We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$64
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea of Cortez Beach Club(San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$203
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Jitos Hotel(San Carlos)
$32
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tetakawi(San Carlos)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
$58
BestDay.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Armida(Guaymas)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
94
29
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
29
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoggy pesobeautiful condoshort walk down the beachthese condoswithin walking distancesunset grillrocky pointbars and restaurantsduring spring breakopportunity to meetcleaning suppliesgreat friendly staffspacious balconygorgeous viewsmaster bedroomswim in the oceanprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 137 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

While not cheap, this place is undoubtedly the nicest place to stay in San Carlos. Luxuriously appointed condos, super clean, amazing views, great beach location, what more can I say. A+++ Thanks Dave!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phillip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 10 days at Playa Blanca. We really enjoyed our one-bedroom condo, especially since the owner had upgraded the Internet service in the unit, so that you can get high-speed Internet (slow if going through the basic wireless at Playa Blanca).We were very pleased with the unit and had plenty of room. I liked the fact that it had a full bath and a half bath, and a jacuzzi tub for soaking. There was a separate area off the kitchen with a full-size washer and dryer; also a full-size oven/stove, microwave and fridge. Fridge has an ice-maker. Pool towels available at front lobby desk. The balcony looks out on the Sea of Cortez, and a quiet beach and looks down over a huge gorgeous swimming pool, with two hot-tubs and two other small circular swimming pools. There's a huge indoor glass walled bar off the pool area.

At sunset, you just sit on the balcony (which has glass "walls" about 4 ft. high) turn your head and look to the right to watch one of those incredible San Carlos sunsets. Playa Blanca is to the north end of developments on the Sea of Cortez, about a 10 minute drive to town. There’s no restaurant at Playa Blanca, but it’s an easy walk along the beach to the Soggy Peso, a fun beach bar with great margaritas and good food. Next to that is Bonifacio's Cotton Club, which features fine dining and live music 7 nights a week.

Tourism is down in Mexico, probably due to all the warnings to American travelers from the US State Department. In January, we drove the 5 ½ hours to San Carlos (which is near Guaymas) from the border town of Nogales, just south of Tucson. It’s a well paved 4-lane toll road, just like a freeway here in the USA. We felt very safe. We stayed at the San Carlos Plaza hotel, which is gorgeous, but was virtually empty when we were there. In March, we flew into Guaymas airport, which is about 15 minutes from San Carlos. This time we stayed at Playa Blanca in a condo. San Carlos has 4 nice grocery stores (2 are brand new), a few tourist shops and many restaurants – Italian, Greek, Mexican, Chinese, great Western food (steaks, chops, etc.). Seafood in the area is fabulous.

As an animal lover, I was pleased that I saw no starving cats or dogs on the streets or on the beach. There's a very active volunteer group that raises money to provide free spay/neuter for pets of locals, and also to spay/neuter the feral dogs and cats. There's also a new humane society to help adopt out homeless animals found in the area. Far more progressive than other cities in Mexico we've visited, where poisoning animals was the method of choice to get rid of them.

There are many modern and beautiful homes in San Carlos, many of them beachfront. If you're in the market to buy, this is the time. Prices are down about 40+ percent from 3 years ago. There are many retired Canadians and Americans living there, and a lot of activities. Fishing is fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank schatziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at playa Blanca and it definitely exceeded our expectations. The rooms are FULLY equipped. Anything you can imagine in terms of kitchen appliances, cleaning supplies, and bed linens, come ready and included in the nightly fee. The sales staff was attentive and friendly. Also the hotel is right in the middle of nice restaurants (5 palms/ captain club), a supermarket, and beach palapas good for lunch time. The only recommendation we would make is that they would further develop the processes and procedures at the front desk.

We wondered how expensive it would be for them to heat the pool, and why we couldn't take chairs down onto the beach sand.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at playa Blanca, especially considering the modest price. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shaderbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Accommodations are spectacular at this resort. Rates are excellent, service exceeds expectations and the resort is immaculate. Immediate response to email inquiries allowed me excellent last minute service. Polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaviate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Our team was on a 1 ½ week business trip to Ciudad Obregon and we decided to stay in San Carlos over the weekend. It is a 1 ½ hr drive from Obregon to San Carlos. We arrived Friday night at around 7pm and we were astonished by the grounds of this place. The building is very new and very clean, coming from a Holiday Inn in Obregon this place was like heaven to us. The condos are furnished with high class furniture and beautiful amenities. The cable in the condos had almost only American stations, so we had no problems watching the American Football games on that weekend. My room was on the 13th floor and the view of the ocean is absolutely amazing. We walked down to the Cotton Club restaurant on the beach that night for dinner. Beautiful restaurant right on the beach, the lobster was outstanding. The next day we walked down to the soggy peso for lunch and ended up staying there until it closed (right after sunset). Great little bar on the beach with live music and great seafood at cheap prices. I would highly recommend this place for anyone planning on going to San Carlos. The front desk workers where very helpful with anything we needed like taxies or food delivery. I hope I can make it back someday and would even consider retiring and living in this condo when I get old and gray.

Room Tip: The higher up the cooler the view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews