We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, quiet & picturesque location and helpful & friendly proprietors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhiwiau Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, in the Conwy room. Very spacious, with a private little patio (alas, not the same great view from here). Room had everything you'd expect: wifi (free), wardrobe, tea/coffee, TV, hairdryer, etc. Bed was setup as a double, and very comfortable - we slept like babies. It helps that it's very quiet there, and probably that we were exhausted from all the touristing!

The owner/proprietor Ruth met us late on Fri night with a pot of tea and some bara brith - which was very gratefully received after the 5hr journey. Ruth has excellent recommendations on where to visit (we were kind of winging it!), and every one she mentioned was well worth our time. The breakfasts were varied, and nothing was too much trouble. We had full English, smoked salmon and poached eggs over the 3 mornings. All delicious. Plenty of fruit, cereals, etc. Fresh tea and coffee as well as local honey and jams/marmalades. Cannot fault it.

The guesthouse is a bit 'in the middle of nowhere' - and this was exactly perfect for us, and just what we wanted. There are walking routes nearby (we didn't try), and you're only 5mins from the A55 by car, so you're not stranded! But you probably won't be walking to a nearby pub (I could be wrong). What this means is it's very quiet, and the views are fantastic - from all around the lounge, dining room and the various 'perches' on which to sit outside on the (cushioned) chairs to soak them up. You can see over the hills, right down the valley and over the water to Beaumaris in the distance. In the evening, the sun was setting right down the middle, and we got some lovely photos. Gorgeous.

Only minor niggles were you cannot drink the tap water (but sealed, bottle water was waiting for us in the room for free upon arrival) and that the shower pressure wasn't great (it was lovely and hot though). These really are easily overlooked, and understandable given the location.

If you want something near nightlife/walking distance of towns, etc. then this is *not* the place for you. If you want a great base for exploring North Wales, or just a beautiful, quiet place to get away, then it is absolutely perfect for you. Oh, and you are within 20mins drive of most great places in area! We went all around with no problems.

Recommended, and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Conwy room furthest from others - less likely to be disturbed by other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeveloperDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again. Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ruth was very welcoming, great breakfast, lovely clean room, amazing views. Really enjoyed our stay here. It was very relaxing. Will certainly re visit. Having recently moved back from New Zealand, we spent our days looking around nearby castles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jones1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you to Rhiwiau again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed a night en-(walking)route from Holywell - Bardsey Island (North Wales Pilgrims Way) & Ruth couldn't have been more helpful - ideally situated for our route, great accommodation, & great evening meal and breakfast (& special treatment as it was our wedding anniversary!) - Thank you Ruth.
Phil & Patrice

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we do hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My boyfirend and I stayed here for 2 nights the other week, and it was a little peice of heaven. We went for walks and sat out on the hill and wached the sheep and birds. It was so beautiful and peacefull, we'd love to go back.
The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
I would recomed anyone to stay here, families, couples or singles.
Ruth is very helpful and kind.
We'll be back :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelwigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you to Rhiwiau again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here last year and just had to return this year for more of the same.
Ruth is always attentive and friendly as well as knowledgeable on places to go in the area!
Loved it here-must arrange to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouser57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely seeing you both again this year and a pleasure having you to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful B&B after climbing mountain Snowdon.
The very warm welcome, fabulous and tasty locally sourced food, cleanliness and magnificent views made our stay pleasant relaxation. Away from high streets, but close enough to get everywhere. Loved it. Will definitely recommend it to my friends, family and all people who are looking for peace on earth. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zuzihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. We are always so pleased when guests can share and enjoy our beautiful location. We look forward to welcoming you to Rhiwiau again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Welcoming, friendly, helpful, and in a stunning location. A short walk and you a straight into the dramatic mountains of Snowdonia. Due to a delayed train we were late reaching Llanfairfechan, but even arriving well after midnight, Ruth was pleased to greet us.

Arriving so late meant it didn't take long to get to sleep, facilitated by the comfort. And at 7am, Ruth was already there again to serve us an early cooked breakfast for a long day in the mountains.

The rooms were exceptionally well kept, clean, comfortable and the whole place has a great "country" feel. There are no flat screen tv's or flash decor, but that would be wrong. It was nice to be immersed back into the outdoors - even the dogs, cats and horses were chuffed to have us around. If you are looking for the ideal place to base yourself for a weekend of walking or climbing in Snowdonia, there can be few better places to do it from. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhiwiau, Owner at Rhiwiau Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanfairfechan hotels
1.4 mi away
Min-y-Don Guest House
Min-y-Don Guest House
#1 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coed Y Gelli B&B
Coed Y Gelli B&B
#4 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grove Bed & Breakfast
The Grove Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages
#3 of 4 in Llanfairfechan
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rhiwiau Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhiwiau Guest House

Address: Off Ffordd Gwyllt, Llanfairfechan LL33 0EH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanfairfechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfairfechan
Price Range: $98 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhiwiau Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhiwiau is ideally situated 600 feet up in a secluded valley with mountains to the rear, panoramic views overlooking the Menai Straits and Isle of Anglesey and less than 5 minutes from the A55! We have been family owned and run since 1972. Rhiwiau always offers a warm welcome and a happy relaxed atmosphere as the many return guests confirm. We are ideally located for exploring North Wales. We are approx. 20 mins from Zipworld and 35 mins from Surf Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rhiwiau Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing