We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely B&B”
Review of Cowscot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Malzeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowscot House
Reviewed February 19, 2012

whilst visiting friends in Grewelthorpe we decided to stay at Cowscott house based on these reviews, well they were all spot on, Liz and Mike were the perfect hosts, tea and homemade cake and biscuits on arrival, the room was clean, spacious and very welcoming and the ensuite was perfect, we went out for our dinner to the Kings Head Hotel and i must say it was a wonderful meal......the next morning we had a very ample lovely full english breakfast and tea and juice and nothing was too much trouble at all, we only stayed for the 1 night but i would definately be returning in the summer for a long weekend, on the whole the perfect B&B well deserved of its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leanne1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

What a lovely B & B Cowscot House is. We were made to feel so welcome with lots of personal touches- a tray of tea and cake on arrival and homemade cake waiting when we arrived back after a day out. Breakfast was delicious too. We had a lovely room that was spotlessly clean. We would certainly recommend this excellent B & B!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Cowscot House during a 3 week trip to Ireland, Scotland and England. This was the best place we stayed - the house itself, the food, the hosts - all superb. There were so many little extras that we appreciated so much. We hope to come back and spend more time in this wonderful B & B and this wonderful area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Thanks for a warm welcome and a very pleasant couple of days. Very warm,comfortable and enjoyable. Food was delicious and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank quadd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We can only echo what has been said in all the previous reviews. Liz and Mike are the perfect hosts. All the little touches (home-made cakes or biscuits in the room each day, etc..) and the excellent quality of the accommodation mean that you really get your money's worth. The breakfasts are superb, with home-made bread and yoghurt and food that is locally-sourced where it's not home-produced. The setting is lovely and the sheltered corners of the garden where chairs and tables have been thoughtfully placed are great to come back to on a sunny evening after an active day in the magnificent Dales countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRobin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Cowscot for a week at the beginning of August and had a lovely time. The house itself is a conversion that is very well done with nice original features blended with modern convenience. You really get the impression the owners thought about things a lot when creating this place as a guest house and it shows in the quality. Beautiful rooms and a perfect little private garden that we and our toddler enjoyed very much. Breakfast was a treat with locally sourced (some produced from the owners own livestock) and were were never disappointed. Owners Mike and Liz did an amazing job of makiqng us welcome and looking out for our holiday/sight-seeing needs. We really felt comfortable and well looked after here and were glad we'd decided to extend our stay before we'd arrived. Location is great for local exploration and easy to get to from A1(M). Only has 4 guest rooms so it feels very intimate. As you can hopefully tell, we can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoleathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Accommodation, food, and hospitality all fabulous - Liz baked gluten free bread and cake especially for us, as well as providing home made yogurt and jams and free range eggs from Mike's farm - nothing was too much trouble - a most enjoyable stay - we will definitely be back! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HILJANSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowscot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowscot House

Address: Cowscot House Back Lane, Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon HG4 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Kirkby Malzeard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range: $97 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowscot House offers a high standard of accommodation in a sympathetically converted stone barn and stables on the edge of the popular village of Kirkby Malzeard, 6 miles from Ripon. All the en-suite bedrooms are on the ground floor and were refurbished in early 2009 offering light and airy accommodation with many original features. Cowscot House provides an excellent base for touring and exploring the Yorkshire Moors and Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing