We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masons Arms
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
344
213
86
45
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
213
86
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcottage roomst austell brewerybranscombe beachthe cottagesmusselsnarrow country laneslog firepretty villagepassing placesmain buildingbar menubeautiful villageeast devoncar parkshort walk to the beachbooked a table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 700 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here with my teenage children, parents and dogs. We had four rooms, two of which allowed dogs. Three of the rooms were large, comfy and had great bathrooms, the forth was too small and was very overpriced.
The breakfast on the first day was cold and you had to keep asking for basic items such as honey or butter. Also the restaurant needs a decor update.
The rooms were cleaned very well and the staff were very friendly.
The location is great as it was only a ten minute walk to the shingle beach which is beautiful. And overall it was a lovely break just very expensive for what you get!

Room Tip: 4, 5 or 11 are lovely rooms
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were a party of 8 on a golf trip and staying 3 nights.

We all had single rooms at the Masons Arms and ate there 2 nights - once in the bar and once in the restaurant. My room was fairly basic but I have to say that it was fine - the main thing was that the bed was very comfortable and there was a decent shower and bath. One of my colleagues stayed in one of the cottages and these seem to be slightly more 'deluxe'.

Most of us are rather keen in our food and wine and we were impressed. The quality of the food was good and we particularly enjoyed some of the sharing plates - the crab and the beef for instance. We also found the service very good - one lady in particular looked after us very well (can't quite remember her name but the last night of our trip was her last night too as she would be leaving during the 'winter' season). She coped admirably with the 8 of us, was efficient and had a good sense of humour.

We enjoyed our bar drinks too - getting to know the other staff - and the beers are excellent ( try the Branoc from the Branscombe brewery).

Hearty breakfasts too and, again, even with 8 people they managed to cope with our all slightly different orders.

Would recommend to others - also a quick walk from the beach, which is a good walk to do pre or post breakfast

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night and overall opinion was 'not very good'. This place is definitely beautiful and charming on the outside. The rooms are small which I don't mind (although some would mind it as they really are tiny), clean and the staff were friendly and polite. However the food and service were not at all good. We were a party of ten and for each course we waited a very long time - I expected the restaurant to be full but there was only another 2 parties of 4 or so that were in the restaurant that night. My game pie was too rich and the veg arrived a good ten minutes later. The crab pate was good but that was the only decent starter out of about 8 or so I tried around the table. The fish and chips came with more batter than anything else. One of the 'hot' puddings arrived frozen. The seafood overall was not fresh and did not taste as if it had been caught that morning or even the previous one. The breakfast 'kipper' I ordered was in fact mackerel and tasted as if it had been purchased at tescos. I agree with other reviewers that this place is trading on its looks as far as food is concerned. The rooms were fine, the food was very very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This beautifully hidden little gem has been home to us now on two occasions and at different times of the year. The accommodation, hospitality and service was excellent , a superb base to explore the Jurassic coast, towns and villages.
The bar is well stocked, the local ale fantastic, the menu diverse and plentiful. Walks from the hotel either up onto the coastal path or across country are well mapped and sometimes challenging due to the hilly terrain but the views across the valley or down the coast are breathtaking.The village is quaint, the hotel, brewery, coastal beach cafe/shop and the post office along with the fountain head pub at the top of the village is really all there is along with the church, village hall and National trust forge, but it is certainly one of the most stunning villages in Devon.

Room Tip: avoid the room directly over the kitchen but all other rooms very good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helmets69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Last Saturday myself, my husband, and our two friends visited The Masons Arms for a second time. This time, we were not staying there but nearby, and had booked after a lovely stay in April. We were not disappointed we had returned! We had a lovely welcome by TJ who looked after us very well all evening quietly and efficiently in a relaxed and friendly manner. The waiter and waitress were polite and helpful too. The meals were delicious - I ordered the squid which proved a popular choice and also the pan fried hake with a lemon cream sauce and leeks, on crushed potatoes. Again, this was an excellent choice. In fact, all of the meals ordered were lovely. After finishing our meal in the cosy restaurant we went to the main bar for drinks and to enjoy the Saturday evening atmosphere. The pub/restaurant itself is warm and inviting and we really wish there was an equivalent of this near to our own home. Thank you again to everyone at The Masons Arms for a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank antandjulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews