We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bulstone Hotel

The Bulstone Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Branscombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bulstone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Bexhill East Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The extremely friendly proprietors, Judith and Kevin, made us all feel very comfortable in their spacious, clean hotel. Every room is a suite including a second room for children. Communally there is a lovely lounge, a sun room, a garden, a very large indoor childrens' play area with nice seating for the adults and brilliant toys. We have now stayed twice, once just my husband and myself, the second time with the family, 16 in all. On both occasions the owners couldn't do enough for us. Any desires the customer has, they try to satisfy and they are very happy to chat on the phone beforehand to discuss wishes.
The food is always fresh, Judith's cooking is excellent and varied, served in a very pleasant dining room. Neither the breakfasts nor the dinners could be faulted- copious and delicious, though the vegetables tended to be underdone, never overcooked.
The children were in their element playing, at 5pm they can have their special dinner whilst the adults enjoy tea/coffee and cakes. We found they then all slept very well, allowing the parents to also! Baby monitors in the rooms meant that parents could relax.
In walking distance is a pub and the airfield. The roads are very very narrow so quite difficult for buggies or small children, but in Branscombe village there is plentiful parking.
We found very minor problems in the rooms (a creaky headboard or a wobbly loo seat), as one might have at home. Do not expect a 5* modern hotel but a warm happy home in which you can feel very comfortable, private, alone or convivial with Judith and Kevin.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel experience, especially if you have children.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar but have a different combination of beds/bunks in the childrens' room , so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mare-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, whilst only one night you get a sense of the relaxed atmoshpere. Our daughter is two and had lots of fun in the playroom along with other children staying at the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice, but my husband would have preferred a bit more choice for the cooked offerings but only because we missed the options that you needed to order in advance.
It was very clean and comfortable and the staff/owners were very nice.
Would and have recommended it to friends and family.
Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoofoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel was recommended by some friends who are neighbours of Judith and Kevin's, due to the locality to their farm, and we were pleased with our choice.

We felt very welcomed by both Judith and Kevin, and our room was far larger than we needed (we had one of the well appointed family suites and there was only two of us), but was lovely all the same!

We noticed that there was an issue with the hot water tap in the bathroom upon arrival, so we told Kevin before we popped down to see our friends and he had it fixed by the time we returned a few hours later!

Breakfast was lovely, and it was clear that Judith takes huge pride in cooking for her guests, and couldn't do enough to make sure that we had everything that we wanted/needed. Having looked at the dinner menu, I think that we both would have been very happy to have stayed over for dinner, but we had so much going on whilst we were there, we never really had the opportunity.

I don't really understand the very negative reviews on here! Admittedly, the hotel was not the best I have stayed in, but I have stayed in some very nice hotels in my life! It was clean, friendly, comfortable and was exactly what we expected. We would certainly consider a repeat stay when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here with our son who is nearly 3, and he didn't want to leave. The indoor playroom is as well-equipped as any nursery, and the garden is big and perfect for running off some energy. It was also fantastic to have a separate room for our son to sleep in, at a price that didn't break the bank. Also loved being able to have dinner in peace when he was asleep. The couple who run this hotel are very welcoming and accommodating, and when it comes to kids they have thought of everything, right down to the steriliser, bibs and bottle of whole milk they keep in the guest kitchen.
Don't come here with big-city ways expecting posh toiletries and bath robes, but if you want somewhere in a beautiful location, which is clean, and where you can relax and not worry about your kids being kids, then this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostgirlBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great location and staff ,very peaceful , large family room for kids if needed 7 suite rooms many on ground floor , no steps , my parents both in 80s loved it . Food excellent choice of menu and fresh produce like kippers if wanted for breakfast , lovey family hotel and lots of not-so well known-devon to explore ,a very relaxing break for young or older !

Room Tip: all rooms to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombofkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st Jean de Monts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at Bulstone in 2011 just as a couple and would recommend it to friends.
We had a two bedroomed suite and this was clean and comfortable with good furniture and bed linen,having the extra space was ideal for storage but would be really good foranyone with children.
The bathroom was clean,the towels that were provided in large quantise were clean fluffy and changed every day.
Breakfast menu was very good,lots of choice and freshly cooked to order and alternatives to the usual full English were provided on request I had smoked fish.
Dinner was very good, with good ingredients , menu changed each day and good wine list from C Piper Wines,a local supplier.
As well as bedroom and dining room,there was plenty of public space inc 3 acres of grounds,and woodland for all to enjoy.
A lounge just for grown ups and a playroom for children as well as a library for mom and dad.
A TV romm for all, a kitchen for somewhere to make a picnic if you planned to spend the day on the beach.
On return to the Hotel,the beauty treatment was well worth the money before dinner.
We were also pleasantly surprised with the large and free car parking, and a laundry service ideal for us as we were touring the West Country as we booked on the net it was a lucky find and we have and would recommend it to friends and family with or without children.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecile l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We spent a weekend at The Bulstone in February 2012 and had a great time!
The rooms where clean, the play room was great and the food was absolutely delicious! Even fresh milk was provided in the seperate kitchen and fruit was offered the whole day! Would certainly recommend it to every family with little kids who needs a break and likes to get pampered!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCFMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branscombe
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulstone Hotel

Property: The Bulstone Hotel
Address: Higher Bulstone, Branscombe EX12 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bulstone Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bulstone Hotel Sidmouth
The Bulstone Hotel Branscombe, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing