We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusion fusion”

Coco Home Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Nong Khiaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, European
Restaurant details
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Confusion fusion”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant because it was owned by the Thai wife of the owner of our guest house. We were looking forward to some authentic Laos/Thai food, given the Thai owner. However, the menu was a confusion of Lao, Thai, French, German and other western food. And what we ordered was pretty ordinary. We had a BLT for lunch, which was a baguette with BLT and nothing more, as well as a Laos coffee which was terrible. And, on giving the restaurant a second chance for dinner, we had a very watery green chicken curry and an ok fish dish. It's a nice setting, and worth checking out if you want to see a movie or play a game of pool. But don't go for the food alone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Braziltraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    38
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
1 review
“Good restaurant with nice river- and mountain view”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I went to Coco Restaurant & Bar a couple times during my stay in Nong Khiaw. The restaurant serves delicious Western food like fresh, homemade burgers, as well as Thai (Green curry, Fried Basil, etc.) and Laos dishes (Laap,..). Everyday they show some movies upstairs. When you sit outside you have a great view on the river and the mountains around. The staff was friendly and the prices are OK. On my next trip to Nong Khiaw I will visit the restaurant again ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to spend an evening in Nong khiaw”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I found this to be the best place to spend a night out in town. It has great atmosphere, music,wifi and games.
The owner,Yao, makes a mean cocktail and speaks perfect english.
I came back the next morning for the big breakfast and it was the perfect way to prepare for a days trekking..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brocklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, great staff - perfect evening”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The place is just lovely, cosy athmosphere and the food was awesome. Great hosts as well - i can definitely recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Vegetarian???”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I asked for the vegetarian lasagne but they don't had it. Then i orderd the vegetarian pasta. They gave me pasta with meat and told me it wasn't meat. My boyfriend tasted the meat so they lied. Mistakes happen but they could be honest!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eveli3nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Home Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coco Home Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing