We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for this!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rhiwiau Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This B&B was such an awesome find! We spent the first afternoon sitting out on the patio with the beautiful view of the sea in the sun with just each other and Ruth's pets for company.
The rooms look traditional but are clean. The view from the room windows wasn't much but since we hardly spent much time there, it was alright.
All in all a great place to be at!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidhiNidster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

If nothing else you need to stay here to enjoy the amazing views across the Menai Straits towards Beaumaris. Quaint and comfortable, we had tea and homemade Welsh cakes on arrival on the terrace in the sunshine and were able to enjoy the fantastic views. First class breakfast with a great vegetarian option with fresh fruit and great coffee. Ruth was a very welcoming and knowledgeable host. A hidden gem !

Room Tip: Caernarfon room had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarEffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just spend two nights at this lovely B&B without two children aged 11 and 3, plus our labrador.
The Rhiwiau is easy to find off the A55 with help from sat nav/map takes about 10 minutes.

The guest house is set into the hillside in a pretty, secluded spot. As well as the rooms and dining area, there are stables and a dog grooming parlour too.

We were warmly greeted by Ruth, to showed us to our room, the Harlech, which houses a double and twin room plus a toilet/shower room. The rooms were clean, cosy and comfortable.
Ruth kindly offered us tea, which was waiting for us on the patio along with juice for the children and some cake.
The breakfast choice was plentiful with cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt and of course a cooked breakfast.

The Rhiwiau proved a great base for exploring north Wales, with most attractions/beauty spots within easy reach.

We would like to thank Ruth for making us so welcome and for a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank RCKBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we look forward to welcoming you to Rhiwiau again. Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A beautiful spot, hidden away in the hills. My family stayed here for two nights on a recce to look at moving to North Wales. Ruth was extremely welcoming and very helpful. The kids (8mth and 2 yrs) were very well catered for and the room/suite was very clean and well laid out to accommodate us all. I would highly recommend this B&B for families with small children on a short break to North Wales. The view is stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomservicejunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again at Rhiwiau. Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, in the Conwy room. Very spacious, with a private little patio (alas, not the same great view from here). Room had everything you'd expect: wifi (free), wardrobe, tea/coffee, TV, hairdryer, etc. Bed was setup as a double, and very comfortable - we slept like babies. It helps that it's very quiet there, and probably that we were exhausted from all the touristing!

The owner/proprietor Ruth met us late on Fri night with a pot of tea and some bara brith - which was very gratefully received after the 5hr journey. Ruth has excellent recommendations on where to visit (we were kind of winging it!), and every one she mentioned was well worth our time. The breakfasts were varied, and nothing was too much trouble. We had full English, smoked salmon and poached eggs over the 3 mornings. All delicious. Plenty of fruit, cereals, etc. Fresh tea and coffee as well as local honey and jams/marmalades. Cannot fault it.

The guesthouse is a bit 'in the middle of nowhere' - and this was exactly perfect for us, and just what we wanted. There are walking routes nearby (we didn't try), and you're only 5mins from the A55 by car, so you're not stranded! But you probably won't be walking to a nearby pub (I could be wrong). What this means is it's very quiet, and the views are fantastic - from all around the lounge, dining room and the various 'perches' on which to sit outside on the (cushioned) chairs to soak them up. You can see over the hills, right down the valley and over the water to Beaumaris in the distance. In the evening, the sun was setting right down the middle, and we got some lovely photos. Gorgeous.

Only minor niggles were you cannot drink the tap water (but sealed, bottle water was waiting for us in the room for free upon arrival) and that the shower pressure wasn't great (it was lovely and hot though). These really are easily overlooked, and understandable given the location.

If you want something near nightlife/walking distance of towns, etc. then this is *not* the place for you. If you want a great base for exploring North Wales, or just a beautiful, quiet place to get away, then it is absolutely perfect for you. Oh, and you are within 20mins drive of most great places in area! We went all around with no problems.

Recommended, and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Conwy room furthest from others - less likely to be disturbed by other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeveloperDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again. Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ruth was very welcoming, great breakfast, lovely clean room, amazing views. Really enjoyed our stay here. It was very relaxing. Will certainly re visit. Having recently moved back from New Zealand, we spent our days looking around nearby castles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jones1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you to Rhiwiau again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed a night en-(walking)route from Holywell - Bardsey Island (North Wales Pilgrims Way) & Ruth couldn't have been more helpful - ideally situated for our route, great accommodation, & great evening meal and breakfast (& special treatment as it was our wedding anniversary!) - Thank you Ruth.
Phil & Patrice

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we do hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfairfechan
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
8.4 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
5.8 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,038 reviews
13.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhiwiau Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhiwiau Guest House

Address: Off Ffordd Gwyllt, Llanfairfechan LL33 0EH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanfairfechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfairfechan
Price Range: $94 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhiwiau Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhiwiau is ideally situated 600 feet up in a secluded valley with mountains to the rear, panoramic views overlooking the Menai Straits and Isle of Anglesey and less than 5 minutes from the A55! We have been family owned and run since 1972. Rhiwiau always offers a warm welcome and a happy relaxed atmosphere as the many return guests confirm. We are ideally located for exploring North Wales. We are approx. 20 mins from Zipworld and 35 mins from Surf Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rhiwiau Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing