We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully peaceful place to stay with welcoming hosts”
Review of Cowscot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Malzeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowscot House
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful b&b for two nights and couldn't fault it. The setting is perfect if you want to escape for a few days with great views across the area, just so peaceful and quiet. We used it as a base to explore the local countryside on foot of which there are many wonderful walks. Liz and Mike couldn't do enough to help with info on the local area and the breakfast was truly delicious, set in their country dining room. The quality of the rooms in the converted barn are first class, with comfy beds and spotlessly clean. We must mention the delicious biscuits that Liz kindly gave us the recipe for - we've made them twice since our return and they're still as delicious as the ones tasted in Yorkshire! Thanks again ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at this B&B on my own; with my Mother and with my 6yr old son. Each time the property is spotless; the bathrooms make mine at home look like a municipal tip; breakfast is fabulous laid out on starched linen tablecloths and all is peace and quiet.

Mike and Liz work very hard to make sure everything is perfect. If you are passing through and need somewhere to stay look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizwool, Owner at Cowscot House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you and your family again .

Regards Liz and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

again we returned to this wonderful B&B which is so central for travelling around the dales. we have just had another 3 wonderful days at Cowscot House. the rooms are superb and finished to a high standard with great hospitality tray and little extras. very clean, warm and comfortable beds with nice quiet sleeps.Great choices at breakfast with good quality food and plenty of it. The owners are very welcoming and make you feel at home from the moment you arrive offering you tea and home made goodies which are delicious. after a along day out upon return there is normally a little treat of home made cake or cookies along with fresh milk in your room. its like the `food fairy` has been baking again. nothing is too much trouble and every effort is put into making your stay great and relaxing without being intrusive. we always have a great stay at cowcot house and thank you so much liz and mike for a relaxing few days. this is definately the place to stay and see you again soon xxxRita & Graham

Room Tip: there are two converted stable rooms overlooking the lawns and a further two inside the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Liz and Mike are wonderful hosts with great knowledge of the Ripon/Fountains Abbey area. The ensuite rooms were large, extremely clean, quiet, and comfortable. We would go out of our way to stay at Cowscot again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endicott_Redbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were looking for a B&B in the York-Ripon-Fountains Abbey area and chose Cowscot House in Kirkby Malzeard from the complimentary reviews on the B&B websites. It was our experience that this B&B even exceeded those reviews. Cowscot House easily accommodated our large group of eight (8) adult family members, and our en-suite rooms were spotless, very comfortable and well appointed. Hosts Liz and Mike are suc a very caring and helpful couple. We immediately considered them to be our friends. This is an excellent B&B to which we will happily return when visiting Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLBMRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and my partner booked a weekend away at Cowscot House, we had read other reviews and this formed the basis for our booking. We weren't disappointed, from the moment we set off from home, in a horrific downpour, Liz had texted my partner to let us know the roads were passable with care, this attention to detail epitomised everything we could expect upon arrival.
Liz met us with umbrellas to shield us from the downpour and to show us to our room, we were the only guests staying that weekend and the room was superb. As was the hot drinks and homemade cake we had delivered to our room shortly after unpacking. Nothing was too much for Liz, she was home alone at the time, but took her time to tell us where we could eat, what pubs were in the locality, a fab first night was had in Kirkby Malzeard.
Breakfast the following morning was great, cooked exactly as we asked, Liz also advised us on taxis to take us into Masham as we were visiting the Black Sheep Brewery, she also offered advice as to other things to do in the vicinity.
My partner and I had a great day and afternoon in Masham, and had a fab taxi driver (local from Kirkby Malzeard) to boot.
On our second and final morning, breakfast again was cooked exactly as we requested, and the warmth Liz extended to us both on our departure, is one of the many reasons why we would recommend Cowscot House to anyone. Fantastic stay, fantastic house, fantastic breakfast - wouldn't change a thing!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuntanMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Cowscot House as we had a family wedding nearby. I can only agree with all of the previous positive reviews. Very friendly and welcoming hosts, fantastic home-made food, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely surroundings ........the only negative is that we weren't staying for longer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowscot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowscot House

Address: Cowscot House Back Lane, Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon HG4 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Kirkby Malzeard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range: $93 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowscot House offers a high standard of accommodation in a sympathetically converted stone barn and stables on the edge of the popular village of Kirkby Malzeard, 6 miles from Ripon. All the en-suite bedrooms are on the ground floor and were refurbished in early 2009 offering light and airy accommodation with many original features. Cowscot House provides an excellent base for touring and exploring the Yorkshire Moors and Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing