We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, didn't want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfairfechan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Platt's Farm Camping
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant, didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and shown to our pitches by Sam, one of the owners of the site. Pitching was a doddle, the ground was even and there was loads of space for each tent. The site was pretty secure with a couple of gates to get through. Showers were great, clean and hot. The chap who brought us our firewood each evening was friendly and told us a little bit about the history of the place.
The location was brilliant. 5 minutes walk from the beach, a bus-stop right outside the site which took you to llandudno in 20 minutes. Two convenience stores a couple of minutes away and several take aways. We tried the chippy and the indian, both were amazing.
One thing i would recommend doing is trying to get to the top of that mountain you can see with the little house on it, when you get up there you will find an amazing plateau where there used to be a graphite mine which gives you amazing views over the village and the seaside; well worth the hike if you're up to it as it is quite a tricky climb especially towards the top!
Absolutely no negative things to say really, it was a brilliant holiday!

Room Tip: the facilities are closer to the bigger field. which is where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilburrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very quite basic but clean site, friendly and helpful owner, we liked it because it was so quite wouldnt suit everyone, there is undercover washing up area and somewhere to sit if it rained, and it did rain!! The only tiny thing i would say my son met some other children and there was nowhere for them to play ball games without hitting a tent or car, but that will not put us comung again next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 47happycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Nice friendly camp site in llanfairfechan.it's in the centre of the village so shops and take aways are only a 2minute walk away.asda & tesco ten minute drive away.owners very friendly and helpful.2 showers 2toilets and a large sink to wash up which was ideal.plenty of wild animals and the odd buzzard to see.campsite was cleaned every day.looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderwall76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at Platts Farm for two nights in May 2011 and had a great time - the site has really spacious pitches clustered around an amazing grade two listed victorian farm. There is also loads of shelter for when the weather is poor, and the ability to have a roaring log fire in one of the cheap-as-chips fire baskets at the end of the day is fantastic. There are only 8 or so pitches which means you have to book early but also it's really quiet - apart from the morning birdsong!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brodhurste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This is a very friendly site. We were greeted with a smile and after having a chat with the owner it sounds like this was their first season. Also it sounds like there are great plans for this site so I expect year on year it will improve from what is already a good but basic site. Definitely one to watch that we hope to visit again. We particularly enjoyed being able to have a campfire to keep warm on September nights.

I think all the reviews so far have been fair. Your enjoyment of this site will all depend on your preferred camping experience. For us it felt a bit more like 'proper camping'.

Pros
- Excellent location
- Campfires (and wood to buy)
- Undercover areas in case of rain
- Cost
- Good for couples and groups

Cons
- Facilities currently look like a work in progress (but sounds like they are set to improve)
- Quite a few nettles to watch out for.
- No freezer
- Not so good for families wanting the easy stay-at-the-campsite experience



Location
- an excellent for a base to explore north Wales. And its 5 mins walk from a quiet sandy beach, fantastic! There isn't much in Lllanfaifechan but if you're in Wales you shouldn't just be wanting to stay at the site all day. Its right by the A55 taking you to all the places to visit in north Wales in quick time. Very close by is a co-op open till 10pm for all your needs and also a small cafe next to the site which is great for your morning cuppa and brekkie.

Facilities
- The facilities are basic but clean.
- There are two toilets and two showers. The loos are basically like outhouses so I wouldn't recommend this site if you are not a fan of spiders although we did not see any in there during our stay.
- The showers are chipboard walls but normal in the actual cubical and there are nice hot electric showers and a sink in each area.
- There was an undercover sink for washing up and recycling facilities. The only practical think that I think was missing is a freezer for freezer packs so it was UHT milk cups of tea and no fresh food. (but the cafe next door solved that problem for us)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My partner, his nine year old daughter, a friend of mine and me, all travelled up to this campsite which we'd found on the internet rather easily. Contact prior to going there was good: they called back to give info on the campsite, and listed facilities as they were on the website and were forthcoming with all information. The purpose of our trip was to attend a wedding nearby and have a bit of a camping holiday.
The site is great: it's a series of old farm buildings with small fields within them. There are also trees dotted around, from which we strung our camping hammocks. There are covered areas, such as old barns etc, which is good if it's raining because you can set up a fire or cook without getting all wet. The facilities are also good: toilets are kept clean. There are only two showers which might be a problem if the site is full, but it was fine for us, and there was at least 20 other people on the site.
One of the nicest things about the site is that they will sell you a pile of firewood for a small amount, and that lasts all evening. It makes for a nice evening every time.
The site is within 5 minute walking distance of two convenience stores (Co-Op and Spa) which is good for essentials. Nearby there is an Indian and a Chinese takeaway as well. There is also a Fish'n'Chips place, but its opening hours are quite restricted (closes at 8pm and once during the day).
The beach is about 10 minute walk away. There are two cafes on the beach, which are open on Sundays as well. The views are amazing.
All in all i would recommend this campsite to anyone. The owners are really friendly and helpful, the site is well equipped and safe, and within easy reach of shops and the beach. We were all really glad to have found it and stayed longer than anticipated because it was so nice.
Corinne

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinne_ranaraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The location is great and easily accessible but the campsite itself is basic at best. The area we camped in was next to an old silage storage area and the camping ground was unmanicured and lumpy. Not sure what was under the soil but whatever it was felt like concrete and in a couple of places we couldn't get the tent pegs in. Tried moving but still ended up with 2 tent pegs missing. It was also over run with nettles and I promptly got stung, even in the grass! The toilets were clean but very unappealing in old farm buildings and one of which was the old victorian type with the old cistern high above the toilet with a chain to pull and the old black seat. This one looked quite revolting to be honest and there is one small sink outside both toilets for use. The washrooms are basic with plain chipboard walls up to a certain height then bare brick but there was a small sink in each of the 2 washrooms. Can't comment on the showers themselves as we didn't feel inclined to use them. There was one metal sink outdoors near the washrooms wtih running hot water but when we arrived it was blocked with noodles! We had students camping next to us and I would say it is geared more for students than families, as it is cheap and very basic. There are no facilities other than the toilets and washrooms and nothing on site to amuse little ones, hence we cut short our 2 night stay and only stayed one night. Incidentally, it poured with rain the one night we stayed and I was kept awake by the rain pouring from the roof of the old silage shelter next to us. It's fine if you want a cheap, no frills, very very basic bit of field to pitch a tent on, but if you want modern toilets and washing facilities with other facilities or entertainment for children, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALouJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlattsFarmCamping, Owner at Platt's Farm Camping, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
We have been very busy over the winter and have dug up the camping area in Coed Field and removed all the boulders and stones and laid 425 sq metres of new turf. This gives a very nice level, rock free area for pitching tents. Please have a look at the Update page on our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfairfechan
6.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,080 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rhiwiau Guest House
Rhiwiau Guest House
#2 of 7 in Llanfairfechan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Min-y-Don Guest House
Min-y-Don Guest House
#1 of 7 in Llanfairfechan
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coed Y Gelli B&B
Coed Y Gelli B&B
#4 of 7 in Llanfairfechan
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Gladstone
The Gladstone
#1 of 1 in Dwygyfylchi
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platt's Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platt's Farm Camping

Property: Platt's Farm Camping
Address: Platts Farm Aber Road, Llanfairfechan LL33 0HL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanfairfechan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Llanfairfechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Platt's Farm Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Campsite with 11 tent pitches spaced out over 2 fields,one field with electric hook-ups available in a peaceful setting,close to a lovely beach. The campsite is located in North Wales in the grounds of Victorian Farm buildings and within easy walking distance of the beach, pubs, grocery stores, butcher, bakery, cash point and takeaways and only a short drive from the Snowdonia National Park.Bunkhouse with separate living room and bunk room which sleeps up to ten. Four ring cooker, microwave, kettle, fridge/freezer, toaster, TV and electric wood burner in living room. Heating is by electric storage heaters. All heating and lighting is included in the price. Pans, crockery and cutlery are provided. Fire alarm and emergency lights installed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing