We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot to spend an evening in Nong khiaw”

Coco Home Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Nong Khiaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, European
Restaurant details
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to spend an evening in Nong khiaw”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I found this to be the best place to spend a night out in town. It has great atmosphere, music,wifi and games.
The owner,Yao, makes a mean cocktail and speaks perfect english.
I came back the next morning for the big breakfast and it was the perfect way to prepare for a days trekking..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brocklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, great staff - perfect evening”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The place is just lovely, cosy athmosphere and the food was awesome. Great hosts as well - i can definitely recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Vegetarian???”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I asked for the vegetarian lasagne but they don't had it. Then i orderd the vegetarian pasta. They gave me pasta with meat and told me it wasn't meat. My boyfriend tasted the meat so they lied. Mistakes happen but they could be honest!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eveli3nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great set spot let down by food and service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This restaurant stands out as the most stylish place in town. It is a great spot to sit and chill after a days adventuring, with wi-fi to keep you entertained if you tire of the view.

Just have a drink though as the food though is less than special. It gave me the feeling of a place where people cook first and foremost to make money, without any real love of food or cooking.

The red curry we had was the blandest i have ever eaten. I cant imagine how you make a red curry with less zing than butter chicken, but somehow they managed it. The chicken larb was also below average and the sticky rice was dry and hard. Our visit it was not helped by haphazard service that struggled with simple English and taking our order. Nice atmosphere though...just cross the bridge and eat at Deen's first :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Spot in Town”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

First place coming up from the boat landing, spectacular view over the Nam Ou RIver and mountains (come in the morning and watch the fog lift and sun come out!), good selection of Thai, Lao and Western Food (we had Chilli Con Carne and Lao Salad, both very good, also the Burgers looked great!), wide range of quality chill-out music playing, free wi-fi... a really nice place to spend a "gap day" writing emails, resting in one of the hammocks (they also advertise nightly movies, but none was shown on the day we were there)... All in all, we would say the best hangout in Nong Khiao!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaDvies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Home Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coco Home Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing