We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Mision de San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a romantic weekend”
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I had initially booked suite 2 at Casa Shuck. When I arrived there, I noticed the suite was not very clean and ended up visiting 5 other hotels to find a room I liked. Casa Mision de San Miguel was the answer. The staff was very helpful and showed me the room with the queen size bed & bath tub. The room was extremely clean and smelled like new. For $40 USD less than I would have paid at Casa Shuck, I got to sleep in a really comfortable bed, got 2 glasses of wine & cashews as welcome, and had a full breakfast next day. The only reason I'm giving this b&b 4 stars instead of 5 is there should be increased security with cars outside of the hotel. We parked in front of the entrance and the next day we found someone had drawn a long blue line with a permanent marker in the side of the car.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking outside, not very safe.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gingernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2008

we could have not have found a nicer place. the decor was luxorious, frette linens and bath apparel throughout, and the setting and rooms were beautifully achitected and decorated. the staff could not have been more attentive, to our every whim. our standard was formed by staying at 5 star hotels throughout the world. this place is right up there with palasso sasso in ravello. evan is a world class hotelier, worthy of membership in the relais and chateaux league.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank jrm10e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We loved our stay at this hotel. It was quiet and relaxing. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent, and the breakfasts were good. In addition, the location was great; in a quiet neighborhood, but easy to walk to town. My husband and I would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank monterrey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

This is a beautifully restored casa in a great location. It is reasonably priced with lots of extras like free phone calls to the States and a bottle of wine upon arrival. The staff is very helpful, the breakfasts are superb and there's a wonderful view of the city from the rooftop.

  • Liked — Outstanding selection at breakfast
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SusuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2007

On a recent trip to San Miguel de Allende, we were staying at our favorite hotel of many years and accidentally stumbled upon a new "find" -- which promptly made us pack our bags at a very highly rated hotel and move. On a walking tour in an exclusive neighborhood near the Institute, down an alleyway ending in a dirt road of all things, we found Casa Mision, knocked at the front gate, a massive old wooden structure, and were ushered into a courtyard with a beautiful fountain and surrounded by a two-story structure containing six wonderful guest rooms. The interior architecture and sense of tranquility are reminiscent of the historic paradores on Spain. The rooms have very high ceilings with quiet fans, tile floors, well-lit bathrooms, a wonderful mixture of both antique and modern sophisticated furnishings and art, great use of fabric and color, gorgeous oriental rugs, Thai silk duvet coverlets and throw pillows using muted colors, lots of closet space, a wonderful selecion of books and magazines and outdoor sitting areas. Complimentary wine and snacks are served at cocktail hour.
The best part was the attention to luxurious detail -- thick white fluffy towels and robes, high thread-count sheets and pillow cases, a selection of comfortable pillows and firm supportive mattresses. The staff and management are cordial, responsive, knowledgeable and efficient. Breakfast (included) is served from 8:30 to 10 am in a spacious dining area set with individual small tables. A fine selection of fruit, cereals, juices, yogurt and rolls are available along with dishes made to order -- your preference of eggs any style and regional dishes, etc. Free internet service and long-distance telephone to the US and Canada are additional amenities.
As anyone who has visited San Miguel knows, it is a charming but sometimes chaotic, noisy town, and it can be difficult to get a good night's sleep. Not at Casa Mision -- tranquility, location and luxury are the key words for this intimate and lovely B&B. We were so glad we made a change to our itinerary; hopefully you will enjoy and treasure the same experience.

  • Liked — Tranquility, luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

From the time the main door opened onto the courtyard and the fountain at Casa Mision, we knew we had found the place that we wanted to stay in San Miguel. If you are looking for a large place with no charm, you have found the wrong place. With only a few rooms, you invariably know all of the people working here if you stay for more than a few days. Breakfast is cooked to your specifications. You can enjoy leisurely mornings around the courtyard or bask in the sun on the wonderful rooftop - with wonderful views of the cathedral and the rest of San Miguel.

Ethan has outdone himself with craftsmanship in this inn - wonderful slate floors are cool to walk on. Hanging vines add charm and the rooms are exquisite. Fortuitously, there are no phones or TV's in the rooms, although you can check your email in a shared computer. There is no pool, but Ethan is building another wing across the street and he told me that this one will have a pool.

This inn is not right downtown, but is only about a 10 minute walk from downtown, which was perfect for my wife and me. Actually, it gets you away from the crazyness.

I cannot say how much we enjoyed our stay here - we eagerly plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mozart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My wife and I had long heard about the charms of a small town in Mexico's "Silver Mountains" called San Miguel de la Allende. Known for their extensive expat community, art center, churches and fine restaurants, we wanted a non-beach Mexican vacation that would evoke a more traditional Mexico.

After exhaustive Internet research, we chose to stay at a new bed and breakfast in San Miguel called Casa Mision that had just opened months before. What good luck! Set behind tall walls in a quiet and shady cul de sac not far from the art center, Casa Mision was built like a Spanish manor house with two stories, outdoor walkways overlooking a sumptuous garden with a trickling fountain to sooth our frayed North American psyches. It felt like a world within a world; comfortable, clean, quiet, well appointed rooms and modern bathrooms with ample sitting rooms and all the amenities of home such as Internet service and free phone to the United State!

The breakfast offerings were delicious and bountiful. But there is more! Wine in the afternoon accompanied by custom concierge services offering advice, recommendations, reservations, even life wisdom by Anja, the friendly manager who keeps everything running smoothly. Owned by an American bohemian man who built it for his family who are not able to visit as often as he would like, he has decided (with Anja's help) to treat his guests like family. You will be the benefactor of his generous nature.

We heartily recommend Casa Mision as your base of operations for exploring this wonderful, unique town. This is Mexico at its best--culture, night life, market, walking tours, wonderful food, purified water, a small town ambience with so much to offer. Check out the hot springs outside of town. And take a sidetrip to Guanajuato, the regional center, for a taste of Old World Mexico where Diego Rivera used to live, visit a silver mine and art museum and especially, think about buying the exquisite silver jewelry that made my gold-loving wife appreciate the more subtle charms of its less precious sister.

You will be entranced by your stay at Casa Mision. Tell Anja that Patrick and Michelle sent you!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mision de San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mision de San Miguel

Property: Casa Mision de San Miguel
Address: 3ra Cerrada de Pila Seca 17 | Colonia Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Mision de San Miguel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LuxuryHotel Boutiquein the Heart of MexicoCasa Misión de San Miguel, is an elegant and very quiet retreat off the beaten path yet only a few steps away from the picturesque Centro of San Miguel de Allende. We offer you beautifully decorated rooms with warm and attentive service, inviting you to enjoy the intimate experience of this colonial jewel.Our Spanish-mission style B&B is located on a quiet gated cul-de-sac with protected parking five blocks from the central plaza. A leisurely ten-minute stroll through old cobblestone streets will take you to the Jardín. Views from the roof-top terrace of the Parroquia and other surrounding churches will enchant you. Casa Misión’s beautiful gardens offer you a tranquil place to relax and energize, after a wonderful day of exploring. You will remember your stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mision de San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing