We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Moorhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked the Moorhouse well in advance as we would be travelling through Yorkshire and wanted somewhere to stop and take a break for two nights. Jane was really good at keeping in touch via email correspondance when we had queries and even let us stay in the nice room instead of the twin room as we were on a romantic break.

The rooms were clean, well decorated, fresh and gorgeous. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower had very good water pressure. Our room connected to a common room that was cosy with a fireplace, that was lit and warm, and a common tv with some books. The dining room was bright and pretty. We did not eat dinner there but the breakfast had a lovely selection and was cooked extremely well. Examples of offers were for example fresh pancakes, eggs to your liking and porridge. There was also a selection of fresh fruits and yogurts, cereals etc.

The only cons to our stay were that the kettle in the room was desperately in need of descaing and at times the rooms could be a little chilly.

A quick summary:

Pro
- lovely rooms with comfortable beds
- nice bath robes
- good water pressure
- nice atmosphere (ie. cosy)
- Jane was an absolute delight (we loved her)
- great food
- ample parking
- common rooms very cosy and nice
- nice products in bathroom

Con
- slightly chilly
- kettle needs descaling
- tv in room small (didn't bother us, but could be a problem for you)
- creaky noises from house (we thought it was cosy)

Would strongly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend spending an extra 10 pounds a night on the "posh" room as we found it ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggayFroggay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing long weekend staying at the superb "Moorhouse". From walking through the door Jane made us feel instantly at home and looked after us in a way which is hard to find nowadays. Our room was beautifully presented, the lounge very relaxing and breakfast cooked to perfection. Jane was able to give us excellent information re the local attractions etc. which saved a lot of time reading the numerous brouchures. Our days out at the Himalayan Gardens and Newby Hall were a great experience. On leaving I have taken a number of the house cards which I will be giving to friends recommending a visit, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musician891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wonderful accommodation, with the most accommodating host (Jane). Situated high on the Moors, but close to the lovely Pateley Bridge and surrounded by fabulous pubs. Very comfortable, and particularly lovely to return to one of the many lit fires after a day in the beautiful countryside. Worth staying just for Jane's breakfast. I cannot wait to stay again!

Room Tip: The Ladywell Room is a fabulous room, comfortable and with a very large bathroom. Next door is a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice now. exceptional and superb. recommend Jane and Andy to all. brilliant pub next door. home from home. look forward to our next visit. keep up the hard work Jane ......beautiful country side. food is superb both in hotel and pub. made so welcome

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizz1emcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Moorhouse with friends after New Year, and could not have found a place more perfect. Both rooms were large, warm and beautifully decorated and furnished. The beds were comfortable and both rooms had spacious ensuite bathrooms. Downstairs a large sitting room was perfectly set out with the fire always lit. We were looked after by Jane, a charming host whose cooking was fantastic. We ate like kings and queens. I think however that what makes The Moorhouse really special are all the exquisite paintings and charming family photos dotted around the house. The family that own the Moorhouse don't live there, however they certainly know how to make it feel like home. Heavenly.

Room Tip: The room next to the sitting room is enormous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank AndyCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a great weekend here in January. The food was great, everyone was really friendly and we had an amazing weekend as a result of it. Big plus point is that it has its own pub so no need to drive!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of England, the scenery up on the moor is stunning. The hotel is run by Jayne, who cooks the most delicious food and makes her guests feel extremely welcome. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and make the whole place very difficult to leave - I could stay here for weeks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Malzeard
6.5 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
459 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,257 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
809 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
829 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mallard Grange
Mallard Grange
#1 of 2 in Aldfield
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse

Property: The Moorhouse
Address: The Moor House Dallowgill, Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon HG4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Kirkby Malzeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a short drive from Pateley Bridge, Ripon and Harrogate, is the Moorhouse, a traditional country lodge guest house B & B, which has hosted royal and celebrity visitors, among them the legendary Bing Crosby. There are 5 luxurious bedrooms, all with bathrooms, a comfortable sitting room, large dining room, a boot room with drying facilities and a private car park. Nestling in tranquil countryside, the house enjoys spectacular views of the moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Moorhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing