We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Thursday Tour Las Rancheritas

This is a wonderful tour, a highlight of my time in San Miguel. Charlotte is a knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed February 24, 2020
892NancyS892
,
Victoria, Canada
The Rancho Tour

This Tour was a wonderful experience that allowed us to share in the culture of a rural Mexican... read more

Reviewed January 31, 2020
Delcanto2020
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
43
0
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hooked rugs cooking demonstration mexican culture local artisans chile relleno beans san miguel donna project community craft handmade mexico
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 44 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Spent a great afternoon learning about life in a rancho and the Otomi people. We enjoyed several houses which the Otomi families opened for us. We felt very welcome and enjoyed watching the preparation (and eating) of a great lunch. Definitely worth it.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

The Rancho Tour took us to the small village of Agustin Gonzales, about 20 minutes outside of San Miguel de Allende. It includes a delicious luncheon prepared by the women of the village so it is all homemade and, most likely, locally grown. We were shown how to grind corn on a metate (not as easy as it looks) to make fresh, really fresh, tortillas. They also demonstrated how to make fresh salsa by roasting peppers, tomatoes and spices on a comal. Lunch was served in the courtyard of a private house and included chile rellano, arroz, fresh guacamole, tamales, fresh queso de vaca, salsa and papas fritas. We then enjoyed a sweet potato dessert and aqua fresca de mango, while a group of children sang the Mexican national anthem in the local language Otomi. We visited a stone carver's home and Las Rancheritas, a rug-hooker cooperative and faced the difficult choice of what to buy to bring home. And then the piece de résistance, a language lesson in Otomi from the charming Dona Marie. It was a delightful half day excursion that I would do again in a heartbeat!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

Best experience of my San Miguel visit. First of all, support a wonderful organization that provides local women the opportunity to support their families and produce beautiful handcrafted rugs. What's better than that? Visit a few of the 16 women who make up the hookedrugproject.com. In their homes and enjoy a huge, homemade, delectable lunch, taste aqua fresca, learn a few words of Otami and see the hooked rug store. Can't get these hard working women and their families out of my mind. CAREFUL. You may get hooked!

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

The Rancho Tour is an excursion into Central Mexico's rural roots and takes you to the small village of Agustin Gonzales. The village is located just 20 minutes from San Miguel on the road to Cañada de La Virgen to local Otomi pyramid. The Otomi descendants of that pyramid live in the village. The tour includes the following activities plus a luncheon prepared from home made and grown food. The tour gives you an insider's view of village life by visiting three different homes to meet the families and enjoy a homemade meal.We learn how to grind corn on a metate to make the cornmeal and cook fresh tortillas. We also get a lesson in making fresh salsa using a comal to toast the peppers and spices then grind it with a molcajete, a traditional Nahuatl mortar and pestle. We had a sumptuous meal of chile rellano, frijoles, arroz, fresh guacamole, tamales, fresh queso de vaca, and papas fritas. We also had a sweet potato dessert and aqua fresca de mango. Next we visited Las Rancheritas, Mexico’s only Rug Hookers Coop where they sold their goods. We visited a stone carver's home and could chip away at the local sandstone. We ended the day visiting with Dona Marie and 85 year old village woman with the attitude of a twenty year old. She taught us words from the ancient pre columbian language Otomi. This language most likely was one of the languages spoken in Teotihuacan and pre-dates the arrival of the Nahuatl speakers in the area. A wonderful day in the countryside!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 442geofff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

We are a group who have been visiting San Miguel for the month. This was a fantastic afternoon, a great tour and we all enjoyed it. We had a tortilla-making demonstration , watched them make fresh salsa, agua fresca, and then were fortunate enough to sit down and feast on tamales, chile rellenos, rice, beans, avocado, and later dessert with sweet potato. We visited their local tienda where the women sell their rug hooked works. It was a beautiful village to visit and speak with the people, listen to the Otomi language, and support the women in this village. This was a terrific tour and we're grateful to Charlotte for introducing us to this special tour so we could learn more about the people around San Miguel.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank carolyn681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews