We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen better days I'm sure ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Mountsorrel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Swan Inn freehouse is a traditional 17th century inn on the banks of the River Soar serving cask-conditioned real ales and exceptional food. AA four star luxury accommodation and winner of CAMRA Best Village Pub in North Leicestershire 2007.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Seen better days I'm sure ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Dank - small choice of beers - bar looked dirty - garden had dirty tables & chairs - not welcoming at all - had one then left - disappointed after reading good reviews on this site

Helpful?
1 Thank Romfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunny day stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Walked along the river to Mountsorrel, and stopped at The Swan Inn for lunch, beef burgers are homemade and beautiful, and potato wedges are lovely. Nice quiet spot in the garden on a sunny day, will definitely be going again!!! Made to feel welcome, Thank you

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Swan with a group of friends for a meal, a catch up and to unwind after another busy week.
You could easily pass the Swan without seeing it, if you do see it make a point of visiting. Great food, good selection of beers and friendly welcoming staff made this a place we will revisit again.
Tips - the car park is small and accessed through an archway, if you're not confident when reversing don't pull in!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“regulars for 5 years....but having to move our local as we have children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We've always popped down to the very nice Swan in the summer evenings with our growing family and have in the past, sat out in the garden with friends (also with kids) until almost closing time (kiddies asleep in buggies etc). We popped down again this week to be told that we only had 30 mins to drink our drinks as kids are now no longer welcome past 8, even in the garden unless you are having dinner. I've seen a previous review after which the pub states that this is a 23 year old rule - but after being summer customers with kids for 6 years, this is news to us. We have always alternated this pub and another in Rothley but now have no choice but to aim for Rothley in the future. It's obviously up to the management team which client groups they are aiming at, but having mentioned this rule to a few of the local families today (ho were also unaware of it), we are all now heading south in the fine evenings and having to move our business. It doesn't come across as the policy of a family friendly establishment.

Lovely pub and we've had good times there - sad they're over.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sunseaker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This place really is great. Landlord and staff make you really welcome and the food and service is to the highest standards. The beer and wine are pretty good too. I would definatly recommend this pub!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing