We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Franz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Franz
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pte Woods, MI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went to a wedding in this town, the groom recommended it & we decided to make this our home base. Close to the wedding in Sagrado, about an hour or less from Venice, Grado, Trieste, Duino & even Slovenia. The hotel staff were excellent. They were very helpful spoke English very well & went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed plus maps to the train station & other sites. The room included one of the best breakfast I have ever had anywhere. Scrambled eggs, thinly sliced ham, crusty breads, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, tomatoes, olives, cold cut meats, juices, coffee & more. The wait staff were excellent , friendly, & attentive. We ate there one night after a long day in Venice & had 2 different pasta that were very good. I saw one review that said rooms were smallish but ours was perfect. Our friends who booked later had one of the smaller room but it was still nice. so check it out before you move in. The hotel bar / lounge was great as a meeting place to have a glass of wine while waiting for others. As far as nothing in walking distance we found a fabulous pizzeria ( yeah I know pizza in Italy?) called Oro Café It was just down the street & it was so good my husband & I split one & then order another. But we were sorry- the table next ours ordered a calzoni...OMG I wish I had ordered that instead!

Room Tip: We had the Da Vino room which was excellent. Our friends booked later & their room was smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    112
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
85
249
19
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Excellent! The hotel was perfect for us. Very accommodating for all the wedding events. Great breakfast buffet and the rooms were very nice. Would highly recommend to anyone! Very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a great room for the 2 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is truly an amazing place; everything from our room to the food was superb. The staff was really friendly and very helpful, the service was quick and efficient. They speak English very well and some staff members even spoke Slovene, which was great for us. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you will get one overlooking the swimming pool area which is just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Being a Tripadvisor selected, top rated hotel, we came to Hotel Franz with high expectations and got disappointed. It is nothing else than an OK-ish roadside hotel

Pros:
- Nice garden with pool, great garden restaurant area
- Very kind service

Cons:
- The rooms are well equipped but feel smallish, the beds are too soft, the walls are wafer-thin
- The location is not memorable, on a road, nothing is in walking distance
- The food is mediocre - good for a normal country but really, this is Italy

Overall it can be OK (especially as not that expenive) but please, manage your expectations

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfranz, Direttore at Hotel Franz, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Miki D.
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor!
We very much appreciate your positive comment regarding our pool lounge and the garden area: we actually are the only hotel in our area offering breakfast, lunch and dinner on a garden terrace.
We are also very pleased in reading you appreciate the efforts of our staff in providing our guests the warmest welcome and the most attentive service: this is not only a part of our job but the essence of it!
About your "Cons": we're sorry about your disappointment regarding the 16 sqm size of the"Delicato" rooms you choosed for you and your children. Please give us a second chance and, since you're travelling with 3 childs, try our 25 sqm size "Divino" rooms. I'm pretty sure you'll love the space and the pool view they provide!
We're also sorry you did not enjoy in your 1 night stay the pedestrian area of the historical town centre of Gradisca d'Isonzo wich is only 50 mt. away from our hotel. Maybe you've not been told from our staff about the 15th Century old venetian fortress that sorrounds the pedestrian area, the modern art gallery "Spazzapan", the regional winery "Serenissima", the bars/caffè, restaurants and pizzerie and the well known (see Tripadvisor) Osteria "Mulin Vecio". Sure, there are no shopping malls in our little Gradisca. Maybe our fault we did not provide you with our maps and suggestions....one more reason to visit us again, isn't it?
About our restaurant "Grape", please note we take really seriously all the negative responses about the food and beverage service: I noticed you ordered pasta with tomato sauce and pasta "arrabbiata" style (some of you had it twice, right?). This are yes very simple and classic italian dishes.....why not trying some of the creative fish based dishes or our tipical specialities offered on our "a la carte" menù next time?....Another reason to visit us again, I hope!

Thank you once again for your time, I really hope to get a second chance from you and your family. I'm sure we'll make you change your mind about the "cons"!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We followed Tripadvisor's suggestion for the area and stayed at the best rated hotel around Cormons. We were not disappointed. Very friendly staff who took an interest and were fluent in German, English and Italian. The room was modern, comfortable and clean, breakfast ample and delicious. We loved the pool area and the whole laid back lounge feeling the place exuded. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel Franz is consistent in providing a great hotel experience! This was our second stay here and again we are happy that we chose Hotel Franz. The cleanliness of the rooms, restaurant, bar, and lounge areas is superb. The management and staff do everything in their power to make you feel comfortable and enjoy your stay. The pool area is relaxing and very well kept. The breakfast buffet is truly wonderful. Just LOVE this hotel. I highly recommend Hotel Franz.

Room Tip: We like the Divino type which is somewhat larger than the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Franz in July 2013 on our second visit. It is a lovely hotel, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are stylish and comfortable and the pool is stunning. We were lucky to have fantastic weather and to eat breakfast and dinner on the terrace.
Gradisca is a lovely small town with stylish shops, bars and restaurants. We visited the Luigi Spazzapan Gallery of Contemporary Art which is a real treasure of modern art in a lovely old building.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again to hotel Franz.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gradisca d'Isonzo
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Al Ponte
Hotel Ristorante Al Ponte
#2 of 2 in Gradisca d'Isonzo
151 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Major
Hotel Major
#1 of 2 in Ronchi dei Legionari
278 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Gorizia Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
16.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
415 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Entourage - Palazzo Strassoldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franz

Property: Hotel Franz
Address: Viale Trieste 45, 34072 Gradisca d'Isonzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Gorizia > Gradisca d'Isonzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gradisca d'Isonzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franz 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing