We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food in Pleasant Setting”

The restaurant at the mountsorrel
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Mountsorrel
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good Food in Pleasant Setting”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good menu and well cooked food. Could perhaps be a little more simple and presented on plates rather than bowls.
Bar and waiting staff very attentive and efficient.
Pleasant well lit, nicely decorated restaurant and bar area.
The only downside was that the steaks a couple of us had were rather chewy. Starters and desserts very good. Cost about £30 per head for 3 courses with drinks from the bar - not wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaurant well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our group's reunion was absolutely lovely. The lounge/bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated and furnished and we were made very welcome by friendly and attentive staff and owners. Thought we might be a bit too noisy as there were 12 in the party but we were discreetly placed in an adjoining area to the main restaurant!! The table was spacious and well presented.
Plenty to choose from as the menu covered most tastes and the food was lovely. We were very taken with the food presentation and upmarket tableware. Even the coffee was served in sensible - sized cups! Compliments to Josh the chef for a very enjoyable meal. We all hope to visit again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Mountsorrel restaurant has only recently opened to non residents of the guesthouse and still maintains a homely, relaxed vibe. Food was fantastic and well priced, owners lovely and all staff attentive and friendly. Would definitely come back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Newcomer on the scene definitely worthy of patronage”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This guesthouse has expanded and refurbished its dining facilities and opened them to the general public. Chef/Manager Josh is very enthusiastic, highly competent and is keen to make the restaurant the best in the locality.
Four of us had a really enjoyable evening here. The food was hot, tasty, cooked on the premises and very professionally presented. We liked the provision of crisp white linen napkins - so much more impressive than paper ones.
The decor was outstanding and the service was friendly, knowledgeable and unobtrusive - we felt that our presence was valued.
The bill was very reasonable, and there is copious parking provision.
We shall certainly be returning and we have no hesitation in recommending Josh and his team to you for a very pleasing dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The restaurant at the mountsorrel also viewed

Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
 
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Quorn, Loughborough
 

Been to The restaurant at the mountsorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing