We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location! You won't want to leave!”
Review of La Maillerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Busserolles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maillerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Busserolles B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at La Maillerie over the May bank holiday in gite La Cascade. I was not disappointed!
The location is stunning and set in the picturesque village of Busseroles.The waterfall is a captivating backdrop and the river weaves around the gites and is lined by beautiful Irises.Its hard to put the camera down! The welcome from the gite owners was warm and friendly, they live onsite, so nearby if you needed any help.

The gite has lots of character and period features and is well equiped with everything you might need.Comfy beds decent shower and all mod cons.There is a large balcony that overlooks the waterfall, perfect for sitting out with a glass of wine or having a BBQ.

There are woods behind the gite to explore and lots of interesting walks in every direction.The village has a great restaurant- they were having a Paella and concert evening while I was there, a bakery selling fresh out of the oven baguettes and a pretty park with a lake and tennis courts.

The weather was typical of a bank holiday so I didnt try out the pool but it was a good size, looked newly built and was positioned just up the hill so you have a relaxing view of the scenery all around.There is lots to do in the area - cycling, watersports, markets or have a drive down to Bergerac wine country.

Can't wait to return for a longer break.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
9  Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

we usually spend our visits in France in the south where it is normally warm and predictable. This time, on a friends recommendation we decided to try Busserolles and La Maillerie. It turned out to be a great choice. A little cooler then the south but so much greener and so much less crowded. The Maillerie is a beautiful small hotelery in a jewel of a setting. There is a small river running through the grounds, on the banks of which you can sit and enjoy the lovely woods around you. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable and the hosts a delight to spend time with. Busserolles is both scenic and charming, with plenty of places to enjoy a meal or shop for your own cooking. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

La Maillerie was such a special place for us on our trip through Italy and France this past spring. Quiet. Relaxing. Unassuming. Clean. It is definitely a destination spot or a place to call home while doing other excursions in France but the serenity will bring you back! Thank you L&T for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluzVoxAltadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Thank you so much Lisa for opening your beautiful home to us! Being a city boy, La Maillerie was a completely new and absolutely incredible experience for me! I sat solitary on a rock in front of the waterfall for hours but could have easily done it for days. The warmth and energy that surrounds La Maillerie is palpable and the serene landscape took me to a new level of escape and relaxation. I understand why you have chosen to make a life there! Thank you sharing this special place with us and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I wanted to relax, practice french and sight see, at my leisure and went to visit La Mallerie with a friend and her 5 year old daughter. Neither of us had any expectation of what the trip should be, and we whatever happened during out stay. Our Gite was beautiful and very comfortable, we found new things to explore and castles to see, things to do each daily, and the hostess gave us wonderful suggestions, directions, and advice about everything. We had wonderful meals each day and had a wonderful time. The location is gorgeous, peaceful, yet full of adventure if you are looking for that. I am going back this year, and can't wait to be there again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaLlanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed at La Maillerie with our two young children, during our Christmas break. La Maillerie is a magical place- from it's thick, green forest to it's running spring and yes, even the chickens! Our girls still talk about feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs. The proprietor, Lisa Carney was very informative, warm and welcoming. There is plenty to do, long walks, bike rides, local open markets, go-carting, great restaurants- even a bowling alley. The many memories that we have gathered during our stay, will last a lifetime. This is what France is all about to us. Once you stay at La Maillerie, you will be sure to return again. Definitely worth the trek from CDG!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaarntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend a week at La Maillerie in the springtime. It is a very warm, inviting place that makes you feel at home instantly. The facilities ("gites") are wonderful with fully equipped kitchens and bathrooms, lovely furnishings and a private patio. The proprietors are great. They will give you as much privacy or attention and assistance as you desire. They helped us plan several day trips, including to nearby markets (incredible!), a flower show in a charming medieval village, chateaux and other sites in the area. There are also lovely trails to walk or hike directly from the property itself (which has it's own stream and waterfall). I cannot think of a better place to spend a week (or more, hopefully) to relax, read, take photos, play, explore and, especially, eat. We cannot wait to return.

This is an easy place to get to from Paris. You can take the high-speed train (TGV) and be within striking distance in 2 quick hours. From there, it is probably best to rent a car so you can explore on your own, at your leisure. The trip from the train station - an easy 45 minutes - takes you through charming villages and beautiful countryside that gets you in the mood for the relaxing stay you'll have at La Maillerie. Since it's so easy to get to from Paris, planning your trip with a few days in the city and a week at bucolic La Maillerie, is an ideal vacation that gives you the best that France has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitzlobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maillerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maillerie

Address: 24360 Busserolles, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Busserolles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Busserolles
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing