We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea of Cortez Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at this resort several times and each time there is a change. We love this resort!! Very comfortable for the week with awesome views.
They have made some changes since last visit. There is a full time restaurant 7 am- 10 pm and full bar service. The last time they had discontinued bar sevice and restaurant was only open lunch and dinner.
They we working on improvements all week but never did it become intrusive. The employees are wonderful and go out of their way to accommodate the vacationer.

Oh!!! And they had new mattresses and pillows!!!!!!! The beds were so comfortable!!! Thank you diamond resorts!!!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad room, all face ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StillDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
41
72
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked two studio-sized rooms on short notice. We arrived two days after booking, and were met by Arturo, who was the concierge on duty. He was extremely professional and courteous, explained the hotel amenities, and explained that there was a $2500 peso ($187 US at that time) charge for incidentals that would be returned to us if we did not use it.

Our rooms (studio sized) were a little bigger than the average hotel room in the States. Every room overlooks the Sea of Cortez. Comfortable king bed, sturdy wooden furniture, flat-screen TV (although we did not turn the TV on at all), dining area with four chairs, and kitchenette with a full refrigerator/freezer. Each room also had a microwave and a two-burner stove. The balcony had two chairs and a glass table. Each room has its own air conditioning. The view was gorgeous. We were able to sleep with our balcony door open to listen to the waves at night.

The resort is very quiet through the week. Weekends are a little noiser with local traffic, but bearable. Arturo warned us ahead of time that the weekend would bring more people, but it wasn't that bad, really. The pool is huge and clean. It gets vacuumed and cleaned every morning at around 8:30. There is also a jacuzzi that is wonderful. There are chairs and glass tables all around the pool. The chairs and tables are cleaned at the same time that the pool is. There is a private beach behind the pool with chairs and small glass tables as well. There is an area where you can grill out if you'd like. From the beach, you can walk down to the Sea of Cortez and go for a swim. You can walk in the water chest-deep and still see your feet!

There is a restaurant, La Palapa, on site. The waiters are very friendly and will speak English if you need them to. Most of the staff has excellent English, but I tried to speak Spanish for most of the time that I was there. Two waiters at La Palapa who were extraordinary were Jorge and Marco. The food is good, but very Americanized. Don't expect to get authentic Mexican food at the restaurant. It was more of a burger and club sandwich type of place. They do have some Mexican fare, but like I said, it's very Americanized. The prices are comparable to chain-style restaurants in the States. You should eat once or twice at La Palapa if you stay here, but you can save a lot of money by making use of a grocery store and your kitchenette!

There is a man who sells hand-painted plates and bowls just before you get to the restaurant. His name is Victor Iglesias and his artwork is wonderful. His sister makes the bowls/plates from clay and Victor paints them. He told us that he's been painting for about 20 years. He is extremely friendly and his crafts were a wonderful bonus to this resort. We bought several plates and bowls from him, and he even custom painted a plate for my mother. Victor was such a joy to meet!

I will definitely stay here if I ever find myself in San Carlos again! Very clean, professional and courteous staff, prompt attention from staff when needed, quiet, beautiful, and best of all...affordable!

There were a few cons (hey, no place is perfect!). Internet service was very, very spotty. I was able to get the free Wi-Fi for the first two days I was there, but then I couldn't get it after that. There is a computer in the lobby for the guests, but the internet was slow and sometimes non-existent on that one as well. There is no bus line to this hotel. Unless you have your own car, the only way to get around is by taxi. The taxi company that services the hotel is family-owned and they are very nice, but pricey. One-way from the hotel to Guaymas, Miramar, or the airport is 300 pesos. One-way to the closest grocery store is 70 pesos. Unless you stock up at the Ley or Soriana on the way in, those multiple trips add up. The water is drinkable at the hotel, which is a plus. But, there was no regular bottled water in the restaurant while we were there. They had mineral water or water from the tap (which IS safe to drink, just at this location). The A/C unit is quite noisy, but it was helpful in lulling me to sleep, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank runnerrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Sea of Cortez Beach Club (aka Premier Vacation Club) was the perfect place for me to take my son and his two friends for spring break. We had the two bedroom suite, which was really a one bedroom suite with a second adjoining room. The result was we had TWO bathrooms, TWO kitchens, TWO dining areas and TWO balconies. The "suite" side had a sofa bed in the living area and a separate bedroom. Both kitchens have an "apartment" size fridge with separate freezer compartment and comes fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans and utensils. The rooms were nice, clean and had comfortable beds. It looks as though they are in the process of updating the property - repainting, etc. Don't expect a 5 star room, but for Mexico, they were quite nice. The only complaints would be that their drinks are under-sized and over-priced and it would have been nice if the hotel would have a couple of kayaks that guests could check out. You can rent kayaks, ATVs, scooters, bikes, etc. in town, but unless you have a car, it wouldn't be very convenient. If you like to snorkel, this is the BEST place! Great snorkeling right in front of the hotel, and the catch 22 beach is only a few hundred yards away. Bring your water shoes though, the rocks/reefs are sharp.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvI6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I booked a room here thru HOTEL.COM and upon arrival found the entire outdoor portion of the facility under construction--the pool and jaccuzzi were drained, the decking was torn up, a jack hammer was running during sun rise to sun set. Despite the noise, dust and complete inaccesibility of the entire facility, the front desk rep said he was unable to issue a refund. When discussing this with HOTEL.COM, the assured me they would attempt to resolve the issue with the manager "within 72 hours" then never again returned my emails or phone calls. I was forced to seek another hotel and AT MY OWN EXPENSE stayed at the FABULOUS PLAYA BLANCA just about a mile down the beach--the tallest building in San Carlos. PLAYA BLANCA provided exceptional service and an excellent facility. Sea of Cortez Vacation Club--the absolutely worst service I have ever encountered ANYWHERE in the world. Go at your own risk--if you have a valid complaint, you will never get a refund.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank iaviate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Travel period: Dec 19 to Dec 25.
Pros and fun stuff:
* People are friendly
* Pool is pretty warm (if not, make sure you tell them) despite the chilly weather, it is useable,
* quiet and cozy place
* free DVD and laudry/dryer
* horse back riding/fishing trip, ATV ride are good.
* Curt runs the ATV place called "off the edge". Friendly.
Cons or so-so thingy:
* small place (minimum amenities)
* 1 restaurant. food 6 of 10 rating. 6 minute walk you can goto San Carlos Plaza more choices again food is so-so 6 of 10. My conclusion: Don't order steak or even Joey's Bistro's pasta (supposed to be Italian). Grilled Fish never go wrong though.
* weather is kind of cold when the wind blow. So don;t expect the 80's in December.
* Guaymas is abt a 250peso taxi ride and is like a "flea" market place -- typical (Pay peso whenever you can, otherwise the exchange is 10 to 1 if u pay US$)
* choice of dinner is limited unless you catch a taxi to san carlos "city" with a few more choices.
* unit cooking facility is limited but doable,

If u like peace and quiet in December this is the place. We luck out in a way just because we met 2 family during over stay and spent fun time together. Personally, I would not go back to Sea of Cortez not because of the resort but because of the place. The area is still very under-developed but north american pricing in food and services. The the food and restaurant is all so-so. Trust me: u stayed for a few days and your expectation and "standard of a resort place" will automatically be lowered. Taxi drivers LIdio and Jose (father and son) will become your driver if you don;t have your own car. IN and out of PMV toAan Carlos grocery shopping or Guaymas town even to go fishing. Gary is the guy the do all the events. Always negotiate and "try to pay in Peso" instead of US $.

Beware that: this location DO NOT have sandy beach access and in december it is kind of cold bring a jacket !

Room Tip: outside room so it is not sharing a wall. Other reviewers is correct the wall and floor is "th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasonWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is a fabulous hotel especially in light of the price. It is very comfortable, clean and well kept with no surprises. Food and beverage staff were top notch, meals delicious, pool lovely and view spectacular.

Be forewarned, the restaurant prices are similar to North American prices. There also was a discrepancy when we went to pay our bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

On your first visit there if you are driving in, of utmost importance is to know to look for signs that read "Premiere Vacation Club."Had I not known that from one of the TravelAdvisor reviews, our vacation would have started out miserably. (The name has changed to Sea of Cortez Premiere Vacation Club, owned by Diamond Resorts now.) Its almost one of the last resorts on the main road at the very end, then you make a u-turn a Paradaiso Hotel sign, go about 3 driveways, and the Sea of Cortez is at the bottom of a long driveway with no sign. There is colorful mosaic rock on a wall that you can use to identify the hotel. We had two rooms, besides the air conditioning not working in one room, the accomadtions were great. The beds were super comfy, king size beds in the studio. We had a kitchen and dining area. After not being able to fix the air, they moved us into another studio. We had an awesome view of the pool, and the other room stepped out into a patio adjacent to pool area. The resort is a small resort. I would give it 3 stars, only because it's small. The pool was perfect. We tried the jacuzzi but it was cold. Understandbly so since it's a thousand degrees in San Carlos. You can swim in the sea, but they don't have a "real" beach. It's mostly rocks, but once you are in the water, there is a sandy bottom. Went swimming at 8 am and it was glorious. The pelicans were out watching us and a school a baby fish swam along with us. We would go again. I wish it had a gym. The only bad is that the professional pictures don't depict the lobby. The picture that is up of the lobby, is not the lobby at all. The lobby is small, but well airconditioned, and all the rooms have outside opening doors, but we felt completely safe. The price was awesome. DiamondResorts call center honored the booking.com rate that I found. $50 a night for full studio-apartment-type accommodations.

Room Tip: Make sure you look for the sign that says "Premiere Vacation Club". All the hotels have si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.3 mi away
San Carlos Plaza Hotel Resort & Convention Center
9.1 mi away
Hotel Playa de Cortes
Hotel Playa de Cortes
#2 of 7 in Guaymas
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Los Jitos Hotel
Los Jitos Hotel
#5 of 5 in San Carlos
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guaymas
12.2 mi away
Hotel Armida
Hotel Armida
#5 of 7 in Guaymas
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marinaterra Hotel & Spa
Marinaterra Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in San Carlos
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea of Cortez Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea of Cortez Beach Club

Property: Sea of Cortez Beach Club
Address: Paseo Mar Bermejo Nte. No.4 Int. 5 | or Paseo Mar Bermejo Parcela 7 Fraccion 1, San Carlos 85506, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea of Cortez Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea of Cortez Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Of Cortez Premiere Vacation Club Hotel San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing