We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Largely Unexpected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Largely Unexpected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very large modern hotel, conveniently located just off the A38 on the outskirts of Heilbad Heiligenstadt. It has a large car park.
The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The Restaurant offers very high quality food with generous helpings and is probably better value than the hotel itself, which is quite expensive. Breakfast is served in a separate breakfast room above the restaurant on the 1st floor and is less impressive.

The hotel claims the Restaurant is open until 11pm. This may be true, but its kitchen closes at 9:30pm, by which time all other food outlets in the hotel have stopped too...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
69
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was an interesting experience, but not one I'd care to repeat.
If you wish to stay for business or are traveling and need to stay over, you will be disappointed.
The first thing I learnt from a frowning receptionist is that the rooms do not have wireless internet access so I could not use my apple computer in the room. Strictly for cabled windows machines. They do not tell you that on the website.
The hotel is hot and humid and smells of chlorine everywhere.
Most people wear their sporty heilbad attire, so I stuck out like a sore thumb in my business outfit - even at breakfast.
To top it all up, the restaurant strictly and only plays Phil Collins music - the works - because that is what the waitress enjoys, and she's the one working after all. So you'd better have a taste for Phil too!
The food quality at the restaurant was nice, though, as was the Phil-fan waitress.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_Flogard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is large and very modern. I can understand a lot of people may say it lacks character but then that is difficult considering its age and size. The rooms are large and spotlessly clean. The decor is more or less what you would expect in a large hotel but is perfectly acceptable. The bathroom was very good with a wonderful power shower. We were surprised to find no coffee and tea making facilities in the room but after reading the literature left in the room found that you had to ask for that. It was brought to our room immediately we asked for it. All of the staff we encountered were very polite and most seem to speak at least some english.. One day a couple of things were missed when our room was serviced: noticably the coffee and milk wasn't replenished and the cups weren't washed but anything we pointed out was quickly remedied. The breakfast room is big but it was run very efficiently when we were there and we had no problems. The food provided for breakfast was varied and plentiful so all tastes are catered for. We didn't try the restaurant for lunch or dinner.
The hotel has a direct link to the Vital Park where there are several swimming pools, fitness areas, saunas, and various health treatments. We only tried the pools, which was free for us as hotel guests. The swimming was excellent with different temperature pools including salt water pools, sports pool for swimming lengths and various leisure type pools including jacuzzis.
Heilbad Heiligenstadt is a lovely town with several things of interest in the vicinity including 'border museums' ( due to its proximity to the former East/West german border) and beautiful small towns and villages (Dudestadt was a particular favourite). Gottingham is a very interesting university city close by. There are not many tourists in Heilbad Heiligenstadt. We didn't encouter any other english speaking tourists while we were there. This is probably due to the fact that it is not easy to get to. We flew to Dusseldorf and then hired a car (with sat nav) . It took us about 2 1/2 hours to drive there. Despite this we had a wonderful time and I would recommend this to anyone who likes to go out of the way of too touristy areas and wants excellent clean facilities at their hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is quite modern (opening in 2008) with a big swimming ppol and wellness area. The superior rooms are rather big and have a nice view in a park and small montains around the city. The hotel lacks any kind of cosyness especially the floors and the breakfast room are not inviting. it is just a functional type of hotel. But the people at the reception and bar are really nice and helpful.The breakfast was terrible for an 4 star superior hotel. The coffee was bitter because it was probably made in the early morning...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelbewerter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
598 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Very easy to find and a big parking area in front of the hotel, a couple of km to the village center and you need a car. Hotel is excelent for holiday and welness. New and very modern and warm welcome in the reception. Rooms large , big windows and a large nice bathroom. Change in the staff in reception later in the evening and the young lady do need to learn something about how to work with custommers, i felt that i was disturbing her !!! In the mroning i had breakfirst on the 2 floor, a large room , it must have been very busy there was not a single tabel which was clean and ready for the next guests and there was only 1 lady working , not very fast and not cleaning tabels, so i would call them understaffed and not really caring about the next guests ! Very disapointing breakfirst. Based on this i am not sure a will stay here again!! Or recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heilbad Heiligenstadt
8.3 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Teistungenburg
0.7 mi away
Stadthotel Heiligenstadt
Stadthotel Heiligenstadt
#2 of 2 in Heilbad Heiligenstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
14.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Gottingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Zum Loewen
Hotel Zum Loewen
#1 of 4 in Duderstadt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
11.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Ahrenberg
Romantik Hotel Ahrenberg
#1 of 5 in Bad Sooden-Allendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
12.7 mi away
Schloss Hotel Wolfsbrunnen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark
Address: In der Leineaue 2, 37308 Heilbad Heiligenstadt, Thuringia, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel am Vitalpark)
Location: Germany > Thuringia > Heilbad Heiligenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Heilbad Heiligenstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing