We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRULY A 5*****STAR EXPERIENCE!!”
Review of L'Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Otel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the Oasis,everything was perfect. Martine and the staff at the Oasis welcomed us.. and made us feel at home.This bed and breakfast is definitely one of the best anywhere...... The lighting, the decor, the ambiance ... everything was so elegant yet warm , romantic and inviting.We loved our room and loved being able to feel so at home, whether sitting by the fire or going up on the rooftop to relax and have a drink ... we did not want leave when it was time to go home. Our room was warm and cozy and we really slept well. The sheets and towels and everything in our room was 5 star. The amenities were wonderful and I was able to purchase the creams and lotions to take home with me. The staff was super knowlegable, and always very accommodating. Our every request was fulfilled and always beyond our expectations. My husband asked about horsebackiriding and within a few minutes of inquiring,... guide arrived on horseback to speak with him in person and make the final arrangements. We took day trips arranged by Martine and also went to a cooking school on the recommedation of the staff at the Oasis.
We truly had a memorable time in San Miguel thanks to the wonderful staff at the Oasis. We can't wait to return to the Oasis... we hope to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIVESTARMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 146 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2009

My 3 friends and I booked the Oasis from the Internet. We had no idea what we were getting except that the web site looked good.
There were 4 rooms and 4 of us, so we felt as if we had a private home.
The price was reasonable, the rooms beautiful and each morning, we had breakfast to order. I highly reccomend the Oasis for a small group of friends or for a few couples.
The staff was wonderful and accomodating in every way. Go and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

The Oasis is exactly what our friends had told us it would be only better. The hotel's design is quite sophisticated and it has a staff to match. Don't book any early excursions because you will sleep at least an hour longer than you're use to. The beds and linens are heaven. Breakfast and coffee were great. We fell in love with San Miguel and can see why so many ex-patriots live there. Martin booked all our excursions including an adventure horseback ride. Do not miss this ride. We cannot tell you how great it was. Martin and the rest of the staff took care of everything so all we had to do was relax and have fun

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Everything was perfect. The staff were the best we have ever come across. Martin, Sylvia, Juan and Reyna did an excellent job to make our stay memorable. From the great restaurant recommendations, the delicious breakfasts and the extra tea we wanted from time to time we were always met with warm smiles and a great attitude. The pastries at night were another surprise and was wonderful. The owner is lucky to have such a good team.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The three days spent at the Oasis proved an added pleasure and enjoyment to San Miguel de Allende itself. An older building, in the heart of the town, had been carefully converted by the owners into a most interesting accommodation as a four bedroom hotel. While all four of the bedrooms differ all are equally accommodating in all essentials and with each its own charming astrilbutes. A beautiful upper roof deck, breakfast room and sitting room, add to the overall interest. The small size makes possible amenities, in service and detail that a large hotel cannot hope to offer. When you go to leave, you will have acquired two new friends: Nancy and her husband, Michael. A more enterprising couple and gracious and cordial hosts are not to be found. Yes, the Oasis is the number one hotel in San Miguel but for me, with my over 50 years travel throughout the country, it is number one in all Mexico.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmorony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Oasis . We are huge fans of La Casa que Canta in Zihuatanejo which has been our favorite hotel in Mexico and which has an incredibly good staff . The staff at the Oasis is every bit as good and maybe better and they speak better English . Martin , Juan and Silvia did an excellent job .
We loved the Oasis . It has excellent air conditioning and it is very quiet which is almost impossible to come by in San Miguel.
There was a large choice of foods for the " full " breakfast . Also , unlike most places in Mexico you could order breakfast at the early hour of 7:30 .
We plan to return and can't wait to get back.
H " T " W in Midland , Texas

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HTWMidlandTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We just returned from our late july trip to San Miguel. We have been visiting each summer for the last four years, and our experience at the Oasis beats that of renting a private home. Rosario did our laundry more rapidly (within a day), the breakfasts were much more delicious (especially the fresh cinnamon rolls and scones!), we had evening turn down service (with delicious chocolates and red roses on our beds), and water, fresh orange juice, diet cokes available at our request, but the best part of the service for me was that I was able to get a thermos of fresh coffee upon awakening.

While many of you wonder why that is such a treat, I confess that I ALWAYS wake at 3-4 am, and after the first night , the nightwatchman had already made my coffee and waiting on a tray. I could sit in the living room, and work on my computer, or read while my husband, and the rest of the world slept 'til dawn.

The addition of air conditioning (all rooms are now air conditioned) allowed us to close our windows, and with a small table fan provided in the room which had the perfect white noise, we heard nothing during the night--we slept blissfully. No problems with bells, location on the most quiet street in Centro---truly the Oasis is well named. and, all so close to the Jardin!

Martin and Juan are so polite and their English is impeccable. We have stayed in a boutique hotel in Paris, and a Chateau in Brittany. The staff, service, food, and accommodations at the Oasis is every bit as wonderful. We love the staff at Oasis!

NOW is the perfect time to visit San Miguel!! The town is not crowded, the stores are running discounts, and the restaurants aren't crowded. We saw nothing of what you might hear on the national news channels. We felt extremely safe, much safer than in major US cities. Saw no mosquitos, no sick people. Best of all, the Mexican people are not stressed out like those in the US--they are happy and as vibrant and warm as ever.

We had a wonderful time, and want to thank all of those involved with the OAsis hotel for making our stay a treasured memory that will last a lifetime. We will be return customers, for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TXKmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#17 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Otel

Address: Chiquitos 1A Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Oasis)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $394 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Otel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductive and mysterious. An address located geographically and emotionally in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. The Suites are luxury-filled spaces and all have charming details everywhere. Limited Edition Experiences are designed to pamper the guest at every moment of the stay: from the gourmet breakfast to the High Tea; with beds in Italian linens, silk coverlets and goose down dovets; as well as exclusive and refined amenities to acompany the hot showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Otel Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Oasis San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing