We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel !!!!!”
Review of El Meson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Meson Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel !!!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The place is nice, gorgeous, boutique, cozy and small, one block away from the main plaza, but the best of this hotel is the food and THE BAR, attended by his owner German who is always creating the perfect cocktail for your own personal taste.
Don't miss the chance to taste the spicy clamato, the chile serrano mojito and the mango chili mojito.... everything is soooo good. We went to the bar for only a beer and ended drinking 20+ cocktails in over 5 hours of drinking, chatting and creating drinks with German just for the purpose of satysifying us (the customers)

Room Tip: Face the pool !!!!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    17
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
34
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels that i have ever stayed at. The staff is super friendly and the grounds of the hotel truly resemble an oasis. The city of San Miguel is lovely and by staying at the El Meson it only added to the overall experience. They let me check out super late without any additional charges. Relaxing by the pool/hot tub listening to the lounge music with a glass of wine is a great way to spend a day.

Room Tip: Get a room in the courtyard that opens out to the pool. Keep windows open at night and wake to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally_travel-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
225 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable renewed hotel located in the main downtown zone, just blocks away from the main garden. We chose this hotel por its privacy and location, our rate included breakfast which can be delivered to your room. Rooms are not very spacious since they adapt rooms to the original architecture, but linen quality and ammenities are fine, we got a suite which had more space. The location is perfect to do tourist walks within downtown, you can stop by easily during the day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MEM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Big, nice and comfortable rooms, the suites are awesome, very cool patio with pool, a general excellent vibe throughout the hotel, bar. Loved the breakfast too! But the best thing about this hotel is the staff, they make you feel like you´re at home, with family! We were a very large group of friends and family and we all were very happy to have stayed at El Mesón and definitely will stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: If you´re a family I would definitely recommend the master suite, it´s awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Definetely the best boutique hotel, very nice and quiet, and the service is great! The accommodations are very pretty and clean. I recommend taking swimsuits to spend time in the beautiful pool, also the bar is pretty cool. The staff were the nicest!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaGabriela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, CA.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Have not stayed at the hotel, but spent plenty of time in their beautiful bar. We've visited three times. Wide selection of spirits. Bartenders know how to mix, shake or stir a cocktail. Cocktails are more expensive, but the quality of ingredients, ambiance, and extra touches make the experience very classy and worth it. Interior is interesting, inviting, lots of textures, subdued lighting, airy. I've had gin martinis-yum! I've also had a gin and tonic that was amazing. Tonic water unusual and delicious. I don't think you'll be disappointed...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari51
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just celebrated our wedding last weekend (December 7th) at a Hacienda outside San Miguel but held our Friday Welcome reception at El Meson. This hotel is beautiful with very nice modern touches. Since the wedding was going to be held at an older Spanish Hacienda, we wanted to give our guests a taste of modern San Miguel. El Meson did an amazing job organizing the welcome receptoin and also organized a surprise Callejonada (street party) for our guests before the reception. All i can say that our guests won't stop talking about it. El Meson, especially Isela and Omar, did a great job organizing Friday's events, it was very well planned and we actually pulled off the surprise street party. The food was delish. We booked about 8 rooms for our guests and all were very pleased with their rooms and impressed with decor. The staff also helped prepare the welcomig bags for all our guests that included gatorade, aspirin, alkazetzer, chips, candies, and other goodies. This was a great way to kick off the weekend festivities. After the reception, half of the wedding guest walked with us to a nearby taco truck that the hotel recommended and ater tacos with our guests. many of them were from the states and had never eaten from a taco truck, but they were super excited and pleased with the food. No one got sick!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mari51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Palomar
Hotel El Palomar
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson Hotel

Property: El Meson Hotel
Address: Mesones 80 | Centro Historico, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your El Meson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing