We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant in charnwood area .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The restaurant at the mountsorrel

The restaurant at the mountsorrel
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Mountsorrel
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in charnwood area .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were told by friends that it was good, so tried it . from the moment you walk in you are made very welcome,the food is as good as any top class London restaurant but no more expensive than other local eateries. Brilliant chef, lovely waitress who could tell us about the menu, the room is well set out with plenty of room between tables and good decor, thankyou for a great night out will be back again soon......

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosh89, Manager at The restaurant at the mountsorrel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We would like to thank you for your excellent review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks

The Mountsorrel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed a delicious meal, portions were very generous and well cooked, all staff were very friendly and welcoming, I would highly recommend eating out here to anyone, and I know we certainly will again.

Helpful?
Thank Natts79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosh89, Manager at The restaurant at the mountsorrel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We would like to thank you for your great review and look forward to seeing you again

regards

josh and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Food, attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Ate here for a birthday celebration in a large group of 20.

An unexpected appetizer of goats cheese and olives on toasted bread was very nice.

Starter of soup with homemade bread, bread was delicious, its nice that the chef has gone to the extra work of making his own bread.

Main of Med Veg Risotto was lovely, really creamy with plenty of veg, only downside was, could have done with a bit more!!

Dessert - Cheese & Biscuits. What a portion! Nice selection of cheeses.

Overall our group all enjoyed their meals, the food is of a high quality and very tasty. The drinks are reasonably priced and all this in a lovely room.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRach456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We decided late on Saturday afternoon to go out for dinner locally. I went onto Trip Advisor to look for reviews of another village restaurant we hadn't yet visited, so I was surprised to see that our local guest house had recently opened it's restaurant to the public and that it had just been favourably reviewed by a friend of mine. I phoned at 6 and was booked for 6.30 ! We let ourselves in the front door and were greeted by a waitress who offered us the choice of a drink in the bar or to go straight to our table. We went into the small, cosy bar and perused the menu. We were then shown to a nice candle lit table by the window-although a upvc window, the original shutters have been stripped back and the curtains and décor are tasteful and in keeping with the period of the grand house. My only observation would be that the lighting is rather stark and would benefit from a dimmer switch to soften the glow of the elegant chandeliers. The food was lovely and piping hot. We were given an appetiser of bread and oil with olives-I would prefer a few peanuts or bar snacks personally, as the food portions are generous and my husband had more bread with the soup-a delicious home made vegetable one, which I sampled. My breaded mushrooms and dip, garnished with salad, were divine. My husband had a melt in the mouth lamb shank served with mash and vegetables. I had sirloin steak, cooked to perfection and served with pepper sauce, chips, salad and wonderful home made onion rings. Other items on the menu included salmon, sea bass, chicken dishes, pasta and some vegetarian choices. We had no room for dessert so we asked for the bill which, including 2 drinks from the bar and a large glass of wine, came to a very reasonable £54. The service throughout was excellent, very attentive staff, so we were happy to leave a tip. Several diners arrived while we were there, some who were resident and others not, so I don't think this place will stay a secret for long. We will certainly be going back soon and think it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were greeted at the door by the very welcoming Mike who showed us to the bar. When he found out we were local and I was only having a small glass of wine, because I was driving, he immediately offered to drive us home and leave our car there.
The bar atmosphere is relaxed and homely. The restaurant is beautiful! Classic and well designed. Josh, the Chef, is keen and knows his stuff! The food was lovely, and good portion sizes. Prices are reasonable with a good wine list.
Thank you for your kind hospitality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank postladyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The restaurant at the mountsorrel also viewed

Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
 
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
 

Been to The restaurant at the mountsorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing