We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ultimate location for a peaceful holiday in...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fig Cottage

View of Fig Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Fig Cottage
Fig Cottage Living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
View of Fig Cottage
Fig Cottage
Living area.
Living area.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2.
Bathroom
Pool area 1
Pool area secured fence
Pool area 2
Baby pool
View From Courtyard
Sunset
Bikes for our guests to ride
Mini golf at the lake in Sauze Vaussais
Playpark at lake in Sauze Vaussais
Lake at Sauze Vaussais great for fishing
Nearby forest good for walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sauze-Vaussais, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bea5
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The ultimate location for a peaceful holiday in France”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A warm welcome from Agnes, Cyril and Tamela upon arrival.

Fig Cottage is spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable 2 bedroom (doubles) property. This cottage is connected to another cottage that sleeps 6 (perfect for sharing with your friends or family as we did).

Bicycles are available for cycling for the morning bread or exploring the local area.

Plenty of garden furniture from chairs & tables, to sunloungers and parasolls in the garden area and around the swimming pool. The pool is entered by a narrow wooden step ladder so could be difficult for disabled or infirm.

The games barn (table tennis, pool and darts) also provided great entertainment when shading from the sun or for evening tournaments with our friends!

There is a "Super U" supermarket just 10 minutes from the cottage. Visits to Melle (especially the Silver caves) and Niort are a must. We also took a trip to La Rochelle and Ile de Rae about an hour-and-a-half drive away, again well worth a visit. Our favourite location was Coulon for punting on the canals (like a little green venice) with some lovely restaurants too). Lots of local markets too for your fresh supplies (Agnes will provide you with a list of days).

Agnes is the perfect host, always available for any questions, provided some fantastic home grown tomatoes and cucumbers and surprised us with homemade pavlova and jam & cream scones - delicious!

Tamela (age 9) was also very helpful and a great friend to our son Joshua and our friends children Noah (9) and Delilah (5) over our 2 week holiday - they are missing her lots.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of property creates the ultimate peaceful retreat for a relaxing holiday
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryBurnl...
Burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very clean modern comfortable relaxing cottage”
Reviewed November 15, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with a warm welcome ,Agnes explained how to work the equipment TV,Sat,Cooker, Shower ect there are two lovley bedrooms at either end of the cottage so we unpacked and made ourselves at home.
It didnt take us long to sit down outside with a nice glass of red wine which was in the welcome pack.
The next day we had a good look around the area their is a good supermarket five mins drive away (SuperU) so we stocked up with food & drink.
We had a lovley stay we went site seeing most days as the coast is only 1hr 10 mins away there also many more sites to see more local.

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean modern with good amenities
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Géraldine...
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago for a stay in August 2019
NEW
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alinelfe
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j0rdipc
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing