We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Hotel Franz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Franz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thanks to all at the Hotel Franz for a most enjoyable stay. Our stay at your hotel exceeded all our expectations and from start to finish it was most enjoyable.

It was a pleasure to be looked after by such pleasant, attentive and professional staff.

We would hope to visit Gradisca and the Franz again and would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Franz to our friends.

A big thank you to all.

Ciao Leonard and Helen (Recent Irish visitors)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Franz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gradisca d'Isonzo is a small village close to the Italian border to Slovenja and only 30km by the sea (Monfalcone), Hotel Franz is a very good hotel in downtown of this village.
Passing by with the car you will not image that behind a almost invisible sign there is very good hotel.
Nice, modern, very good looking, clean with a very nice and polite staff.
It has a private and wide parking area, accesses for wheelchairs, nice new swimming pool and a restaurant with possiblity to have dinner in the outside garden by the pool.
Additionally, if you want to get out for dinner, just walk 5 mins and you could find the downtown with pedestrian area and a lot of nice restaurant where you can have good time.
To really want to make a remark, the bathroom was smelling of cigarette smoke, but this is not to blame the hotel owner if some customers are unpolite.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the rear part of the hotel, if the traffic noise, not a drama, anyway, bother you;
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Typ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice and clean room, good and friendly staff service and excellent breakfast!
Brakfast very varied, fresh fruit, cheese and ham are aplenty.
Friendly and nice atmosphere, you almost feel at home there ;)
Very nice location in a small town.
I love the Gradisca river which is located nearby.
Free carpark space and very good wi-fi.
Definitely to be recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed, as a party of four, for two nights in June 2013 (two double rooms with breakfast, category "soggiorno divino", about €100 per room and night). Although this modern hotel is located on a thoroughfare road, the rooms were quiet. They were well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Friendly reception staff. Ample and secure parking. Breakfast quality and selection were good. An added bonus was the outdoor swimming pool, with garden and gazebo. Free WiFi, fast and reliable. The town of Gradisca d'Isonzo is to be recommended not only for its location, ideal for excursions in the area, but also for its charming character. We did not try the hotel's own restaurant (which seemed a bit sober), but can recommend the widely acclaimed Lokanda Devetak in San Michele del Carso (about 5 km distance; get instructions before driving, as it might not be found in some navi maps) and the more modest Ristorante/Pizzeria Al Leon D'Oro, within walking distance in Gradisca's town centre, Via Marziano Giotti, opposite the Municipio.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel Franz is a fabulous, newly renovated , modern hotel in the center of Gradisca d'Isonzo.
(northeast Italy, in Friuli Venezia Giulia). Our room #212 was quiet, comfortable, providing ample space for two adults. We stayed there for four nights while visiting family at Easter. The bedroom and bathroom were impeccably clean, .... One of the cleanest hotels that I have ever seen ....really spotless, including the bar and breakfast room. The rooms have hardwood floors which we prefer because it is a much cleaner flooring compared to carpeting. This is essential if you have allergies. A large breakfast buffet, free parking, bottled water and soft drinks,in the room's minibar, are included in the price of the room. The management and staff are very professional with high standards, as well as being very helpful to its guests.
The location is perfect , just off the main highway, about an hour fromVenice, one half hour from Trieste, very close to Slovenia. This area has many, many vineyards which produce excellent local wines, both white and red. There are countless ancient ruins to see in the surrounding towns. A small supermarket, pharmacy, restaurants, and shops are just steps away.
I highly recommend Hotel Franz. It is truly exceptional !

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor facing the swimming pool, very relaxing and peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Superb business/leisure hotel, with its 3-stars delivering much further than most of Italian 4-star hotels. Hotel Franz is located 3-minutes walking from the pedestrian small but charming area of Gradisca d’Isonzo, only 15 minutes from Trieste airport and within 30-45 minutes (by car) of most of Friuli’s top attractions. There is a free parking area (roofless) on the street on the side of the hotel (follow the “P” signs in the main street), with direct access to the reception area from behind.

The hotel itself is a not new structure but clearly recently refurbished to very modern standards. Following any of the three entrances there is a nice reception area, some meeting rooms (we were there for a weekend and were used for congresses both Saturday and Sunday) and a restaurant (we didn’t try it) where breakfast is served. On the first floor there are the rooms and a fitness centre, which we thoroughly enjoyed and that had some very good fitness machines. Rooms (we had 2 of them) were extremely ample, super-modern and with all needed comfort amenities. Both double and single beds were ample and very comfortable. The toilet was again very recently refurbished and spotless, and had all toiletries you could expect from a 5-star hotel. Wifi was free and available throughout the whole hotel, with very good reception everywhere I tried it.

Buffet-style breakfast was superb, with a very wide choice of cold options and some hot ones, with plenty of regional “salumi” and cheeses (delicious) besides several different pastries and bread options. The wide choice of food and beverage was a big contrast to other Italian hotels, with different coffee/tea options available à-la-carte, and served in a bright and very ample restaurant. We also spotted a very big swimming pool, but we did not have a chance to enjoy it as it was snowing...

Last but not least, staff was extremely helpful and friendly at all times, and did not miss a chance to show its 5-star professionalism and give a hand with anything we might need (from providing umbrellas to the four of us to pointing us to the best restaurant options or directions for our trip). Congratulations to all of them.

Overall, a wonderful stay in a very modern hotel with everything you might need, with a top notch price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buduku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

modern and clean hotel , perfectly situated between Trieste and Venice . Very friendly staff . Nice restaurants in the area ! This hotel is still renovating , parking behind the hotel is free .
Very close to Slovenian border !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcusvandeputte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gradisca d'Isonzo
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Al Ponte
Hotel Ristorante Al Ponte
#2 of 2 in Gradisca d'Isonzo
160 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Major
Hotel Major
#1 of 2 in Ronchi dei Legionari
285 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Gorizia Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
16.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
419 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Entourage - Palazzo Strassoldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franz

Address: Viale Trieste 45, 34072 Gradisca d'Isonzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Gorizia > Gradisca d'Isonzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gradisca d'Isonzo
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franz 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing