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 666 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We decided to stay at the Masons Arms en route to visit family in Devon. Despite not knowing much about the hotel and the fact that all local B&Bs seemed to be booked up, we booked our Brandscombe stay at the Masons Arms. On telling friends and family, the Mason's Arms was well known as a little gem in Brandscombe, and they were right. We were given the option of a cottage or hotel room (we opted for cottage) and we also booked a table in the pub for dinner. After an afternoon stroll upon the local (but still quite a trek so we drove) beach, we returned to each dinner at the pub. Service was fabulous and so was the food. A comfy nights stay in the hotel and a huge breakfast later we left Brandscombe very happy customers. My only negative is that upon check out, there were two ladies on reception, and one was serving a very chatty man, whilst the other completely ignored us and then left. It wouldn't have taken much to take our keys quickly so slightly disappointed by this rudeness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSinger88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having stayed at the Masons several times previously and felt it to be an excellent experience (the last being in 2010) I felt compelled to write this review as the standards of the hotel had dropped severely since our previous visit.
With 5 children, we do not get the opportunity to get away so such trips are coverted. This combounds the disappointment of our recent trip.
The bar - Upon arrival, we ordered sandwiches and drinks and having paid and found our seats, we were then informed that there was only enough crab for one of the the sandwiches. The sandwich came, but no one come with the refund for the non delivered sandwich. I approached the bar and explained. The man went away and came back and asked for the outstanding amount...again.
The room - the room was lovely (as we knew it would be having stayed in it before), but unlike last time, the curtain rail was down, the light bulbs in the bed side table did not work and worst of all, there were no towels provided in the bathroom.
The reception staff - I went down to reception to explain the issues. The person behind the reception was checking someone in, so I was prepared to wait in line. She then walked out of reception with the other people and didn't acknowledge my being there. I didn't want her to drop everything, but I would have expected either "I'll be with you in a moment" or "I'll call someone to see to you" - nothing. I wondered whether I was invisible!! The issues were resolved and a bottle of fizzy wine was offered upon our return to the room. A nice touch, but it did start the break off on the wrong footing.
Upon check out, luckily I checked the bill as drinks had been added to my tab from the night before that I had not ordered.
All of this may on the surface may appear petty, but a) it is not something you expect when you pay over £470 for a 2 night stay! and b) it is such a shame that the standards have dropped since our previous visit. I hope this is a one off and not a trend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in a top price 4 poster room in the row of cottages and were pleased with the room, and the location is beautiful. The pub is fine, but the restaurant itself and the food was a little below the standard we would have hoped for.

Room Tip: In the row of cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here. We were looking for a quiet weekend, somewhere with a decent bar and restaurant. We were not disappointed, the Mason's Arms has both. The staff were very polite and efficient in both the bar and the restaurant. They tell you where they source all their food and if you don't want to eat in the main restaurant you can have the same menu served in the bar. Very popular with the locals and a really friendly atmosphere. Our room was large and well appointed.Although the hotel is part of a chain it felt much more like a privately owned business due to the excellent attitude of the staff. All this together with roaring log fires, beams and flagstone floors - great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandSEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I had our wedding breakfast and reception here last weekend and it was the perfect day. Impeccable service, beautiful rooms and exceptional food. Helen was incredible from the minute we inquired about having our wedding here last year until the minute we left, nothing was too much for her. We really felt that she cared as much as we did that everything went smoothly. On the day itself the rest of the staff were great too. There was genuinely not a thing that they could have done any better! Thanks for helping us have the most special day of our lives!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just this minute got home from the most wonderful weekend at The Masons Arms. We went as part of a wedding party and could not believe how brilliant the team at the Masons were in ensuring that every detail was taken care of. Shortly after we arrived, we were ushered from the bar to the wedding reception by staff with umbrellas at the ready... our tables were each served so that EVERY person was given their meal at the same time. The food was spectacular! And nothing was too much.

We stayed in the family room (num. 23) and could not have faulted it. It was clean, quiet, very spacious and super comfortable. The adjoining room with two single beds was perfect as we shared with a friend and the bathroom- huge with both a large bath and powerful shower.

I would certainly stay here again and would jump to recommend it to anyone who is looking for a special, intimate wedding venue. Thank you to everyone front of house (especially Helen) and behind the scenes- very impressive service!

Room Tip: Everyone seemed chuffed with their rooms but 23 would be perfect for those anyone with children, tee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHowlett04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branscombe
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
473 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
203 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
300 reviews
6.9 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Address: Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Price Range: $109 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain's most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, The Masons Arms. This charming thatched Inn dates back to 1350 - a cider house turned country pub - and the men who cut the stone for Exeter Cathedral drank here, hence the name. With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset's Jurassic Coast. The authentic interiors ooze character with timber frames, low beamed ceilings, pine cladding, whitewashed walls and a huge roaring log fire. Our award winning Restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings. The Masons Arms kitchen brigade are dedicated to sourcing the very best of local Dartmoor produce. The cooking is classy yet simple, perfect for a special meal or relaxing Country lunch. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world. The 21 bedrooms at the Masons Arms Branscombe, are cosy, stylish and inviting, blending comfort with character. The Masons Arms has been awarded a FOUR STAR rating under the Inn category by Quality in Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Branscombe
Masons Arms Sidmouth
Masons Arms Hotel Sidmouth
Masons Arms Branscombe, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing