We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOUD LOUD LOUD.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We're in a grade school playground, not a hotel. This is a very small hotel, only 12 rooms. For our first three days there were 100 third graders and their teachers from Mexico City staying here. When they left, another large group arrived. They gather in the central courtyard and start screaming school chants at 7AM.
The breakfast is terrible. There is no coffee in the reception area as advertised.
The TV has NO English speaking stations. Most of the staff (including reception) does not speak English. There is also no heat, so the rooms are VERY cold at night and in the morning. There is construction going on, so there is hammering all day.
DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER STAYING HERE UNLESS YOU RECEIVE A GUARANTEE THERE WILL BE NO SCHOOL GROUPS.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynnieBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

We were with a tour group, so the hotel was prearranged. The rooms are okay, with 2 double beds is each but no heat as best I could tell and it can get cold in San Miguel. . The bathroom modern and clean. The grounds were pretty with lots of tables for sitting out and having a drink. We only ate in the restaurant once and found the service slow and the quality poor - even at breakfast!. So after that we walked elsewhere. The staff were helpful with getting cabs and giving directions. i don't know the exact nightly rate but my thoughts are it was inexpensive and we got what we paid for. The location is about 6 blocks from the center of the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustgomexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Designed with the reception area in front of the courtyard. You can hear everything that
happens in the reception area. It is frequently very noisy. Very hard to get a decent night's sleep in this hotel. The other guests frequently stay up late and are very loud. The management does not seem to care. Complaints fall on deaf ears here. A very poorly run Best Western hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blankletmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

The hotel in itself is not bad . Rooms could be much nicer as well as breakfast . Lighting in the room was just awful. White lamps that made room look like an office.
Bed sheets were not ironed , giving a very bad impression, although they were clean.
I did not enjoy the night in that hotel, although for the price it was ok, I may say that for almost the same price I got an excelent boutique hotel in Guanajuato.
In fact I was expecting something a little more nicer since Best Western Hotels throuthout the world in general are quite nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliacastelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our party of nine stayed at the Best Western Monteverde in San Miguel de Allende August 2-10, 2007.

We had nice rooms and the nights were pleasantly cool. Circulating fans were supplied for the warmer parts of the day.

Breakfast was included with the room and it was varied and delicious. We liked the coffee, juice and fruit offerings and there was cereal as well as meat and cheese every day.

The location is near the town center and we enjoyed walking to the main plaza and shopping along the way.

The staff was well-trained and helpful to us.

4  Thank betwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western because usualy this group offers an average quality. Well, not with the Best Western in San Miguel. The hotel itself is average - nice rooms, a bit too far away from the center but you can go there by taxi. What really made us more than angry was that during the two nights we stayed there each night the hotel was overcrowded with groups og 6-10 year old kids whom arrived around midnight. After that, there was no more sleep because there (naturally) was a lot of noise and these kids shared each room with 4 or 6. The next morning, we noticed we and two others were the only other guests. Well, and then the breakfast: The hotel had a breakfast buffet for the kids which lasted until 10 am. We and the other guests were each morning told to stay away because there was not enough space. When we came for breakfast after ten, there wasnothing keft, not even some coffee (breakfast was included). The manager simply told us to [--] off when we finally found him. This hotel is a tourist trap - two sleepless nights and much too expensive. Stay elsewhere when you come to San Miguel!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kollersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Nice clean hotel. It is a walk to the main square but not too far. The staff are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pattyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Estacion
Hotel la Estacion
#26 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#63 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#9 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
1,012 reviews
1 mi away
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
#53 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mision San Miguel de Allende
Mision San Miguel de Allende
#21 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteverde Best Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteverde Best Inns

Address: Calle Volanteros Zona Centro 2, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $40 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monteverde Best Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monteverde Best Inns is a colonial style property located in San Miguel de Allende , Guanajuato , one street from the Main Plaza 5 , in the historic center . A Less than 1 kilometer are the Museo de Allende and Craft Market . El Bajio International Airport ( BJX ) 146 Miles and Queretaro Intercontinental Airport ( QRO ) Locate THIS is about 87 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteverde Best Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monteverde
Best Western San Miguel De Allende
San Miguel De Allende Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing