We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
Review of Casa Maricela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Maricela
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, I cannot say enough good words about our hostess Maricela and her staff . The views were great, the meals were wonderfully prepared for breakfast and lunch and very traditional. She even gave us a light lunch to take on the bus when we returned to PUerto Vallarta. Her B & B felt more like a welcoming home with beautiful furnishings and a huge birdcage with many colorful finches. And she was so sweet and even gave my wife two of her many African violets as a gift.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DennisCHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
58
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Casa Maricela's is a charming meticulously clean B&B owned and operated by señora Maricela who is welcoming and engaging in every way. I must say I felt right at home here and just 2 short blocks to the Parroquia and Plaza principal. The food is to die for and two meals are included in the price. Cable TV, WiFi, and very comfortable beds are inviting after a day of walking around the San Miguel terrain! She has a fabulous rooftop patio with a million dollar view. I just can't say enough! All in all, it made my visit to San Miguel a perfect one.

Helpful?
4 Thank Palindromeda1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Casa Maricela. Location , location ..... very handy to all the sites in the historic area of SMA. Very good restaurants just steps away. The accommodation was clean and included breakfast and lunch. The property is safe and secure. The terrace on the roof top area has great views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pv_Langosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My annual visit to Casa Maricela was curtailed by need for hernia repair. I usually visit for 3 months or so in the winter. A painful experience convinced me I had to return home even though I had just began my visit. Surgery at home was performed and I was healthy again in a short time. Maricela and her staff made my departure as painless as possible. I packed only essentials and left the next day. Remainder of baggage I left behind. My stay at Casa Maricela and beautiful San Miguel has been my winter refuge for the last 10 years and I can hardly wait for return in November. Gracias Maricela for your help and compassion. See you soon.

Room Tip: 3rd level units are nearest the roof patio where one can view the city and mountains on the horizon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spflddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Maricela's for four nights in March for the first time and simply loved everything about our stay. From the home cooked delicious meals to the beautiful terrace to a very helpful and caring hostess Maricela herself, you cannot ask for a better place in all of SMA. We highly recommend it and look forward to our next visit there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Maricela for four nights. Marecila keeps the place immaculate and clean. She is very helpful with info of the area and suggestions. She also serves both breakfast and lunch which were both delicious The location is great you can walk to any location in the old town. I would recommend this place to any of my friends

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chuc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Casa Maricela for 11 days at the end of October and early November and enjoyed it very much . The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the meals are delicious , The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are cleaned top to bottom everyday .
We enjoyed the rooftop terrace ,and it must have one of the best views in the city . When I was researching places to stay ,fabulous views usually meant having to climb hills or take a cab but we were about a 10 minute flat walk to the Jardin .
We have visited other colonial cities in Mexico but San Miguel is In a league of its own . It has such an ancient feel about it and on Maricela's rooftop ,with the traffic etc .unseen you are transported back hundreds of years .
The streets in San Miguel can be challenging to navigate so make sure to wear comfortable and sturdy shoes and the evenings can be quite cool so warm clothes are needed .
Many thanks to Maricela ,her staff and our fellow guests for making our trip so enjoyable .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden De Los Angeles
Hotel Eden De Los Angeles
#40 of 143 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haiku Hotel Unico
Haiku Hotel Unico
#57 of 143 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Maria Luisa
Hotel Posada Maria Luisa
#47 of 143 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 143 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de la BU
Casa de la BU
#20 of 74 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maricela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maricela

Property: Casa Maricela
Address: Jesus 41-B, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Maricela is an extremely charming B&B in the heart of old San Miguel de Allende. Situated just a short stroll from the main square and historic church it offers a wonderful travel destination for travelers who want a true taste of Old Mexico. Maricela and her charming staff provide true hospitality and authentic cuisine at both breakfast and lunch with guest rooms that are quiet, clean and charming. Come prepared to eat well and sleep well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Maricela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing