We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Thursday Tour Las Rancheritas

This is a wonderful tour, a highlight of my time in San Miguel. Charlotte is a knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed February 24, 2020
892NancyS892
,
Victoria, Canada
The Rancho Tour

This Tour was a wonderful experience that allowed us to share in the culture of a rural Mexican... read more

Reviewed January 31, 2020
Delcanto2020
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
43
0
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hooked rugs cooking demonstration mexican culture local artisans chile relleno beans san miguel donna project community craft handmade mexico
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 44 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017

The Rancho Tour is an excursion into Central Mexico's rural roots and takes you to the small village of Agustin Gonzales. The village is located just 20 minutes from San Miguel on the road to Cañada de La Virgen to local Otomi pyramid. The Otomi descendants of that pyramid live in the village. The tour includes the following activities plus a luncheon prepared from home made and grown food. The tour gives you an insider's view of village life by visiting three different homes to meet the families and enjoy a homemade meal.We learn how to grind corn on a metate to make the cornmeal and cook fresh tortillas. We also get a lesson in making fresh salsa using a comal to toast the peppers and spices then grind it with a molcajete, a traditional Nahuatl mortar and pestle. We had a sumptuous meal of chile rellano, frijoles, arroz, fresh guacamole, tamales, fresh queso de vaca, and papas fritas. We also had a sweet potato dessert and aqua fresca de mango. Next we visited Las Rancheritas, Mexico’s only Rug Hookers Coop where they sold their goods. We visited a stone carver's home and could chip away at the local sandstone. We ended the day visiting with Dona Marie and 85 year old village woman with the attitude of a twenty year old. She taught us words from the ancient pre columbian language Otomi. This language most likely was one of the languages spoken in Teotihuacan and pre-dates the arrival of the Nahuatl speakers in the area. A wonderful day in the countryside!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 442geofff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

We are a group who have been visiting San Miguel for the month. This was a fantastic afternoon, a great tour and we all enjoyed it. We had a tortilla-making demonstration , watched them make fresh salsa, agua fresca, and then were fortunate enough to sit down and feast on tamales, chile rellenos, rice, beans, avocado, and later dessert with sweet potato. We visited their local tienda where the women sell their rug hooked works. It was a beautiful village to visit and speak with the people, listen to the Otomi language, and support the women in this village. This was a terrific tour and we're grateful to Charlotte for introducing us to this special tour so we could learn more about the people around San Miguel.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank carolyn681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

An excellent opportunity to mingle with local families in the countryside, learn about their arts and crafts, like rug hooking, and have a delicious lunch from local foods with demonstrations of how it was all prepared

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank 703leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

We went by van to the village of Agustin Gonzales, about an hour out of San Miguel. We visited a series of homes where we ate a meal prepared entirely from scratch, including soaking the corn kernels, grinding them on a metate, roasting vegetables and tortillas, making salsa and eating homemade cheese. Each house offered something different. Another house demonstrated making agua fruta and a desert made from squash. The last house was an Otomi woman who still speaks her language and taught us some words. The final stop is to their small tienda where they sell their hooked rug projects. Our guide, Donna, was wonderful too. Great tour!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Fairbanks_AKCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017

We were a group of 10, traveling to San Miguel for a painting workshop, and every day was a treat -- but having Charlotte take us to Augustine Gonzales and introduce us to the Rancheritas (indigenous women who create hooked rugs to help support their families) was the best experience of all. The tour covered a lot of ground -- a delicious lunch prepared by the local women at the home of one of them, a visit to the shop where the hooked rug cooperative is based (where we were able to do a little shopping!), a lesson from one of the older women in the village to learn some words of Otomi language, a visit to a see a stone mason demonstrate his skill and hear about local herbs from his granddaughter... fascinating, humbling, and very real. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews